We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot, but prices have gone crazy and needs some upkeep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bay Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
Warriewood NSW
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A great spot, but prices have gone crazy and needs some upkeep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have always loved a meal or two at the Beach Hotel every time we are in Byron. This time however we really seemed to notice that there is a need for some maintenance here, the whole place in the Pub and beer garden area just looking the worse for wear. That plus the $18 burger prices (they were delicious, but that is an extreme price for a hamburger) gave me the feeling that it is a shame to see it going this way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    23
    22
    16
    20
See reviews for
25
39
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Only stopped here for a quick brekky on our first morning in Byron, and found the food and location good enough to want to spend a bit of time here. The views are outrageously good, as is the fruit loaf! Lovely place from which to start the day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is located smack bang across from Byron Bay's main beach and within walking distance of some great restaurants and cafe's. I would recommend staying here for a short stay in byron as the rooms are quite pricey, however you really are paying for the location. The pool area is lovely and the grounds are tidy and tropical. A great spot!

Room Tip: We payed for a king room with beach view (with balcony) however we could only just see the sunset at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel charges outrageous fees to cancel or vary a booking. They do not let you cancel your booking at all, so you forfeit the whole price of your room/s. Plus, if you book through Wotif, you will be charged an additional $25. If you want to change the date of your booking, you will be charged $50 by the hotel and $25 by Wotif. A very costly experience - I definitely do not recommend!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This was the third time we had stayed and we had just as good a time as previously. The rooms are all the same downstairs so we knew what to expect - a few small things could do with some freshening up and the lighting could be better but it's still a big room with great access to the wonderful hotel pool area.

It's true there is a fair bit of night noise from the adjoining pub, at least on weekends - the bass of music mostly - but it was only really noticeable on the weekend nights we stayed.

The location is amazing - steps from the beach, centre of town and some of the best restaurants in the area. We looked around for alternatives prior to our latest stay and despite knowing about the weekend noise issues came back here because we still believe it is the best place for what we are looking for in Byron.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed at the beach hotel three or four times now over the last few years and had always loved the location and ambience of the place, however we were somewhat disappointed during our last stay in January 2013. Same great location, with wonderful room and amazing view but everything is just that little bit more dated, which would not in itself be an issue except that the service has also taken a bit of dive while the room rates have continued to increase. Reception was friendly and welcoming, and the room was still clean and inviting however there appeared to be a lack of staff in regards to maintaining the grounds and swimming pool. We could not find staff to get pool side service even though it is obviously still available as evidenced by the dirty dishes and glasses (with uneaten leftovers) littering the pool side all afternoon and overnight until well after the 10:30am checkout time. The toiletories once luxurous are now standard run of the mill (3 star) type, couches have been recovered and are comfortable but nothing else has been updated so bathroom in particuar is worn, stained and weary. On the plus side the rooms are amazingly roomy with lots of space and open air so you really know you are on the beach, love the sliding doors that open the entire wall. On the minus side the hotel menu needs updating (the food is edible but not good). Overall would have to say for the price the place is really no up to par ... such a pity as it used to be great! Will probably explore elsewhere in byron for our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Beach Hotel in Byron Bay is the perfect place to take in everything as it's located right on the beach and has all the amenities you could need. There is a pool on site and attached is a restaurant and bar along with a bottle shop (they'll even bring over your wine or beer if you call). They had a great breakfast every morning and did everything to accomodate us. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made every effort to make it enjoyable.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Address: Bay Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Hotel Resort offers a location unrivalled in a region renowned for its natural beauty and numerous beaches. The 4 star boutique resort is positioned on Main Beach overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Julian Rocks and Mt Warning and backs onto the centre of Byron Bays shops, cafes and restaurants. Each of the 25 luxurious suites are spacious and well equipped to enhance your Byron experience. You can practically roll out of bed and onto the beach or let our friendly staff assist with planning the days activities. Stay one night or stay a while.Resort facilities include:- Beach Frontage- Luxurious pool (heated in winter)- Poolside heated spa- Air-conditioning / Heating - Secure, undercover carparking- 24 hour reception- Balcony or courtyard in every room (smoking permitted outdoors)- Complimentary Wi Fi- Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities- Minibar- King Beds- Flat screen TV’s, DVD players and AustarExperience the classic Byron beachside holiday. Simply sublime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.