We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Central Apartments

Save Saved
You added Byron Central Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Byron Central Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 - 7 Byron St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi & late checkout
Ranked #7 of 30 hotels in Byron Bay
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights last weekend. We stayed in one of the unrefurbished loft apartments, which was clean and comfortable and as described on the website. Check-in was friendly and efficient.
The location is excellent, you can experience nearly all of what Byron has to offer without needing a car. The beach and plenty of cafes, restaurants, bars and shops are within easy walking distance.
The only reason I may hesitate to stay here again was the noise. We had a room facing the street, away from the main pool area, however there was a communal table in the courtyard outside our door and we had some particularly noisy neighbours. Since our room faced the street, we could also hear a lot of noise from the backpackers up the street. It was an unofficial long weekend, so depending on when you stay, this may not always be an issue. This would be a great place to stay if you're traveling with a group, but if you want some quiet, you may need to consider staying a bit further out of town/away from the main street.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi SBBMelbourne,
Thank you for posting a review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your time. Our location and value are two of the best things about Byron Central Apartments. The street we are located on is quieter then most especially when compared to Shirley street which has traffic pretty much around the clock.

Cheers,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    39
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
48
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Recently stayed 3 nights in Byron.We found Byron Central met all our needs.It was clean and comfortable.Good size and a kitchen was a bonus if we wanted to eat in.The pool area was great lovely saltwater pool.Even though the rooms surround the pool we found the noise was not a problem.Great location,close to shops,beach and restaurants.Staff were friendly and helpful.
Value for the price we paid.Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi Robyn,
Thank you for the great review we'll hopefully see you again in the near future.

Cheers,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Such a great location in Byron, was able to walk to the beach and all over town from the apartment! And the apartment we stayed in were modern, clean, and comfortable! Very happy with service and facilities! Will return in the future and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi Yuppie208,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are really happy to have exceeded your expectations.

Cheers,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The best thing about Byron Central apartments is the location. Main street, Aldi, and beach are only minutes away.

We stayed in one of the loft apartments for around a week recently during the Blues fest. We had two of us upstairs in the Queen bed and two of us downstairs on the pull-out sofa-bed in the evenings. (the sofa-bed was actually really comfortable)
I've read some of the reviews about the poor quality of the some of the apartments; Be aware that not all the apartments have been refurbished (most have, but not all) so if you're making a booking ensure you ask about that. Ours was modern and up to scratch except for the TV (big but a USB input would be nice). Sure the apartment is compact but we didn't have any issues with the size and it was a great place to hang-out after being at a festival all day and night.

Of course you pay a premium during the festival periods which, no matter how often I come across this, is always a little disappointing.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for one of the more modern, refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi Merry,
We are glad you had a great stay over the Blues Festival. It was such a huge line up! Thank you for pointing out that we have a variety of apartments at Byron Central Apartments most guests that are really pleased with our complex and have posted positive reviews on Tripadvisor have stayed in a deluxe loft apartment, they offer great value for not much more then a standard loft.

Cheers,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during a touring holiday in Australia. We had a loft apartment which had a bedroom upstairs and a settee and TV downstairs and had been recently renovated and were quite okay. However the bathroom and kitchen needed some serious attention, although we didn't mind it being old fashioned I would say they had both seen better days and were quite disappointed especially considering the price we had paid.

On the plus side the parking was underground and very secure. The apartments were in an excellent position and although we were there over the weekend we didn't experience any noise from the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi Sarah,
I'm sorry you felt disappointed with your stay. The apartment you stay in was only partially renovated with the final replacing of the kitchen and bathroom due over our winter period when occupancy is minimal. Prices do tend to fluctuate depending on demand and Easter is one of those high demand times. Please feel free to contact me directly next time you stay so I can ensure you get good service.

Cheers,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Visited Central Apartments recently and were disappointed with the accomodation.We had a ground floor apartment which was very much in need of a refurb.It looked tired and dated added to which there was a musty/damp smell which hung around the apartment and corridor outside which whilst not disastrous was unpleasant.The location is good and the outside facilities were very good. Can't say anything about other apartments in the block as we did not visit any but would not recommend where we were.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 1-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here in a deluxe loft over the bluesfest/easter period and really couldn't complain about much with these apartments. The location is very central and easy to get to the beach/shops/restaurants/pubs, the undercover parking was a bonus and the apartment itself was neat and clean (although a little smaller than i expected, but enough for just the 2 of us). The only downside is the layout of the complex with all the apartments being located around common areas so not much privacy at all and when people are congregating in the communal areas it does get really noisy. The owners have tried to combat this by putting in strict curfews and fines for those guests being noisy after 930pm and they strongly encourage you to dob in the other guests by calling security if the noise gets too much, however we found the noise in the mornings more of an issue - just when youre trying to have a sleep in. Perhaps the owners should consider placing a curfew of noise in the morning as well (say before 9am). We had no issues with the YHA backpackers next door as some other reviewers did and found the staff very friendly . Overall not a bad option when other apartments can be very pricey!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Byron Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Central Apartments

Address: 5 - 7 Byron St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byron Central Apartments 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Byron Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Central Apartments Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Central Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.