We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and private” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waves Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Waves Byron Bay to your Saves list
Waves Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   35 Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great location and private”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel before and the location cannot be faulted. The other good thing about this hotel is that in the face of many B&Bs in the area that are perfectly charming and offer yummy breakfasts the privacy aspect of this hotel is a big plus. I don't think it's necessarily good value for money although I suppose it's the location you pay for. The cleaning staff were lovely and the room was serviced every day. Andrew on reception was friendly and helpful. Muffins are supposedly provided in the mornings but it's a bit hit and miss. Considering the price of the accommodation etc I think they could be a little more generous on that front. It's only a muffin afterall and if they really wanted to impress they could consider stocking some of the very impressive muffins we discovered at the insanely yummy Twisted Sister café. Wowsa. Highly recommend. Overall a lovely stay. If the breakfast improved some, I'd consider returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waves Resorts T, Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your review, of Waves Byron Bay. We appreciate all feed-back and review accordingly.
Your comments regarding the 'Light Start' Muffins is currently being reviewed. We were forced to use an alternative supplier in 2013 due to lack of supply, and was very disappointed in your assessment of them. We are in the process of sourcing other quality Muffins, as our guests have always commented favourably on them in the past.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again, and thanks again for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    41
    21
    13
    4
See reviews for
24
56
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We booked late so we did get stuck with expensive accommodation. It was a really nice place though. We stayed at the apartments and it was a 2 minute walk to the beach. I would say it could be closer to the actual centre but it's like a 5 minute walk so it really doesn't make a difference. The apartment was clean enough and the beds were some of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. The kitchen was fully equipped. We had a lovely balcony, tv included and even undercover parking for our car. I think you can get the same for cheaper but there's no denying it was a nice place to stay. Being an apartment we were left to ourselves and didn't have room service but we didn't mind to much as we had more privacy than a hotel.

Room Tip: The apartments have a lot of room. Our apartments slept 5!!! Great for a family or lots of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waves Resorts T, Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. Your feed-back is invaluable to us, to assess the quality of our services and amenities to our valuable guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in Byron Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

As repeat visitors to Waves Byron Bay, we have to admit to being slightly disappointed this time around. Granted, the location right near the beach is fabulous, however the room we booked for seven nights is is unappealing. The bathroom floor floods when having a shower; the carpet is torn and the bed is somewhat saggy and itchy. Having spent the previous two evenings at a newish guesthouse of far superior quality for less money it's fair to say we are disappointed and will no longer be returning guests.
Mike Roberts & Janine O'Neill

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The perfect location in Byron Bay. Very nice people at the front desk with helpful and sincere suggestions of great restaurants and things to do in this beachside, mellow town.
The rooms are simply OK but the beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family and I love the apartment. We had 5 days stay in the premises. We enjoy the good location. It is very near to the beach, supermarket and shopping mall. The 3 bedrooms were good in size and clean. The apartment is fully equipped with kitchen utensils, ovens, dishwasher, dryer and washing machine. All were in good condition. We love the apartment. This is our 2nd time to stay in this apartment. Previously, we had a 360 degree view of Bryon Bay. This time the apartment only has 180 degree view but we are still satisfied. It is a good place for our relaxation. Everything is almost perfect in this apartment. During our stay, the only sad issue is that the wi-fi is not free. It is chargeable. Next sad issue is that when my son was not feeling well, the doctor at the mall was horrid. I should say bad service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waves Resorts T, Public Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your review from your last visit to Byron Bay. We really appreciate all feed-back as it helps us to continue improving our quality and service to our valued guests.

Please remember to tell us you are a returning guest on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

There isn't a rating for 'good' - i.e. somewhere slightly above 'Average' and significantly lower than 'Very good'. If there were, I'd put this hotel there.

I LOVE Byron. This hotel is in a good location, and is good value. It's a shame the WiFi isn't free (if nothing else, it's too slow and unreliable to pay for). The staff however are very friendly and provide excellent service. The beach is right outside, and if you have a car there's underground parking, so it ticks a lot of boxes. I think it just lacks character. But as a base, it's great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We chose to stay at Waves Resort as a kind of romantic break. Due to a late booking all that was left was the Penthouse suite...what the heck at $400 a night it must be good. Check-in fine, parking fine, the room...BIG but dirty, and pretty dam tired with paint pealing off benchtops and cupboards and built up grime on most surfaces. The much hyped king-bed was topped with a mattress worthy of the dump while the lounge..ready to be converted into more bedding at a moment's notice (at extra cost of course) was shoved up against the wall and as comfortable as 2nd class seating on a train in India. Yes all was functional but hardly Penthouse. Someone it seemed had decided to upgrade the bathroom to what I guess approached penthouse standard, but now taking a shower meant a climb over a huge spa wall..not to mention a build-up of water post shower everywhere around the holy-spa. We hadn't been to Byron for about 15 years..the shock of its tourism overload and accompanying over the top prices leaves a bit of a nasty taste in the mouth. Especially when your hotel doesn't bother to service your room and when you ask why all you get is a shrug of the shoulders and a couple more tubes of shampoo. The free muffins were a nice touch...a shame that the free-wine tasting they offered never materialised. At time of booking we were well aware the building was old but thought maybe the interior may have had some work done on it...alas no. All in all not too impressed, but the French Restaurant in town is a cracker

Room Tip: try the hotel which blocks most of your view from Waves Resort...its right in front of it and is muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne M, Public Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for submitting your review as this is the best possible way for us to improve our service and experience for our valued guests. We have made enquires regarding your booking, and in particular the two issues of wine service and room servicing. Our housekeeping staff have reported that due to a "Do Not Disturb" sign being on your penthouse they respected your wishes and did not enter to service the rooms which are done daily. A note was subsequently left under your door to contact Reception. Regarding the Wine Service, it was offered in the foyer on the advertised night until 6.45pm, which is 15min shorter than the advertised time due to lack of guests that particular night, so please accept our apologies. We would have been very happy to offer it to again if we had been made aware.
We do value feedback, and hope that we may be able to welcome you back again and enhance your next experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waves Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Byron Bay

Address: 35 Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves Byron Bay is a 20 room Stylish Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Byron Bay on the Beach. Guests enjoy a high standard of amenities. All rooms include Air-Conditioning, King Size Bath and separate Shower,STD/ISD phones,Plasma TV's, Austar, DVD Player, Stereo System, Clock Radio, Wireless Internet, Electronic Room Safes, Ironing Board and Iron, Mini Bar and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Secure undercover basement parking. Room rates include a complimentary 'light start to the day' of locally sourced muffins along with coffee, tea, orange juice and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waves Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay
Waves Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waves Byron Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.