We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Cottage B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bamboo Cottage B&B to your Saves list
Bamboo Cottage B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   76 Butler St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 36 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Booked into this place after finding my usual favourite guest houses in Byron Bay were booked out at the time of my visit. The location is great, with just a short easy stroll to town. However, while the house itself has a rustic charm, with its painted walls and mismatched furniture, I found it didn't offer much in the way of privacy. It just felt like I was staying in the spare room at someone's house. Also, with no breakfast included in the tariff, I would definitely say the rooms are quite overpriced for what you get, especially when compared to other places in the same price range.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    45
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
16
66
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Bamboo Cottage is not luxurious nor pretentious. The house is well-worn and homely with a friendly, welcoming vibe. House Manager Louise is a gem - unobtrusively ensuring your stay meets whatever practical (and spiritual) needs you may have.
The cottage's location is ideal for easy walking access to town, and yet removed enough from the action to be relatively quiet, depending on the neighbours and the consideration of other guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Three friends and our two dogs Heidi and Daisy stayed in the Bali cottage - it was brilliant for dog owners. We had our own deck and fenced yard for the dogs - they had the best time. This is probably the most dog friendly place I have ever stayed!
It was clean - though the only negative was that there was no kitchen sink in the kitchenette which was a bit odd and a nuisance. Though i would definitely return.
Within walking distance of the BB shops and not too far from a dog friendly beach ( a ten to fifteen minute walk).
Checked out the rooms in the main house - they looked clean and comfortable.
Louise, the hostess, was lovely and very friendly and extremely prompt in answering our questions and providing extra towels and linen that had originally been forgotten.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A quick one night stay here was not enough, the cottage itself is so pretty keeping all the original features but with up to date facilities. We met the owner,the manager, the live in caretaker and the cleaner they were all lovely. So helpful and very welcoming. I loved the décor and the beautiful terrace and garden. The room was large with on suite shower room, very comfortable. Plenty of storage in the room if you were intending to stay longer. Breakfast was help yourself and more than adequate. Its somewhere you dream of living someday, a small piece of paradise. Just 5 minutes walk to town centre and a beautiful beach. Byron Bay is a chilled place so relaxed and very friendly. With lots of fabulous restaurants, bars and shops. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This place may have been charming 16 years ago but in 2014, it's dated & needs updating & proper upkeep. The converted balcony turned into tiny, dinghy room was not worth $140 (without breakfast). The promised wifi never worked & while the kindly new caretaker was friendly, she was overly so & became invasive of privacy & personal space.
I cannot imagine how this place received an award of "Excellence" in 2013 & has made me TripAdvisor's rating. I typically wouldn't spend time with reviews but was encouraged to do so to spare other travellers the poor value of Bamboo Cottage that's more like a hut now - with cracked mirror in the common bathroom, anemic fan & non-functioning air conditioning (overheard complaint as I was sharing mine).

Give this place a skip till it gets its much-needed makeover.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had a whistle stop tour of Byron Bay recently and stayed at Bamboo Cottage - such a comfortable place, heaps of character and located close to the town centre (walking distance). You might need a car if heaving surf boards down to the beach. Although it states B&B there was flexibility to bring and cook your own food and store in a fridge, which for us road travellers was wonderful news. There is a deck to sit out on and a lovely little garden and BBQ facilities which we made use of. Bedrooms are smallish but great and you have the option of your own bathroom or you can share for a reduced fee. We had a great stay and were looked after very well by the caretaker there. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

As I sit here on the veranda, waiting for my ride, I am in an oasis. The homely beauty of this place is delightful. It's like being hugged with a big fluffy towel! It's only a short walk from here into the centre of town but it feels more like a remote haven here. I could spend all day relaxing in this chair and it's starting to look like I might have to, as I have had no word from my pick-up...

I stayed in the 'Wattle' room, for one night, and it was beautiful (all the rooms here are). It is a very small place, as you might expect from a "cottage" and Andy, who manages the place, is one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet. You'll be hard pushed to find a place this nice at this price anywhere in Australia.

I'll be coming back here and soon! See you on the veranda...

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous. The only thing I rate low is their swimming pool... but then it's ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Cottage B&B

Address: 76 Butler St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Cottage B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo Cottage has for many years provided a haven of charm and character for global travelers and locals alike. Lush bamboo gardens complement the Balinese style of the interiors. Crisp white bed linens, 'good-back' beds and selected “retro” pieces feature in rooms themed after Australian wildflowers.Located in a quiet street just 3 minutes walk from the Buzz of Byron. Bamboo Cottage is is your 'home away from home' in Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bamboo Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Bamboo Cottage Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.