We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food, amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frankie Brown

Frankie Brown
32 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
+61 2 6680 7474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 139 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Price range: $16 - $28
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fabulous Frankie Brown is open Tuesday to Saturday from 5 pm during the winter months. We have live music every evening as well as sensational cocktails and a really fun vibe. We strive to deliver delicious food with cool music and a great atmosphere !
1 review
“Amazing Food, amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Absolutely delicious food, best Scollops I have ever eaten! Service lovely, fun, and quick. Cocktails Devine, chili coconut martini WOW! This is not a fine dining experience, this place has vibe, energy, live music and fun, I will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    16
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meh.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I can see what they are trying to achieve, but from the atmosphere, to the loitering staff, overpriced and average tasting menu, I was not overly impressed. The oysters highly recommended by the waitress were lacklustre and overly fishy, lacking that zing of a fresh oyster. The Thai beef salad, while the meat delicious, was a mixture of all sorts of nuts and vegetables, most of which seemed pointless. I was also quite distracted by the trip of staff having a friendly catch-up by the till. Needless to say I won't be returning

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful atmosphere, great oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The atmosphere is what you would expect. Live music and cocktails. We ordered dirty martinis and the barman came over to check they were to our liking. The staff were friendly. The oysters were fantastic. I would go back just for the oysters. Apparently, the steak for mains were very good, but I got the chicken penang curry, which I thought was just ok.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Tonic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Let's face it most of the food joints are in the back streets of Bryon so street-scape just isn't going to rate. But with a wide deck, plus a raised eating area and live music the venue tries hard to provide atmosphere. Food selections are numerous and our entree, 2 main and desert were all satisfactory akin to gastro pub food. Cocktails were delicious and a good night was had. Wait staff are a little casual, common in most Bryon joints but excuse that and the venue provides good value all round.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were there at about 6pm. There were only about 8 other people there at that time. I thought the bartender eating his dinner behind the bar had forgotten our drink order. I asked the server. Turns out she forgot to put the order in. 15 minutes wait. A bit annoying - both the service and eating behind the bar/thinking the customers can't see you thing. Just small comments, but these things shouldn't be problems in new places if the training is done right.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie Brown also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to Frankie Brown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankie Brown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.