We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, excellent spa treatment, beautiful room, good food but good value???” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rae's on Watego's

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Byron Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rae's on Watego's
Save
You added Rae's on Watego's to your Saves list
8 Marine Parade | Wategos Beach, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, excellent spa treatment, beautiful room, good food but good value???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

Rae's is in a truly breathtaking location at Watego's Beach. It is the perfect place for a romantic getaway - a long weekend or a few days. It is close enough to Byron Bay for convenience but far enough to be more peaceful. The service is very good and very personal.

The room was enormous with a vast bathroom and gorgeous antique Asian furniture including a very comfy day bed.

Boogie boards, beach chairs, beach cricket, towels and surf boards are all ready to be taken to the beach...

Breakfast is fresh fruit, plunger coffee and breads and pastries. Eggs and other hot foods are available for an additional cost. The restaurant is good, the food was very good and the service excellent.

The criticisms are small. A full breakfast should be included when you are paying these kind of prices. The bathroom had an open window into the bedroom with a Venetian blind only. Fine if you have been together for 20 years but probably a little more confronting if it is your first weekend away together!!!

All in all it is a very lovely and luxurious place to spend a few days and the location can't be bettered.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    13
    6
    17
See reviews for
8
65
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mona Vale, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My Wife and i recently stayed at Raes. a stroll across the lawn and you were on the beach . the room was luxurious. the staff fantastic. when you were done with the beach there was the superb pool. The place was fully booked but you rarely spotted another guest. We ate at Raes fish resstaurant and enjoyed beautiful fresh seafood. We will be going back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We had a terribly disappointing experience at Raes. We paid for four nights ( $750 plus per night) our room flooded and was incredibly noisy with delivery vans arriving from 6am in the morning and a lot of road and customer noise. The room was dark and cold and the bathroom was tiny with a cloth door. We were moved to another room which flooded, our clothes were soaked. After two days we asked to check out, but were told we would have to pay for four nights. The Hotel Manager was unhelpful and very unreasonable. Eventually the owner stepped in but it was too little, too late. The whole stay was very disappointing, the worst we have experienced at a hotel, especially one which is supposed to be world class.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Arrive at Rae's, open up the shutters for the duration of your stay and let the wind blow through... summer, winter, storms...it is all fantastic at Rae's. We have been every year for the last four and it's simply addictive! Wake up in the morning, stagger downstairs barefoot and fall into the ocean. Breakfast, then the entire morning walking to the the lighthouse, through the rainforest & along the beach stopping at every cafe and swimming at every beach along the way. We have never hired a car. Amazing food, surf and the simply the most beautiful location in the world. I am dreaming of our next stay !

Room Tip: Must have a room across the front with an ocean view, they are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

What a fun three days at Raes on Watego's, the charming atmosphere in idealic surroundings creates a sublime experience where you are transported away from everyday reality. The staff are very sophisticated and well trained, and wait on you hand and foot. Our room was a luxurious, tasteful, suite that created a haven of relaxation. The reasturant served the best green and red thai curries we have ever had, and believe me we know about good thai curry! It is almost impossible these days to walk out of your hotel onto a beach, not any ordinary beach, a paradise beach. This is the ultimate location, and it is easy to understand why this hotel is the chosen location for movie stars, and the rich and famous who want a sublime experience away from prying eyes. we loved it!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I consider myself to be blessed when I land up at places such as Rae's on Watego's. I always knew it was going to be a stunning location, so I did allow myself to be swept up by the indulgence of it all. My head was in the right place so the very small grievances such as a rather disjointed room service breakfast on the last day, or no blinds to stop the morning light from waking us, simply didn't matter! In fact many people prefer not to have blinds so a personal preference wasn't going to ruin a long weekend at Rae's on Watego's!

The real hero of Rae's is the restaurant - and not only the food which is sumptuous to say the least and lovingly prepared by head chef Andy Wheeler, but also our wonderful host Lawrence. It's hard to say too much about Lawrence, he was so incredibly professional and accommodating and he honestly made the entire Rae's experience so wonderful for us. People are so important in exclusive hotels such as this, and the owners should definitely be proud of this one!

The restaurant experience was unique. Sipping a crisp white wine whilst indulging in a seafood platter as we watched the waves lap the white beach was sublime. The beach is heavenly and on our first day we saw so many whales and dolphins that we didn't know which way to look. The room was lovely although I would request one with a view next time as that view is certainly stunning.

The massages and the facials were super relaxing and all in all this was one long weekend of pure bliss which I will remember for a very long time.

Thank you to the staff - we will be back and this time we'll book earlier so we have a seaview, and we'll book longer so I can try every mouth watering morsel on that menu!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview and if ordering a hot breakfast it is better enjoyed in the restaurant rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

If your daily life seems poor, do not blame it; blame yourself that you are not poet enough to call forth its riches; for the Creator, there is no poverty.
Rainer Maria Rilke

Staying at Rays on Watergo affects ones imagination like no other. The Moorish styled pink palace is exquisitely positioned between rainforest and coast so close to the sea you can almost touch it.

Here safely tucked up in my four poster bed in my Moorish themed room in five star comfort my imagination seems revived. I half expect to bump into the stylish Kenyan based English aristocrat and adventurer Dennys Finch Hatton from the 1920s sipping whisky on the sofa with his beautiful young Somali servant Hamisi sitting by his side listening to Mozart over the gramophone.

I had earlier dined in the open air restaurant and watched stars cartwheel across the stars, and mysterious creatures rustling in the undergrowth while I dined on divine food fit for the gods.

This is not a glitzy place, but it is a place that will seduce you if you let it – to live at ease to enjoy the sound and sight of the sea, to eat exquisite food and catch the pulse of an older more innocent world – that is not easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rae's on Watego's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rae's on Watego's

Address: 8 Marine Parade | Wategos Beach, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Byron Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rae's on Wategos in Byron Bay is Australia's most iconic boutique Hotel. It combines modern luxury with bohemian grandeur - a truly unique experience. Situated on absolute beachfront, Rae's on Wategos has been voted one of the world's top 25 Hotels by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine and offers a unique and unforgettable romantic experience. Whether you visit our Hotel, Restaurant or Day spa, Raes on Wategos is a boutique retreat with magnificent surroundings and personalised service like no other. With only only seven rooms in the Hotel, Rae's provides an elegant, opulent and exceptionally private space where one can lose oneself in the mystique of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rae`s On Watego`s Hotel Byron Bay
Raes On Wategos Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rae's on Watego's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.