We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Bay YHA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Byron Bay YHA to your Saves list
Byron Bay YHA
7 Carlyle Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were greated by the very helpful reception staff upon checking in. They took time to explain and answer the questions we had and during our stay and were always friendly and very helpful.
Our room (double ensuite) was clean and spacious and great for what we wanted. The wet room style bathroom was a bit different to what we are used to but fine all the same.
Its well located in quiet side street and as there is no late night drinking here you should be able to get a pretty good nights sleep here too.
One of the better YHA's we stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    53
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
16
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Was greeted with a smile and some surfing advice by a blonde girl at the desk - and 30 minutes later was in the mix at the Pass, an ideal spot for beginners where waves constantly roll in off the headland.
My flight back to Sydney was booked by her colleague, a former Yorkshire citizen who also sorted my transfer to the airport and for whom nothing was too much trouble - including flipping pancakes one morning!
As for location you can walk anywhere you need to be within 10 minutes and be sipping Tooheys at Cheeky Monkey's backpacker haunt in five.
By contrast a mate stayed at a hostel on the beach but was further away from the spots which offer decent surfing or swimming.
Stoked, I say!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

This isn't a party hostel. There's no alcohol allowed after 10pm, so if you're up for continuing your night out when you get back then this isn't the place.

The rooms are a bit basic and quite dark.

The shared areas are good, loads of benches outside the big kitchen. There's a BBQ downstairs too. There's a nice pool and an internet room (global gossip).

The main town's just a few blocks away and there's a big supermarket just over the road.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

What else could you ask for? I stayed in a 5 bed room and there is plenty of room to move. Showers and toilets are clean, massive clean kitchen and the staff are very friendly. Good communal area to mix and meet other travelers and a place to park your car.
Close to shops and a short walk to the beach.
The only problem I could find with this place was the building works next door. They start work early. Not good if you have been out partying the night before.
But other than that it is a great place to stay. I would definitely stay again.

P

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

After staying in a poor quality hostel in Brisbane this was brilliant.Stayed in a 9 bed room which was basic but clean with lockers in the room.They had a BBQ when i was there which was just 5 dollars and pizza and movie nights which is cheap and a good way to meet people.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.toilets clean and the kitchen was immaculate.
Great communal areas and good for meeting people.With this in mind it was quite later on so sleeping isnt a problem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Only stayed there for one night. It was nice, and the people were friendly. The staff was very accommodating, and didn't ask for the usual deposit for the room key since I would be leaving before the office opened the next morning.
Everything was generally clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

I had a really nice time here. Had plenty of fun and met lots of people. Really friendly hostel with a nice atmosphere. Lots to do like TV room, 100+ movies to rent, help with tours and outdoor activities. Short walk to beach. Great staff. Big kitchen. Big lockers in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Byron Bay YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay YHA

Address: 7 Carlyle Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay YHA backpackers hostel is in the centre of town, only 400m to the beach. The large comfy common areas and kitchen overlook a heated pool and BBQ. The hostel has both multi-share backpacker rooms, and twin/double rooms with fans. Large decks to relax on. Internet, TV room, locker room, surfboards, free tea/coffee. Hostel bikes and bodyboards available. YHA member discounts on backpacker tours and activities at hostel tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Byron Bay YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Bay Yha Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Bay YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.