We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but cleanliness not tip top” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   77 - 97 Broken Head Road, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 hotels in Byron Bay
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place but cleanliness not tip top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our final stop on a short tour of eastern australia. We chose to stay at top places throughout and noticed the general trend of snooty service where they seem to forget that the customer comes first. This was no different...
Changing 1.9% for credit card transactions was typical of their attitude. Surey when a customer is spending thousands of dollars they can somehow take a hit on this? No other shop or restaurant in australia seemed to levy this charge! Leaves a bit of a sour taste.

The rooms are starting to show signs of wear and tear and the overall cleanliness of rooms is v average.

The resort facilities are fantastic, pool area perfect and restaurant extremely good. Fairly priced too.

We'd go back, particularly for the charm of byron itself. Would like to know that rooms have beem given a lick of paint and general maintenance first though i guess!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    437
    119
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
98
320
14
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there and had a wonderful time. The resort is located in beautiful surroundings and the gardens and pool area are immaculate. The rainforest walk within the grounds are also very tranquil leading to a lagoon. We had continental breakfast daily as there was a huge variety for the $20 a head. The only gripe was additional payment for "made coffee", although filtered was included. Rooms were excellent although the colour of the lounges were a little dated.
Overall we can't wait to go back !!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived here just after the recent bad weather, it was bit wet and windy so reception gave everyone a lift to our room in a golf buggy which the kids really enjoyed. The reception staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome.

I believe that when I booked I read something about a rainforest view, well we certainly had one. The apartments are nestled amongst the forest with raised walkways making is easy to get around. Very nice relaxed atmosphere and the option to have the sliding doors open to the enclosed porch areas at the front and back of the apartment meant you could enjoy the full chorus of the rainforest birds and insects if you wanted.

The pool area is very nice and there is a great little kids pool which is ideal for toddlers and a lot warmer than the main pool. Some nice options for pool snacks and drinks available and the service was very good.

Location is good there is a shuttle service into town but we had a car which if you want to explore the local area is needed.

The nearby beach is a bit of a walk and not as close as I thought it would be, it is amazing though so worth the walk and lets be honest most of us probably need the exercise anyway. Would recommend this as a great place to stay for families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I was impressed that me request of top floor room was accommodated and I was able to check in early.
The resort is set amongst the rain forest so you can hear the sounds echoing through your room. The balconies are great with the fly screen enclosing them so you can leave it all open to hear and absorb the scent of the rainforest minus the bugs! Also great if you have kids as they can't escape
The walks on the board walks through out the rainforest was such a lovely experience, especially the meditation walk, lovely idea.
Pool region was great with pool at a perfect temperature .
Only thing I will mention that traveling alone, the minimum payment allowed for room service is $35, so I forgoed this as what I wanted wouldn't amount to that.
Overall a perfect place for some R& R and to get in touch with nature.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at The Byron at Byron during winter last year. Even though it was too cold to go swimming at the beach, we had an amazing stay there. We stayed in a standard suite and it was a little bit noisy because it had a walkway at both the front and the back of the room. If I was to go back again I would stay in the superior suite so that there is only a walkway on one side.

The service here was amazing. They go above and beyond. We sat outside for dinner and even though there were heaters outside they also offered the guests blankets if required. One of the ladies who worked at the resort would stay hello to us whenever she saw us, and check that we were enjoying our stay. They even found me a hairbrush because I had accidentally left mine at home.

Overall this was a very enjoyable stay and I have recommended it to all my friends.

Room Tip: The superior suite is the best value for money. More private than the standard suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Went for a quiet couple of days away thinking we were going to a resort and spa. There could really be some improvement o. The reception given the rating of this hotel and the price.

If I could offer a tip it would be that you at least provide an escort to your rooms upon arrival it would be nice to have someone (the porter?) take you to show you the location of your room and explain the facilities available. To be handed the keys and a map at reception does not live up to the rating of this hotel.

The rooms were quote noisy you could hear the conversations of the people in the next room and it was not very private.

To the credit of the staff we were offered a quieter room elsewhere in the resort and advised on check out that there is actually a private wing for couples. Perhaps this could be advertised better or reception staff could take into consideration room placement when bookings are made and keep family bookings separate from couples.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lovely peaceful place to stay in the middle of the rain forest. Quite expensive but it feels exclusive and service is attentive throughout. The design is quite stark and modern and the rooms are spacious and equipped with kitchen, washing machine, dining table, lounge and 2 balconies. The swimming pool area is lovely and the pool large enough to swim lengths. I recommend the (free) yoga at 0800h each day. The one evening we ate in the hotel restaurant it was excellent, though not cheap. The grounds of the hotel (boardwalks in the jungle) are good for bird-spotting, although the insects are also prolific and we got very bitten walking around. However in the vicinity of the hotel we didn't get bitten. Some of the rooms are quite overlooked so I would recommend a room on the first floor for more privacy. There is a free shuttle into Byron but it stops at 1800h so is not good for going into town for dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level generally have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa

Address: 77 - 97 Broken Head Road, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Byron Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byron At Byron Resort And Spa
The Byron At Byron Hotel Byron Bay
The Byron At Hotel
The Byron At Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.