We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great two night stay in byron bay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wollongbar Motel

Save Saved
You added Wollongbar Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wollongbar Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   19 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 30 hotels in Byron Bay
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great two night stay in byron bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We had room 23 and it was fab quite no road noise at all and very clean big shower and balcony staff were friendly and always helpful plenty of tea and coffee in room with fridge nice chilled glasses in fridge and fresh water a nice touch !
We went to beach through the walkway and used the pool the sun beds were plenty and very new so thanks to staff and management for a great two night break we have recommended you to friends who are visiting Australia in September ! Good value for money !

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig D, Front Office Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Maria,
Thankyou for your comments and review. We are glad you were comfortable and able to enjoy some poolside time. We appreciate your recommendation to your friends, and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    35
    15
    12
    4
See reviews for
17
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Balnarring, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I rely on trip advisor, however there was no mention on the reviews about road noise, perhaps no one had stayed in room number 1.
When I booked there were 2 family rooms available, however when we arrived we got the dud room, the room that should be sold last, at a reduced rate.
We were in the first room from the street, LOTS of road noise.
I asked to be moved because of the noise but they were full and after a long drive, I was not prepared to go look for another place at 5pm on a Saturday.
The gentleman was polite and suggested we kept the doors and windows closed to combat the noise which quietens we were told at 10pm...which it did....then it started up again at 6am - which we were not told.
We chose to keep the windows slightly open for fresh, cool air as we don't want to have the air con on all night.
Was woken by someone running past the motel and yelling out at 2am, then again by the road noise at 6am.
Toilet continuously running, had to shut the bathroom door to get to sleep.
No fan in the bathroom so it steams up while showering, I could open the window however I don't like to be looked in on from the rooms next door which look directly into the shower.
Room was VERY VERY tired with dated and bad decor, have stayed in better places for less than their rate of $189.00, not in Byron Bay but still expect a certain standard for $189.00
Before we left we did one last check of the room to make sure we hadn't left anything behind, looked under the double bed and there was an empty plastic container that is used for sushi take away, tissues and general dirt, all not from our stay.

The location is perfect, close to the beach and shops.
The pool and bbq area looked nice but didn't use it.
I'm sure units further in from the street would be better, especially if house keeping cleans under the beds, therefore making it a more suitable place to stay for the price.

Perhaps if the room was cheaper you could over look the noise, ugly and tired decor factor and steamy bathroom but didn't like parting with my money for something unsuitable and over priced for what it offered.
I was prepared to talk to the staff upon check out about our experience, however when I handed over the room key I was greeted with:
"Good morning"
"Checking out ?"
"Would you like an invoice ?"

No question of " How was your stay ?"
Mmmmm.
Think they know now, but too late, not staying there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not near the street, if so, ask for a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Victoria Austalia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The reviews we read on Trip Advisor were very accurate. The location is excellent, the building and facilities tired, the room servicing very random, the reception staff helpful and the pool very enjoyable. They need to do some I vestment in the property and their staff if they want to do well in this competitive environment.

Gail

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig D, Front Office Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for your review Gail.
As the winter low season approaches we have restoration and upgrade plans in place. It is also a good time for our house keepers to spend the extra time on each room to increase the standard. I hope you enjoyed your stay in Byron Bay and glad to hear you enjoyed our pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Room was a bit dated and ropey but very clean. Management and reception were very friendly and helpful. Sometimes you get the rat race attitude from Byron business owners because they're so flat out busy and don't need to try too hard as the punters flock there. These guys were brilliant - so helpful. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for your review Tony,

Byron Bay can get busy , especially at the time of year you were here! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can accomodate you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I am a travel agent in Sydney and would highly recommend Wollongbar Motel - we booked the 3 bedroom apartment which is at the front of the property - great for family groups sleeping up to 10 people - 8 comfortably. Nigel and Jayne the Managers were very informative with what to do around Byron Bay and the apartment was fantastic!! They even made our beds daily which was a bonus - and when I had clothes washing to do - Nigel even hung it out as I was busy shopping in town - what can I say!!! The pool area was very handy - very clean and great for a dip in the hot temps - we cooked BBQ's at the poolside and were able to supervise the kids at the same time - the kids loved the access to the beach - they loved walking over the old railway lines and going through the private track - it was like being back in the 70's...

I highly recommend the 3 bedroom apartment if you are looking at a group of people who want to be right in town and have a great place to relax and sleep in..

Room Tip: 3 bedroom apartment great for family groups of 8-10 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Rooms clean enough. Air conditioning doesn't work. A bit disappointing for the heat of summer. Short walk into town. Pillows were uncomfortable, fortunately there were spares but they too were identical.
If its only one night and you get it cheap enough then go for it. For extended stays I would avoid it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Sorry to hear your air conditioner wasn't working. Often it can be as simple as replacing flat batteries in the remote , or ensuring power activation key is in the slot on the wall underneath. Had you let us know we may have been able to fix it or move you to another room. Hope you had a good time in Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Direct beach access. Great location for everything you need- close to beach, bars and shops! Super Clean and extra friendly staff!
Great value, even during peak season.
Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig D, Front Office Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Venessa,
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Wollongbar Motel. You are most welcome back when you travel through town again.Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wollongbar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wollongbar Motel

Address: 19 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wollongbar Motel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Wollongbar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wollongbar Hotel Byron Bay
Wollongbar Motel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wollongbar Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.