We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to relax & enjoy Byron Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Bay YHA

Save Saved
You added Byron Bay YHA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Byron Bay YHA
7 Carlyle Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
melbourne
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great spot to relax & enjoy Byron Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

There are 2 YHA in Byron Bay - on the same street. I stayed here a few years ago & enjoyed it. Back then the one thing that bugged me was no lockers in the rooms. This has been fixed + they have moved the paid lockers out into the courtyard & opened up a big TV room.
There is also a reading room & computer area you can relax in. Was to cold to jump in the pool for me but a couple of crazy people did - would be nice in the summer
Staff were great - organised a day walk up to the light house for anyone who wanted to tag a long - got to see some dolphins below us on the cliff's
They also had a free pancake breakfast once a week & a $5 BBQ night - we got our monies worth.
Each night there was something going on even if it was just a movie night.

Its only a short walk to the supermarket & then down the road to the centre of town before you head to the amazing beach area.

Great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    39
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
13
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in May and it did the job. I was in a 4 bed room which was pokey, quite dark but was pretty quiet and had lockers to store your things (though you need your own lock).

The hostel had a pool which was okay, a largish kitchen which was cleaned daily. The location of the YHA was pretty good, you could walk to the shops and the beach within 5 minutes - I think if it were closer it would be loud. One of the roads to the reception was quite poorly lit and some of my female friends only walked the better lit way.

The guys on reception were always friendly - big surfer place so it can get quite busy at times. We were able to hire out surfboards for free but don't know if that's because of the Oz Experience bus or whether that is available to everyone.

There is nothing great about this place, it did the job, felt a bit pokey and grubby at times but was average. M'eh. I don't think the Cape YHA would be any better but I get the feeling Byron Bay hostels are generally average anyway.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Really cool hostel! lovely staff and riiiight in the middle of town. Any easy walk to anywhere. Just an awesome vibe around the place.
Thanks for having me!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

My partner and I stayed in a double room for 3 nights, shared bathroom. The room was quite old and shabby and the lighting was very poor - which is one thing we can't stand. The fan was not above the bed and therefore had no effect at all, so we were baking hot all the time.

We had paid around £70/night which is the most we have ever paid for a hostel anywhere in the world. This hostel is also the dirtiest one we have come across. There were ants in our room, dirty duvet, non vacuumed carpet and cockroaches and hairs all over the bathrooms. Not once did we see a cleaner so we assume staff or guests do the cleaning!

The kitchen was dirty and you have to wash your dishes with greasy, smelly sponges and then dry them on a soggy, smelly tea towel.

There weren't any towels provided with the room (everything is an extra charge) and it just makes you feel like they aren't providing a service for the high price you pay. The staff are reasonably friendly, although one has a very loud voice and he makes sure everyone can hear him talk.

Having said that, the location is good and there is a Woolworths at the end of the road. The wifi works to a reasonable extent, but the signal is very low, even in the lounge where it should have good reception.

Overall, I am not sure if there is anywhere cheaper to stay in Byron Bay because it all seems expensive, but this hostel is not worth the money. If you normally stay in dorm rooms then you might like it because it is quite sociable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

There is nothing wrong with this YHA and you get the impression that they try hard to compete with all the other hostels in BB. The reception staff were good and you can hire surf boards and bikes and they do BBQ nights etc. We had a twin with private bathroom so i don't know what the dorms are like.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Very nice hostel, on arrival I was met at the coach stop by a member of staff. I had sprained my ankle and the staff were very good at helping me with luggage and getting settled in. Rooms nice, although did not get cleaned on a regular basis like other hostels I have stayed in. I think that this was because the same people occupied the room for a few days instead of new people coming and going all the time. Room was clean on arrival though, beds comfy and good facilities in room such as locker and fan. When I needed to stay longer than expected the staff were very good at accommodating me and made sure I could stay in the same room. Communal areas good and clean, and a good atmosphere with regular activities such as bbq and pool nights organised by the hostel. Good location, had a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights in Jan 08 and paid $33 for a 5 bed dorm. The room was too small for 5 bed and was therefore, very hot and cramped. The fan was a waste of time as it didn't even move the hot air around let alone cool the room down. The showers/bathrooms need a good clean and any showers not working need to be repaired ASAP as without all showers working you are waiting in line. I found the reception staff very good and helpful. The kitchen area is a good size and has the required cutlery. The layout of the hostel is, I think, good but I know some girls will not like walking if front of people to the showers etc. Subject to the heat in the room, you can get a good nights sleep as the staff make sure the communal areas are quiet after 11pm. Free stuff including tea/coffee & body boards are available from reception.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — Lack of cool air in the room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Byron Bay YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay YHA

Address: 7 Carlyle Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 56 Specialty lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay YHA backpackers hostel is in the centre of town, only 400m to the beach. The large comfy common areas and kitchen overlook a heated pool and BBQ. The hostel has both multi-share backpacker rooms, and twin/double rooms with fans. Large decks to relax on. Internet, TV room, locker room, surfboards, free tea/coffee. Hostel bikes and bodyboards available. YHA member discounts on backpacker tours and activities at hostel tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Byron Bay YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Bay Yha Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Bay YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.