We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Managers, Lovely Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Lakeside Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Byron Lakeside Apartments to your Saves list
Byron Lakeside Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   5 Old Bangalow Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Managers, Lovely Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time at Byron Lakeside. We were traveling to get away from the busy lifestyle in Brisbane and found the location of Byron Lakeside to be second to none.

The staff were very friendly and most helpful. The rooms were kept clean and tidy during our stay and we found the assistance of the reception staff to most helpful. Whether it was a tip for a great restaurant or a helping had with a directions they were absolutely great.

The entire trip was just superb and it was all because of the friendliness of the staff at Byron Lakeside. I will be recommending this as THE PLACE TO STAY in Byron Bay!

We will certainly be going back!!!!

Thank you very much.

See you again soon!

Room Tip: Excellent clean and freshly refurnished rooms. A+++++
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony B, Manager at Byron Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for such a positive review!

We really enjoy meeting our guests from all sorts of different places. So your kind words are really appreciated.

Don't forget repeat guests get a 10% discount booking direct with us. Really hope to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Anthony Barnet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    8
    8
    10
See reviews for
25
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for in October and really enjoyed the location. Our villa had 3 bedrooms and was up to date and comfortable. The pool was great and the staff were helpful, providing a fold up bed one night when we needed it. There is acces to the beach and a great spot for coffee and a meal right outside the property.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the lagoon: there's great bird life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony B, Manager at Byron Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a generous review.

The complex is surrounded by a national park and bordered by a creek so it is very peaceful. Plenty of native flora and fauna to see too. Glad you liked it!

We are more than happy to provide extra beds, baby beds and a high chair to our guests.

The access to the secluded Tallows Beach is a real highlight. A stop at arguably Byron's best coffee shop next door is highly recommended.

Really hope to see you back again!

Best regards,

Anthony Barnet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful 5 nights away at Byron Lakeside. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer! The pool was a magnificent bonus, our boys spending all the hours they could in it. We will certainly visit again, hopefully this time next year. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 21 which was quiet and extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony B, Manager at Byron Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi,

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Our beautiful pool area is great spot to enjoy a day or cook a BBQ. Great to hear the boys enjoyed it!

We really hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards,

Anthony Barnet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in September, the aparment was very clean and tidy and in a nice quiet position. We had no problems at all. Loved our stay. The pool was lovely and our view over the pond was nice and relaxing. There we 3 bathrooms and three bedrooms. One room with a double bed and ensuite the other 2 rooms had 2 single beds and another bathroom. Downstairs had a bathroom and spacious kitchen with open lounge and dining room. The lounge was a sofa bed which was also useful. There was a lovely balcony with table and chairs which was great. Washing machine & dryer in the downstairs bathroom. Really there was nothing more that we could have asked for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony B, Manager at Byron Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi,

Thank you sincerely for such a positive view.

While we get a lot of these positive comments on check out, we really appreciate when people take time out to write such nice things.

We look forward to welcoming you back and of course offering a discount off advertised rate and best possible room!

Best regards,

Anthony Barnet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Not a bad place but could be much better with a little more attention to detail. Ie. outdoor furniture and outdoor gardens looked in need of some TLC. Missing slats in blinds causing light to come into bedroom early. No in-room info. No washing powder. Only 2 stations avail on cable tv etc. Sometimes it's just the little things that make a difference. Someone elses undies behind the door in one room when we arrived. Oops cleaning! Could be better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony B, Manager at Byron Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi,

This admittedly is well below the standards we set for ourselves and we will take action on the feedback.

We would have been more than happy to rectify any issues if we knew. There is actually 12 cable channels, as well unlimited complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests.

Landscaping of gardens is ongoing as well as attempts to have owners of apartments upgrade where they can.

It is indeed the little thing that make the difference and your feedback is important and duly noted.

Best regards,

Anthony Barnet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I returned to Byron Lakeside for the fourth time. We love the peaceful nature of the complex, and also the value!

As regular guests we were given a rate of $100 per night for a beautiful ground floor apartment with large and very pleasant outdoor area. You simply cannot beat the value of that. Cheaper than a motel room but five times the size. The complex looks in the best shape we have seen in our visits over the past five years. The lake area is simply teeming with wildlife.

The best cafe in town is open right next door. The muffin and coffee afetr the walk along the beach was a moment we won't forget!

We'll be back and would reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony B, Manager at Byron Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi Scott,

Thanks for such a generous review and glad to hear you enjoyed the return stay.

We are very lucky to have such a high quality coffee shop/ restaurant/ bar next door. It is indeed the busiest in town (based on all the cars parked out the front every morning!). They have a lot of passion and its GREAT for our guests and us!

We have you reserved again in your preferred unit next year and genuinely look forward to seeing back Scott.

Best regards,

Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

4 stars - are you kidding? Unit 26 was musty, sticky and grotty. This did not go anywhere close to meeting our expectations which was booked after viewing the place on the internet. Marked walls, faded quilt covers and dirty furniture were our first impressions.
Totally ruined our Byron experience and after booking for 4 nights we left after one day.
Left note and contact details as we departed before office was open. Haven't heard back and they kept our money too.
Do yourself a favour - find somewhere else and closer to town too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony B, Manager at Byron Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi,

Admittedly this review is very disappointing.

We understand that after one night you came to reception and requested a full refund as the room was "very dirty" you mentioned. As we were 100% occupied at the time we could not move you, and inspected the room which we feel was presented as clean. That unit has hard wood floors and also just has had new carpets put in. We therefore were not able to offer a refund which is line with our policy once guests have checked in. We were able to offer a forward booking in another room, however, which we always do.

We feel that there is a high chance that there were other reasons behind your decision to leave early and are disappointed you have chosen to write such a negative review. This is not the first time we have experienced a review like this, after declining a refund.

But we won't rest on our laurels and are continuing to upgrade units and that unit has now also been fully repainted and landscaped.

We do hope you will return and use the balance of your stay too.

Best regards,

Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Byron Lakeside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Lakeside Apartments

Address: 5 Old Bangalow Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byron Lakeside Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Lakeside Holiday apartments have been proudly welcoming holiday makers from all over Australia, and the world, for many years offering accredited four star service, at very reasonable prices, and with a sense of country hospitality Byron Bay is famous for.Our Byron Bay accommodation offers you the choice of 1, 2, or 3 bedroom apartments that come with the added comfort of an ensuite in the main bedroom and a second bathroom to service the other bedroom. All accommodation apartments are fully self-contained with kitchen, laundry, TV/DVD, Cable TV, telephone, bathroom and also with wireless internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Byron Lakeside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Lakeside Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.