We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Byron” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Beachcomber Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Byron Beachcomber Resort to your Saves list
Byron Beachcomber Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   23 - 25 Shirley St., Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Byron Bay
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Byron”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom ground floor apartment over Easter while attending Bluesfest. The room was clean and very comfortable. Walking distance to everything in town and to the beach. We have booked again for next year and really enjoyed our stay there. Great location, friendly helpful staff and loved the fact the laundry was free so we didn't have to scrounge for coins to do our washing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    39
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
59
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed in this place in July 2012 in a two bedroom ground floor unit. The complex is located a short walk from town, on one of the main drags into Byron.

The facilities (pool, car parking, laundry etc) were spot on which was exactly what we needed with a baby in tow. Staff were accomodating and friendly and once again this was helpful (it's the first time we'd travelled with an infant). Also notcied that this was an exception in Byron - we travelled for a wedding and most other guests complained of snooty staff! We asked on several occassions for a little extra and it was never a drama. Kudos!

The size of the unit/apartment was great. We had a workable kitchen with most appliances and utensils, a dining area, and a living area with a couple of couches and a tv. Also had a large and fenced outdoor living area. The bathroom was average at best, but it was clean and it all worked. In general, the decor was a little outdated, but what can you expect for such reasonably priced accomodation?

I will stay here again without hesitation and happily recommend it to any traveller, especially those who require a bit of room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I just spent 9 days at the Beachcomber Resort in a studio apartment. The room was bright and clean, and the staff were friendly and went out of their way to make our stay really smooth. We asked for a few extra items for our room and nothing was too much trouble. All staff were nice and Mary was just outstanding! The location is very good too - right opposite the Wreck and a few minutes' easy walk to the centre of town. Internet access was an extra and wasn't reliable in our upstairs room, but other small things were all included which was really nice including washing powder and free washing machines, kitchen consumables, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A very well situated apartment, within easy walk of the town which could be reached through a short and very pleasant walk along the beach. Access to the beach was just to the rear of the apartments. The room was very spacious, with a large, comfortable bed. The bathroom was of a similarly generous size. Car parking was available in the basement. Staff were friendly and there were little useful extras provided such as washing powder - very handy when you've been on the road for a while. Nice ornaments in public areas; pool, jacuzzi and bbq available for use. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in a studio apartment that we booked relatively last minute for a very reasonable price. We were impressed with the location being less than a 5 min walk from the town centre with beach access through a private gate at the front of the property. The room was well prepared with comfortable bedding, good quality towels and the provision of tea, coffee and laundry powder. The pool area was well maintained and clean and we had plenty of opportunity to use the sun lounges along with other guests. We also made use of the poolside BBQ area. Another handy addition was the free washing machines on site. Overall we had a very lovely time here and would definitely come again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the back of the motel next door which was not extremely desirable, I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I booked a long weekend here with my son for a long planned special getaway and surf lessons. Booked via Agoda, and to be fair, it was non-refundable (the only option on the site.). The day before we left, the forecast was for heavy rains, flash floods, and dangerous/damaging winds. The bureau of meteorology and the SES had warnings to avoid the area. I decided to cancel. Virgin refunded my airfare no problem because of the weather forecast. Agoda said happy to refund hotel, but owner said no, that the weather was fine. (With radar showing huge storm there!) I understand he has a business and asked him to keep first night but refund me the other two nights, or give a partial refund. He wouldn't budge, no refund at all, told me I shouldn't have booked via Agoda ( although they tried to organise a refund and said the owner refused.). I found his attitude rigid and heartless. I didn't appreciate his lying about the weather- I heard from the surf instructor the weather was so dangerous they cancelled all lessons.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear friendinoz, Again I apologize for your unhappiness regarding our cancellation policy in relation to your non-refundable booking via Agoda. Approaching us with a demand to refund the booking and then a promise to write us a negative review if we didn’t comply, does not change our policy. An option for you could have been to make a direct booking with us which would have provided you with more options in case of cancellation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband I stayed at Byron Beachcomber Resort for a week. Wow, what a place. We would definitely stay there again. We stayed in a self-contained one bedroom room apartment and it was large, clean, nicely decorated and quiet. Good quality linen was provide along with shampoo, conditioner and soaps. It had a private balcony which we enjoyed. Also loved the air-conditioning and comfortable couches for watching TV during the heat of the day. It is very secure, with underground parking provided and key entry to the back gate and after 7pm (I think) for the front door. There was a laundry room which was available to use free of charge. What a service.

The location is excellent. While the property is on Shirley Road, the main road in and out of town it was quiet. It was a few minutes walk to get into town on the footpath. The backpackers is two doors down and we only heard loud noise on Christmas Eve, which was to be expected. The property backs on to the old train line, the bush and then the beach. This section of Byron Bay beach is uncrowded, and is just a few minutes walk to the main drag. There was lots of birds and trees around the property which made the atmosphere very tranquil. The pool, spa and BBQ area are gorgeous and we spent lots of time enjoying them. We were often the only people using them, I cant believe how uncrowded the place felt despite being full.

The staff members were really nice. Ben was very helpful and the cleaner was the most bubbly person I have ever met. I'll have what she's having!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Byron Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beachcomber Resort

Address: 23 - 25 Shirley St., Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Byron Beachcomber Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Byron Beachcomber Resort apartments in beautiful Byron Bay. We offer 34 spacious apartments suited to families, friendly groups, couples and singles alike. The property boasts a solar heated pool and spa, BBQ area and direct beach access to the pristine bay. It is also only a 5 minute walk to the heart of Byron where you can enjoy the cafes, shops, markets, main beach and all that this fabulous seaside town has to offer. The accommodation offers the best of both worlds as you can enjoy both relaxation and a chance to take in all the action. Make your next Byron Bay getaway a beachside escape at the Beachcomber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Byron Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Beachcomber Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Beachcomber Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.