We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great value and great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Central Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Byron Central Apartments to your Saves list
Byron Central Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 - 7 Byron St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Great hotel great value and great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in one of the suites and enjoyed our visit. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. The whole complex was well maintained and in a great location-just steps from everything. The staff was very friendly and flexible-they were happy to let us check out late so we could have a hot shower and get changed after snorkeling the morning of our departure.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    53
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
61
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nz
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

After reading the reviews for this establishment and staying here we were very disappointed. The establishment is basically a motel, rooms are small and the luxury loft rooms as described are laughable. Found it difficult to sleep at night as people would sit around the pool all night and the noise travels.
If you want to stay in the very over-rated Byron Bay do so elsewhere...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCA-Scott, Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear pomsbythepool, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in Byron Bay or our accommodation although I must respectfully say you fall into a small minority. People generally love the pristine beaches with spectacular views of the world heritage national parks and exceptional shopping, cafes and restaurants. However I do acknowledge that you visited us in winter, perhaps not the best time.

Our deluxe apartments are overwhelmingly loved by our guests as evident from our completed room questionnaires and offer full cooking facilities with an extensively stocked kitchen which is one of the reason we are independently classified as self contained apartments. There are ample photos and a virtual tour of the deluxe apartment on our website which shows exactly what they offer.

On arrival, all guest are made aware of the onsite manager who is available by dialling 100 from your room 24/7 should you have any problems after hours. It is surprising that someone managed to sit by the pool all night and that nobody called through to notify the onsite manager.

Best wishes for the rest of your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

This was the third time we have stayed at Byron Central. The rooms are great and the staff are friendly and helpful. I love that it is so close to everything, yet quiet and private as well.
We will be back :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Byron Central apartments. The staff were very helpful, friendly and obliging and we could not fault the service at all. The apartments are in a very convenient location, walk to the beach, shops and restaurants. Our room was spacious and clean with reverse cycle air con and foxtel TV. The kitchen was very well equipped should you wish to eat in your room. It also has a lovely pool area for relaxing beside. A bonus also was the secure off street parking. High speed internet available at a minimal price.
Overall we had a lovely few days staying at the apartment and we would highly recommend it to anyone who was planning to stay in Byron Bay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed here with our two young children so a well equipped kitchen is important to us. I found this to be one of the better equipped places we have stayed and were even offered the use of a pram.by reception. With a healthy cafe and second hand bookshop right next door (as well as the beach a couple of blocks away) we felt like it was the perfect spot for our little family!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

After reading the reviews on this site my wife and I booked in for 3 days. Never again, it was horrible the fittings are old and dirty in fact everything is dirty, floor tiles ughh, bathroom is like the black hole of calcutta, I was afraid to approach the so called self catering side of things, the microwave. fridge and cooker looked like they were turned down by the salvation army. It was a total disgrace, do not stay here. We left after two nights and went over two Friday on the Beach, now that was great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCA-Scott, General Manager at Byron Central Apartments, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear Youghal1,
Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you experienced with our accommodation. We are a three and a half star accommodation which is reflected in our excellent value when compared to more expensive accommodation like Friday on the Beach. The furnishing are older in some of our apartments but our cleanliness is second to none as we take it very serious which is remarked upon in many of the positive reviews we receive. We also have a policy that if a guest is dissatisfied in anyway we refund without question or offer another apartment. Many of our apartments are being refurbished over this winter please feel free to request a refurbished apartment should you choose to stay with us again.

Best regards
Scott Wanchap
Licensee/Manager
Byron Central Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed in a queen loft (standard) for 3 nights and it was very good. The pictures (or the virtual tour) on their website show exactly how the apartment is. The bedroom upstairs is spacious, and although the kitchen is not that big, it has everything needed to cook your meals. The lounge could have a different configuration in order to maximize use of space, but it's nice anyway, and the apartment is clean. The only thing that can be a problem is noise, because the acoustics of the building is not very good - you cannot hear what goes on inside the apartments, only outside, but if you happen to have loud neighbors or children running around, then well...that's why they have rules to try to keep things quiet, and I believe it works, because we had some loud neighbors but had no problem to sleep at all.
It's centrally located, close to everything, and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

We'll certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Byron Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Central Apartments

Address: 5 - 7 Byron St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byron Central Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Byron Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Central Apartments Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Central Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.