We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, clean well equipped accomodation & friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Eco Beach

Save Saved
You added BreakFree Eco Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BreakFree Eco Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   35 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #13 of 30 hotels in Byron Bay
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location, clean well equipped accomodation & friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a two night stay at Eco Beach, perfect location, minutes from the beach-we were told by the reception about a footpath through the back. A pleasant stroll into the town either via the beach or along the road path. Room very well equipped for self catering, very clean. A small swimming pool, ideal for a quick dip, the pool area is quite small, only room for a few people(only 3 sunbeds, maybe room for a couple more)Pleasant outside seating area, barbecue.
Added bonus of underground parking.

My only gripe being we couldn't have late check out, yet we were offered to use the Eco beach as a base for the day, but missed being able to shower after a day on the beach

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for your comments. It is sometimes possible to get a little later checkout, however BreakFree Eco Beach is a small resort and time is needed to clean and prepare the room for the next guest.
There is usually another recliner by the pool, however it is currently being repaired. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed the resort and it's facilities.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    39
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
12
57
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Nothing annoys me more being charged jetstar style for every tiny thing that they can take out of your room and make you go and ask for.

We recently stayed here, and while it is very clean and the manager is very polite, the policy of leaving you with only two towels and charging two dollars per extra towel (they don't change the towels until you have been there 8 days) is just irritating. Telling me that there is a washing machine and dryer as some sort of solution is equally as annoying when I have come from Sydney for two days am not buying washing powder and surprise, I'm on holiday, I don;t want to do the laundry!

Frankly at the price they could afford to chuck you an extra towel.

Threatening you with a $30 room cleaning charge if you don't take your rubbish out is another thing that just annoyed me. Is it really worth irritating customers who have paid over $200 per night for a very basic studio by piling in the extra jetstar-style changes? Yep, I undertand that around schoolies, Blues Fest and Splendour you might need some of these extra rules, but it just irritates people like me.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are self catering apartments, and whilst we provide a small start up pack of teas, coffees, shampoo, one towel per person and so on for guest comfort, any extras are provided at guest cost and may be purchased at reception for convenience. As self catering apartments, we also ask guests to leave their rooms neat and tidy. Our free laundry facilities were merely pointed out as an option.
Regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at Eco Beach Byron Bay for 4 days this month and could not fault the service, facilities or location.
The room was clean and quiet.
You could not ask for a better location. It is located out of the center of Byron, but it is only a 5 minute walk and you can be amongest it all, and the beach is only 5 minutes away.
The staff were always friendly and helpful.
I was extremely grateful to be allowed to check in a little early, having taken three flights to arrive in Byron.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We always endeavour to check -in early arrivals as soon as possible but cannot guarantee this arrangement. Guests are welcome to sit by the pool or leave their bags at reception and head into town whilst they wait.
Look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your comments.
regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The complex consists of privately owned apartments, managed by a company (other apartment blocks are managed by the same company in resorts such as Noosa). Their practice is to demand a bond of $200 to be was deducted from the debit card, with the promise that it will be returned 7 days later. The room was quite small compared with others we had had by this stage in our travels, but it was clean and comfortable, a bit of a walk from the town centre but not too far. The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We love Byron Bay and sharing it with our guests. We require a $200 credit card pre-authorisation at check-in which does put a hold on the funds in your account for approximately 7 days and is then released if there are no extra charges at check-out. It sounds like you stayed in a studio which is similar in size to a motel room. Next time you might find our one bedrooms more comfortable as they have a separate bedroom to the lounge area and are more spacious. The walk to town is about 7 minutes and is an easy, level walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just tried to make a booking at this resort after reading positive commentary on trip adviser. I made a request if I could please book a room away from the front of the building because of traffic noise. The booking office advised that this request would be noted but that there was no guarantee that my request would be met, and if I was assigned a front room that was my problem. Very, very disappointed by this inflexibility in booking policy. I pay upfront and expect to be allocated a room.

Room Tip: whats the point!!!!!!!!!, the booking staff will not accommodate a request!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We always do our best to meet guest requests, however we cannot guarantee a specific apartment as we may already have received earlier bookings with similar requests, unit owners may be occupying their apartments and maintenance issues may see rooms out of action. Neither myself or my team would use the wording you describe as we are always happy to meet requests where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I always stay BreakFree Eco Beach when I visit Byron Bay. The reasons for this are simple -1)location, 2)property & 3)service. Location: away from the hustle and bustle of town but only a few minutes walk to the heart of Byron. Property: clean, comfortable and modern. Service: it always feels like coming home when I come to BreakFree Eco Beach. Sharon and the team are always ahead of the game with whatever is needed and very accommodating. I would definitely recommend BreakFree Eco Beach to anyone visiting Byron Bay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for your comments. We always do the best we can to ensure everyone has a relaxing break and it is always a pleasure to welcome guests. Be it their 1st visit or one of many. Looking forward to your next visit.
regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great location less 10 minute's walk to the centre of town.
Although located on the major drag heading into Byron from the north, my apartment which was located around the back was quiet and peaceful - just the sounds of birds and the surf.
Apartment was clean and comfortable and the staff were really friendly and helpful.
Again, just being a short stroll to Byron's restaurants, bars and cafes, you would be hard pressed to beat the location - especially during peak periods when downtown Byron can get pretty manic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the back of the complex - the sound of birds and surf beats traffic any day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon_coleman, General Manager at BreakFree Eco Beach, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to comment. Look forward to seeing you again, next time you visit Byron Bay.
regards
Sharon Coleman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BreakFree Eco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Eco Beach

Also Known As:
Breakfree Eco Beach Hotel Byron Bay
Address: 35 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Eco Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Eco Beach offers contemporary studio, one and two bedroom apartments perfect for couples or families located a short walk from Byron Bay's eclectic hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BreakFree Eco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Eco Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.