We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RipOff @ Byron Bay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Longbourn on Massinger Hotel

Save Saved
You added Longbourn on Massinger Hotel to your Saves list
Longbourn on Massinger Hotel
Longbourn on Massinger Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Longbourn on Massinger Hotel
79 Massinger Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 37 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“RipOff @ Byron Bay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We Stay in Byron every year for the blues fest. We chose 79 Massinger for its number of rooms available and general presentation on the net, all be it was very expensive.
We arrived late to find there was no hot water, it had not been turned on. The back deck was filthy with bird dropping and general cleaning lacking. The inside bathroom had un cleaned hair in the drain, and dead cockroaches also on the floor to welcome us. The upstairs apartments had obviously not been aired and literally smelt of mould. The upstairs outside bathroom had been mopped with a dirty mop and the floor was simply filthy. Furthermore the main attic apartment could only open windows to app. 150mm wide so fresh air was non existent. Linen was fresh in fairness however the house had not been used for some time and had been left closed I'd assume. I accept making the wrong decision however it won't happen again. for $9000 for the week I think we were entitled to expect better. Beware....
This won't spoil our break, but for me this is nothing short of profiteering in peak demand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBHR, Manager at Longbourn on Massinger Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
As management of this property we are very disappointed with this review. We have managed this house for 18 months and have had only positive feedback from our guests through our own website ByronBayHolidayRentals.com. The first we had heard about any of these issues these guests had was when we saw the review. We have only just recently listed the house on Tripadvisor. Not once did we ever receive a phone call from these guests stating that the cleanliness was not up to scratch or that there was no hot water when they arrived. Had there been an issue with the cleaning we would have had our Team Leaders over instantly to attend to any of the issues at hand. The large back deck area is surrounded by trees etc so the nature of this property is that foliage from the trees and bird dropping can appear in a matter of hours. The Team Leader had attended the property in the morning and these guests arrived late that night. The house had also recently been treated for cockroaches and we sent the pest control out again after reading this review to retreat (the pest control report was that there was little evidence of cockroaches when they attended again). We pride ourselves in our management and we look after 90+ properties in the Byron region. It is our business and livelihood. We are disappointed that these guests never even bothered to call us to report any issues.

On another matter these same guests also complained extensively about another of our properties they stayed at the Easter before. They complained about having to pay for WiFi plus other matters. Again this was the first negative response we had ever had regarding this other property. Needless to say we will not be offering accommodation to them in the future.

Please read reviews below from many of our happy guests who have stayed at Longbourn at Massinger:


Beautiful property 02-13-2013
This beautiful character-filled house set in a tropical garden is a tranquil oasis. A perfect choice for 3 or 4 couples, you can enjoy meals together on the rear deck and find private spots to relax and while away the hours. If you can tear yourself away, the beach is only 10mins walk. A very special place.

Loved it! 02-06-2013
As always its was a pleasure working with the team from Byron bay Holiday Rentals. They found us a lovely house that fitted with what we we’re wanting in a stunning location. We were walking distance from the beach and the shops and Loved the Top Shop on the corner of our street fantastic breakfast and coffee it became our daily ritual to start our days of there. The house was everything we expected and more, Easy to keep clean with the timber floors throughout and the outdoor showers had a work out. Would definitely recommend this property for anyone needed to cater for a larger group as its got enough areas to entertain but also enough space for privacy when needed.

"Family Moon" 09-26-2012
This place was even better than we thought it would be!!! We went on honey moon with both our families but was perfect as the lay out of the house and the private garden studio offered us enough privacy if we chose to take it with the addition of great entertaining areas and a great kitchen to share time all together. The Japanese sauna and the outside shower and bath where an added bonus and great way to relax. Stones through from a fantastic coffee shop which we visited at least once a day and in walking distance to the beach and main strip of Byron. We will definitely go back, 10/10. Very happy visitors!

Amazing Weekend 05-18-2012
Longbourn was remarkable!! Everything there was perfect, the location, the weather and of course the house was gorgeous. The photos definitely don't capture it's real beauty and character. We had the most amazing time merited to Longbourn, with it having everything we asked for and more!
The staff at Byron Bay Holiday rentals were brilliant too!
Thank you!

30th Birthday with Friends 05-08-2012
We had such an amazing long weekend at the Longbourn! It is a stunning property. The pictures hardly do it justice...it must be seen to be fully appreciated. We didn't want to leave. The 12 of us have already decided to come back in 10 years to celebrate my fiancé's 40th birthday. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first

Been to Longbourn on Massinger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longbourn on Massinger Hotel

Address: 79 Massinger Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Longbourn on Massinger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longbourn on Massinger Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.