We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to relax and to have a unique experience in Byron Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Byron Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bamboo Cottage B&B
Save
You added Bamboo Cottage B&B to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   76 Butler St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“The perfect place to relax and to have a unique experience in Byron Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We traveled for our honey moon looking for a different and a special experience, a place that is unique where you can relax and enjoy Byron Bay.
The Bamboo cottage B&B was the perfect place for that - it is very clean, calm, and each room has a unique design.
Marty, the manager, gives each of the guests a personal attitude and makes you feel at home!!
Great value for money! most recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    45
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
16
67
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Charming house covered in bamboo with personalized bedrooms. Just a 5 minute walk from the beach, and very close to shops and grocery store. Relaxing like home, and if you need something just help yourself and put the money in the cow in the kitchen :) We absolutely enjoyed our stay, and we will come back next time we are in Baron Bay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdeburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We are two young parents from Germany currently traveling through Australia with "Baby Linus" (8 months). On our journey, we have experienced quite a lot of different types of accommodations ranging from the cheap kind (backpacker-style) to the more expensive ("luxury") kind. At Bamboo Cottage, we had a rather unusual experience in a very positive sense and this is why I am writing this review (which is something I wouldn't normally do).

When we arrived in the evening, we found ourselves in a cozy cottage with a lovely terrace attached to a little tropical garden. Our double-room (with private bathroom) was charming and also provided sufficient space for our rather large portable baby bed. When we woke up on the next morning, a nice classical tune was playing - a welcome start into the day.

The property manager Marty, who apparently was quite new in town (6 weeks or so), occasionally indulged us with delicious freebies, such as self-made apple crumble prepared by his teenage son. Marty was also a good source for all kinds of information around Byron Bay, introduced us to the pets living at Bamboo Cottage (little doggy Miguel, parrot Paris, as well as a handful of baby frogs in a terrarium), and even offered to babysit our little one. He also turned out to have quite an inspiring life, but this is another story.

After all, we almost felt like staying at a friend's place. So, instead of going to the beach/town we usually ended up spending most of the days on either the terrace, in the lovely kitchen, or in the very nice living room (free WiFi, TV, books, board games, etc. were included, of course). Consequently, we mostly left for the beach/town not earlier than the afternoon hours (free beach equipment was also provided).

Beyond that, we found Bamboo Cottage to be excellently located. It is quiet, but at the same time only in 5min walking distance to the town-center/ super market (even with a pram). After all and despite of our tight travel schedule (Germans like to over-organize things), we eventually decided to extend our stay at Bamboo-Cottage for two more nights and happily skipped Surfers Paradise instead.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

I arrived having spent a week sailing in the Whitsundays. My host Marty was instantly welcoming, incredibly helpful and warm. The room I took, was beautifully decorated, a world apart from the homogeneity of a typical hotel room.

I slept beautifully and was able to walk into central Byron in a few minutes, though leaving the solitude of Bamboo Cottage made even Byron Bay seem hectic.

Rory Keene (London)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Our weekend at Bamboo Cottage was a very pleasant experience.Service happy & helpful, able to advise on local area providing good information.Room was comfortable some furniture a little dated including tvs but all in all stay very enjoyable. Quiet peaceful & very close to town enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

we paid top dollar to stay at this b&b the room was dusty and bamboo furniture broken and i felt that everything was dirty. The t.v was so small....what a joke.To add insult to injury you had to pay extra for breakfast.The lounge and kitchen area was just terrible broken furniture and cloth draped over dirty sofa.The only good thing about Bamboo cottage is the location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakti41, Owner at Bamboo Cottage B&B, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Firstly, I would like to apologize for not achieving the expectations of this guest. I am very proud of my property and the 3 1/2 star rating. I was particularly concerned about the complaint as I have always prided myself on the cleanliness, care, presentation and service we offer our guests.

At that time, I was taking my annual holiday and my manager fell ill.

The Bamboo Cottage is a much loved and highly frequented B&B with character, charm, collectable items and furnishings from all over the world. Unfortunately, the property was apparently neglected in some ways during the period these guests were there. We hope that they have the opportunity to experience the guesthouse at its best some other time. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Friends and I booked the Poinciana Room (double room with an extra bed), but found it too small for us on arrival. Luckily the Balinese Cottage was available, we were offered a pretty good deal for it & took it. The cottage was very roomy & comfortable - beds were comfortable & we had lots of good sleep. Service was absolutely lovely - queries on day-trip recommendations, extra blankets, a quick overview of the town were all received cheerily. Located just outside the town, Bamboo Cottage is a fantastic place to get away from it all & yet be close enough to amenities and the sights.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Cottage B&B

Address: 76 Butler St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Cottage B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo Cottage has for many years provided a haven of charm and character for global travelers and locals alike. Lush bamboo gardens complement the Balinese style of the interiors. Crisp white bed linens, 'good-back' beds and selected “retro” pieces feature in rooms themed after Australian wildflowers.Located in a quiet street just 3 minutes walk from the Buzz of Byron. Bamboo Cottage is is your 'home away from home' in Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bamboo Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Bamboo Cottage Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.