We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Beachcomber Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Byron Beachcomber Resort to your Saves list
Byron Beachcomber Resort
23 - 25 Shirley St., Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Was lucky to find reasonably priced accom at Beachcomber at short notice. Booked one bedroom unit and found it looked exactly the same as the photos. Bedroom was roomy, pleasant decor and living area had heaps of room. Supplied cooking utensils and BBQ area well equipped which meant we could eat in with friends. Bathroom is as per photos greenish blue, but most importantly my husband thought water pressure was excellent an he is fussy. At first we were a bit concerned being right at the back near the beach door access, however it was fine, also security into the front. But was. Bit noisy from backpackers behind on as night, and we heard shower above in the morning. But would stay again as good value and good undercover car parking security, good walking distance to town. Didn't have any calls for on site management so can't comment too much on that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
45
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for three nights in April 2013 in a first floor room. The location of this boutique hotel is perfect, a few minutes walk to the quaint town centre and has direct access to the beach. Unfortunately we stayed during torrential thunderstorms and rain, and the tin roof made it soooooo noisy at night in the rain that we hardly slept for two out of our three nights. The room was clean, fresh and nicely maintained if a little 'cold' and the staff seemed friendly enough.

The good stuff
Spacious room and large bed
Balcony overlooking the pool
BBQ area was a nice touch -although we did find a toad in the utensil drawer.......So think camping style rather than high end
The room was clean and the grounds felt secure
Underground parking
Location

The not-so-good stuff
The bathroom was large, but unwelcoming
The roof is a problem in the rain
The spa was closed during our stay
The rooms aren't serviced daily -no major issue, except if you need clean towels...however you do need to remove your rubbish from your room upon check out, which was a little odd

Handy hints
You need a key to open the parking area, the gates don't just open
Take bug spray if doing a BBQ, we loved doing our own BBQ
Walk along the beach to the town rather than the road, it's much nicer
Reception isn't 24hr, so if arriving after 5pm - call ahead for instructions

Whilst we had no major complaints about the beachcomber bay resort, I think we would stay elsewhere if we returned to Byron Bay- for the price there are just a couple of touches missing which you would get elsewhere at hotels in a similar price bracket.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed here for the weekend. The staff are lovely, and the one bedroom apartment was clean and fresh. I would stay here again. As it is on Shirley St, however, getting in and out of the driveway took some time. I recommend leaving the car and walking to the CBD which in only a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom ground floor apartment over Easter while attending Bluesfest. The room was clean and very comfortable. Walking distance to everything in town and to the beach. We have booked again for next year and really enjoyed our stay there. Great location, friendly helpful staff and loved the fact the laundry was free so we didn't have to scrounge for coins to do our washing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed in this place in July 2012 in a two bedroom ground floor unit. The complex is located a short walk from town, on one of the main drags into Byron.

The facilities (pool, car parking, laundry etc) were spot on which was exactly what we needed with a baby in tow. Staff were accomodating and friendly and once again this was helpful (it's the first time we'd travelled with an infant). Also notcied that this was an exception in Byron - we travelled for a wedding and most other guests complained of snooty staff! We asked on several occassions for a little extra and it was never a drama. Kudos!

The size of the unit/apartment was great. We had a workable kitchen with most appliances and utensils, a dining area, and a living area with a couple of couches and a tv. Also had a large and fenced outdoor living area. The bathroom was average at best, but it was clean and it all worked. In general, the decor was a little outdated, but what can you expect for such reasonably priced accomodation?

I will stay here again without hesitation and happily recommend it to any traveller, especially those who require a bit of room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I just spent 9 days at the Beachcomber Resort in a studio apartment. The room was bright and clean, and the staff were friendly and went out of their way to make our stay really smooth. We asked for a few extra items for our room and nothing was too much trouble. All staff were nice and Mary was just outstanding! The location is very good too - right opposite the Wreck and a few minutes' easy walk to the centre of town. Internet access was an extra and wasn't reliable in our upstairs room, but other small things were all included which was really nice including washing powder and free washing machines, kitchen consumables, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A very well situated apartment, within easy walk of the town which could be reached through a short and very pleasant walk along the beach. Access to the beach was just to the rear of the apartments. The room was very spacious, with a large, comfortable bed. The bathroom was of a similarly generous size. Car parking was available in the basement. Staff were friendly and there were little useful extras provided such as washing powder - very handy when you've been on the road for a while. Nice ornaments in public areas; pool, jacuzzi and bbq available for use. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Byron Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beachcomber Resort

Address: 23 - 25 Shirley St., Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Byron Beachcomber Resort apartments in beautiful Byron Bay. We offer 34 spacious apartments suited to families, friendly groups, couples and singles alike. The property boasts a solar heated pool and spa, BBQ area and direct beach access to the pristine bay. It is also only a 5 minute walk to the heart of Byron where you can enjoy the cafes, shops, markets, main beach and all that this fabulous seaside town has to offer. The accommodation offers the best of both worlds as you can enjoy both relaxation and a chance to take in all the action. Make your next Byron Bay getaway a beachside escape at the Beachcomber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Byron Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Beachcomber Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Beachcomber Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.