We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant relief” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Beachcomber Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Byron Beachcomber Resort to your Saves list
Byron Beachcomber Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   23 - 25 Shirley St., Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Byron Bay
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a pleasant relief”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We were on the last leg of our 3 week holiday when we found the accomodation we had booked in a small town just inland from the coast was not what we had hoped for. The manager was very gracious about us not following through on our booking (luckily we hadn't paid a deposit) but we suddenly found ourselves without anywhere to stay. When planning our holiday I had looked at staying in Byron Bay but the price of accomodation was way out of our budget so we reluctantly headed towards Byron with the idea of staying just one night and then heading back to our relatives in Brisbane.
We drove down the main road into Byron looking for vacancy signs and stopped at a couple of places but they could not accomodate us for the money we were looking to spend. At one property the young woman on the reception desk said she couldn't help us but would ring someone who may be able to accomdate us for the 3 nights we wanted at the price we could afford. That is how we met Paul Hibbard at the Byron Beachcomber Resort.
The first thing Paul said to me when I walked in was "would you like to see the room we have available!' He showed me a lovely 1 bedroom unit with a sofa bed in the lounge for our 18 year old daughter, a kitchen, dinning room and a balconny overlooking the pool,spa and bbq area. I was very very pleased (and relieved). He was friendly, helpful and just plain nice and happy to have guests for 3 nights rather than no guests at all.
There was gate access to the beach at the rear of the property where just a short walk away you could watch the beautiful sunset, surf or look for whales and dolphins.
The property was clean, tidy and well maintained with friendly staff.
It just goes to show it doesn't matter how well you think you have planned your holiday you don't always end up where you think you are going to.
We had a lovely time in Byron (it was off peak so there were not 1,000's of people about) but you need to look at more than just the main street. There is the Micro Brewery and the Arts and Industrial Park is a must. We also travelled inland to Nimbin, Lismore, Ballina and Bangalow, the country is lovely.
It is definately on our list to go back to Byron and stay at the Beachcomber....hopefully at another great rate! Thanks Paul.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    39
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
59
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

In Byron for business. Chosen for me by work. The room was very clean. The usual stuff provided: towels, soap, shampoo, coffee,tea, milk. Secure parking is a nice feature.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Vic, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We have stayed in a one bedroom apartment here on several occasions and keep going back. The rooms are an excellent size and we always have a ground floor closer to the road so we don't have pool noise and have complete privacy. It has a good outdoor terrace with tables and chairs. The kitchen is excellent and has everything you need. The staff are excellent. There is secure basement parking for one car and there is a great BBQ area near the pool and spa where we have met new friends whilst all preparing dinner. The back gate of the premises gives you direct access over the old rail line and across the sand dunes to the beach. It's a 5 minute walk to the main street. We are going again in June. Highly recommend this place for couples or families or groups. Some one bed apartments can join with a studio to make a great area. Great Value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Large, clean room - close to the beach and town. There is a backpackers 2 doors away that can get a bit noisy at night. During our stay they went quiet about 10.00 so it wasn't an issue. However, rooms that face the pool can be disturbed by pool users (especially children - interestingly, during our stay the 20-30 adult males were the best behaved!!!). The alternative is the road frontage but I suspect road noise may then be a problem as the property fronts on the main road in.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

I booked these apartments after some research and the positive email responses I received after making an enquiry - I was not disappointed.
The apartments are just a few minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of Byron. parking is provided in a large secure underground parking. The apartments were spacious and although not luxurious were clean, tidy and well equipped, the sofa converted to a large bed. We had a ground floor apartment which looked onto the nice pool area. The complex was well maintained and quite modern in its appearance and I found staff to be very helpful. The room key also opens the gate at the back of the apartments where a short walk brings you onto the white sands of Byron Bay which was really nice and convenient. On the whole I found the apartments very peaceful although some nights a little noise was heard from a hostel close by although they appeared to put a stop to any noise at the hostel quite early so it was never an issue for us. I was very happy with these apartments and would use them again if I returned to Byron Bay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed here for a Friday/Sat night in December as a wedding anniversary treat and on the whole had a great time and releaxing stay.

We got one of the best rooms to help celebrate, which was a clean and spacious apartment with full kitchen, dining table/chairs and living room with a balcony looking over the pool. The couches were a little old but still comfy. TV/DVD player was great with plenty of SKY channels. The pool and jacuzzi are real nice treat too - being very clean and maintained well. Beds were excellent being firm (which is great for me with a bad back) so we slept well...One of the hostels a few doors down was a little noisy on Sat Night, but not so bad that we couldnt sleep.

We had a car which they had heaps of underground parking for, so location didnt matter to us but it would be an 7-8 minute walk to the centre.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Great location, quiet, bottom rooms a bit dark, nice pool.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Byron Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beachcomber Resort

Address: 23 - 25 Shirley St., Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Byron Beachcomber Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Byron Beachcomber Resort apartments in beautiful Byron Bay. We offer 34 spacious apartments suited to families, friendly groups, couples and singles alike. The property boasts a solar heated pool and spa, BBQ area and direct beach access to the pristine bay. It is also only a 5 minute walk to the heart of Byron where you can enjoy the cafes, shops, markets, main beach and all that this fabulous seaside town has to offer. The accommodation offers the best of both worlds as you can enjoy both relaxation and a chance to take in all the action. Make your next Byron Bay getaway a beachside escape at the Beachcomber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Byron Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Beachcomber Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Beachcomber Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.