We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation at Byron Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavvanbah Beach House

Save Saved
You added Cavvanbah Beach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavvanbah Beach House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   28 Cavvanbah Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
OFFICIAL SITE BOOKINGS
Ranked #1 of 37 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great accommodation at Byron Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Cavvanbah beach house had a great Byron Bay relaxed feel to it. Far enough out of town to be away from the noise and traffic but close enough to be accessible to everything the town has to offer. (About a 10-15 minute walk) The guys running it are friendly and helpful and give good restaurant and cafe tips. A quiet beach is a short walk away. (100 metres) The pool is small but is still good for a dip to cool off. The rooms are clean and nice and the air con is very effective.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevengeoff, Owner at Cavvanbah Beach House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of Cavvanbah Beach House. As you know we have recently taken over the property and are working hard at making sure that each and every guest has a wonderful experience with us here in Byron Bay. We are happy that we were able to make your stay with us a comfortable one , hopefully enough for you to return to visit us one day.
We have since finished a complete paint of the exterior and planted the garden out with some lovely sub tropical plants and trees that will continue to enhance the surrounds.
We hope you had a wonderful Christmas and wish you both all the happiness and good health in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
77
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

FANTASTIC weekend in Byron Bay staying Cavvanbah Beach House. Do yourself a favour & stay with Jeff & Steve for a guaranteed great Byron experience. There hospitality is second to none. The place is beautifully kept & very comfortable. Most importantly, it is in the most ideal location.

Eddie & Ginny

P.S Don't forget to try Steve's amazing homemade muesli!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

When reading reviews for this, please bear in mind that anything older than November 2012 was before the new owners - Jeff and Steve - took over...I'm guessing that things have changed for the better...

My partner and I have just had the most magical weekend at the newly refurbed Cavvanbah B&B. The room was fabulous (we were in the upstairs room in the main house) with wonderful furnishings, a glorious double spa bath and a very comfortable bed.

The owners were super friendly without being intrusive on our stay, and they magically left breakfast in the fridge of our room every day. Breakfast is continental - with a very generous serving of toasted muesli, fresh fruit, fresh bread, jam and local Byron grown coffee and OJ.

The pool is a plunge pool so don't expect to go swimming in it but with the beach so close, who cares?

As big fans of the Byron at Byron, we're thrilled to have found something at a third of the price so close to the town centre. We'll definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

After a year of furious travel for work we took the opportunity of taking a long weekend in Byron Bay, Cavvanbah Beach House B+B was our destination and proved to be the perfect location to wind down and relax. The New owners formerly of ICE cafe in Melbourne, were the perfect hosts in the sense that you didn’t see them unless you wanted to, beds were mysteriously made and a delicious breakfast appeared in the fridge. The location just off the beach was quiet, and the town centre was an easy walk either along the beach or by road, the rooms are well appointed with quality linen on a comfy bed and spas in the bathroom, and a spacious private veranda to relax and have breakfast on.
To get away from it all this was the perfect location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a fabulous place to stay. Secluded and intimate setting close to the center of Byron Bay and short walk to the incredible beach. Jeff and Steven have just taken over the Beach House but you can tell that their attention to detail will make this an even better experience in the future. Have to mention the excellent breakfast which was brought to our room. Fresh healthy and fulfilling. The bathroom with its large spa bath with its locally sourced toiletries is better than many 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Cavvanbah. The rooms were clean and well-equipped (we were lucky to get one that opened out onto the pool area), breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and the owners were very discreet - always on hand to help and answer questions, but otherwise leaving us alone to enjoy the peace and tranquillity. The location was fabulous - just a 5 minute walk through the bush to beautiful Belongil Beach and only an easy 15 minute walk to the lights and action of Byron central. It was a really idyllic holiday and we'd definitely recommend it to couples looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday in Byron, rather than wanting to hit the party scene.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Thanks very much for your kind reception. A fabulous place to spend our 15th Anniversary. You have made it very special indeed. Great accommodation, fabulous customer service, very friendly NEW owners... A true jewel .... Loved waking up & going to sleep with sounds of the waves. The Kookaburra's were a genuine delight as our waking up alarm. We feel privileged to have been your first customers. We wish you both good luck and have a fabulous time running this wonderful bed & breakfast.
Paul & Nicole

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cavvanbah Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavvanbah Beach House

Address: 28 Cavvanbah Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavvanbah Beach House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone’s throw from Byron Bay’s spectacular surf beach and just minutes walk from the town centre, Cavvanbah Beach House is set amongst lush sub-tropical gardens on a quiet, secluded street – the perfect location for your holiday accommodation so you can relax, unwind and enjoy a peaceful beachside getaway.Our boutique property offers privacy that many hotels and guest houses cannot match. Each of our rooms has its own private entrance with direct access to the salt-water pool and gardens.Our location is second to none, and our proximity to the beach has to be seen to be believed. A short sandy track is all that separates your accommodation from Byron Bay's spectacular Belongil Beach. The property is nestled in beautiful tree-lined Cavvanbah Street which is set back from the main road into Byron – far enough to enjoy peace and quiet, but close enough to give you direct access to the very best of Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Cavvanbah Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavvanbah Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.