We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday park in the heart of Byron Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Villa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Glen Villa Resort to your Saves list
Glen Villa Resort
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   80-86 Butler street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday park in the heart of Byron Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in the holiday park for 4 nights over New Years 2012. Excellent location, only 5 mins max walk to shops and 10 mins to beach. We were 2 couples in 2 separate cabins. The cabins were really clean, brightly decorated (maybe slightly dated if being picky), comfy double beds and fully equipped with cooking gear, microwave, linen, towels etc. The park itself is really well looked after, lawns manicured, rubbish cleared every day, communal BBQs, washing facilities and a small but lovely pool. Staff are extremely helpful and welcoming.

As it was New Years they had a 'no visitors policy' which although slightly frustrating (not being able to have friends visit who were staying outside the park) BUT it did mean that the park was really quiet and peaceful with no parties and felt safe to leave your doors unlocked and gear on the line.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin not on the main entrance or close to the pool if you have a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone183, Public Relations Manager at Glen Villa Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments after your recent stay with us, they are very much appreciated and have been passed on to all relevant staff.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are visiting Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    60
    26
    9
    14
See reviews for
17
75
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night at Glen Villa and I assume it is a good place for Byron Bay. 40AUD plus key deposit is a lot. Then again, everything is expensive in BB. The grass site was well maintained and we had civilized neighbours. The park itself is well maintained and the management is doing well keeping trouble makers out (guess through the price and several waivers you need to sign...). The amenities are huge and even feature extras for disabled and/or mother and child spaces which is a big plus. The pool is rather small.

And and still, we did not feel comfortable. I still claim to be within the BB target age group but those guests that we met were just released from some zoo I guess. I do not like disgusting, finger thick food leftovers in the campkitchen sink when doing dinner dishes. I do not appreciate having every single power outlet in the community places blocked by people charging their >1000$ igadgets while being cheap and not paying or a powered site (or maybe I'm just the fool?). I think it is offensive and rude bringing a guy into the female showers block without even one word let alone an explanation and/or apology (the bossy girl was then washing his most likely glass spiken flip flops in the sink while he was bleeding all over the floor...).
The list goes on and on.
Again I think its hard to keep a crowd like that under control and management is trying; still would not come back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone183, Public Relations Manager at Glen Villa Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Glen Villa Byron Bay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Glen Villa Resort, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Felt good from check-in onwards. Friendly and helpful in reception. Clean and well maintained cabin. Light and airy, self contained, self catering. Infinitely better than a motel. Ecxellent park. Swimming pool. Walk to Byron Bay township. Ideal! Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone183, Public Relations Manager at Glen Villa Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for writing your review.

It was most enjoyable to read your feedback and that we were able to contribute to making your stay with us memorable.

Again thank you and we do look forward to having you stay with us again very soon.

Yours sincerely
Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed in a single cabin for two nights. Very comfortable and clean with full self catering facilities. Convenient location very close to Johnson Street shops and restaurants. Immaculately maintained camp site with pool and friendly office staff. Zero tolerance for noise which I liked. Butler Street isn't lit at night so if you walk back to the resort rather than drive, it is very dark.
Will book again next time we visit Byron Bay. Great place. best kept secret in Byron Bay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed in our campervan at this well organised and very clean site, staff were welcomming and helpful. Excellent location allows easy walking to town and the beach. We were there July and was very quiet. Our only critisism was that was not able to book pitch in advance so we felt we had to arrive early to ensure availability.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

This cabin and camping resort would be the cleanest and tidiest I have ever stayed in. Location is perfect. Short walk to main street and shops supermarket and clubs. Very pleasant staff. Should not tell everyone as I may not find a vacancy next time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Villa Resort

Address: 80-86 Butler street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Villa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Villa Resort is a quiet, green oasis, a caravan park with a difference, catering for couples and mature groups. Boasting 40 deluxe cabins, 5 spa cabins, 6 holiday huts and an array of powered and unpowered camping and caravaning sites, Glen Villa Resort has you covered. Either laze by our beautiful salt water pool and spa or take a 5 minute walk to Byron Bay beach. We are situated just 400m from the lively Byron Bay CBD and 150m from the market grounds, the Glen Villa Resort is the perfect destination for your next getaway, come and relax with us you will not be disappointed. Stroll just 5minutes down the road and you will have at your finger tips all that Byron Bay has to offer. Ask the friendly staff for information on what to do and where to go. And after a long day, when you’ve had enough, it is just a short stroll to return to our quiet, peaceful oasis that is the Glen Villa Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glen Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Villa Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.