We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most uncomforable bed I've had since I was paying 10 bucks a night at a backpackers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Beachcomber Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Byron Beachcomber Resort to your Saves list
Byron Beachcomber Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   23 - 25 Shirley St., Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Byron Bay
Canberra
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The most uncomforable bed I've had since I was paying 10 bucks a night at a backpackers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

For the money that I paid at this "resort", it wasnt worth it. I'm sure there are many better options available in Byron for the 150 a night i paid.

The room was big but very dated. The double bed was terrible.

Our balcony had a view of the hotel next door about 10m away.

The walls are quite thin so we could also hear what the neighbours were watching on TV.

Some positives are that the staff were friendly on check in/ out, the short walk to the beach and into town is great as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
I regret to hear this guest was unsatisfied with there stay here! I apologize for the poor sleep they had. We did have a few older beds left to be replaced but I'm happy to report that 3 months ago, they were all replaced and that all beds in the complex are no more than 1.5 years old. We have never had any double sized beds here, only king zip beds in our studio apartments. I'm sorry to hear that they were unhappy with their view...half the complex has pool views, and had we known about this, we would have happily moved them to one of these or offered some compensation for their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    39
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
59
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Byron Beachcomber was a very pleasant stay, spent five nights and wanted to stay longer! I even saw improvement from the times I stayed before, new management now and glad I came back. My room was perfectly clean and spacious and had all that I needed, with my kitchenette, comfy bed and cute balcony with table and chairs overlooking the pool and beautiful trees. It's not a fancy high end hotel but it's just fine, all i wanted and is great value for Byron. There' s a lovely BBQ dining area by the pool which I will use on my next visit. The location was great, just a few minutes walk to town and also a path out the back to the beach. Management was superb, very friendly, helpful with things to do and run the property very well! Can't wait to come back, thank you!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is our third (and unfortunately probably last) visit to this establishment. Its a great location and the management is co-operative.

In a previous review we commented on the high noise factor. On this occassion there was a group booking (about a dozen people across a few rooms) who congregated in the room under ours. The noise, even during the day, destoyed any peace and quiet we may have been after. The backpackers 2 doors up were less of a disturbance

On top of that this group took over the pool area whenever they were about, making peaceful enjoyment impossible for any other guests.

To their credit management offered to refund any nights not used if we had booked out - problem was moving would have only meant losing the value of our break.

On the other hand, preventing groups from congregating in the one room would have been a better solution. There is a common area around the BBQ for this.

My recommendation is check if the management has any groups booked in and if so don't bother - you won't get any peace.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
We are well aware of this recent situation. This guest wanted complete peace day and night, which is a tall ask when you book into a resort with other guests out and about enjoying the facilities and kicking back having a good time. The group booking she is referring to was not 12 people but in fact only 3 couples. They all booked their own apartment and came to enjoy each others company. The first night they were here, they did get too noisy and this guest complained to us. We talked to the group, explained that we do not tolerate partying and noise at night. They were apologetic and from then on enjoyed afternoon drinks and left the complex at 8 pm every night. The next time this guest complained, it was 5 pm. Upon investigation, the small group was found to be enjoying some afternoon drinks together in their private courtyard with a completely acceptable noise level. We did not have a single other complaint from any other guest, and if we had, would have taken this into consideration. We realise that people come to Byron Bay to have an enjoyable holiday, whether they come for relaxation and quiet or having a laugh with some friends. We do not condone excessive noise or partying, but we do not feel it's appropriate to stop guests having a good time under acceptable noise levels during the afternoon and feel it would have been inappropriate to tell them they couldn't do this around the pool or in their private courtyard. This guest wanted complete quiet and this is why we offered to refund nights not stayed if they decided to leave early and go somewhere more appropriate for achieving the complete peace they hoped for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Beachcomber twice a year for about 4 years. Very helpful, friendly management. The property is well maintained and clean. Short walk direct access to beach near The Wreck. 5 mins.walk to town.Lovely pool,spa and BBQ area, free laundry room, secure car parking. Spacious one bedroom apartment, or studio rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stayed here for few nights and was a bit dissapointed by the quality of the rooms. Our room was very good sized and had a small kitchenette and balcony but unfortunately it lacked in cleanliness. There was mould on the ceiling, curtains and chairs so it always smelled a bit strange. Almost all glasses, cutlery and plates were still dirty from previous guests so had to clean everything before using. Drainage in bathroom very smelly so we had to keep the door closed. The small balcony overlooking the BBQ area could have done with a clean also. However the bed was very comfy and it's in a great location with direct beach access - just have to cross some rail tracks. Just a few minutes walk to town with loads of shops and restaurants. Really appreciated the underground car park free of charge and the lift which was handy with a lot of luggage. There was a small pool area and laundry facilities but didn't use as too busy for us. Try the Fishhead Restaurant when you get a chance as delicious and right on the beach - Hinterland is also worth a visit with some amazing views!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberByronBay, Manager at Byron Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
We appreciate all feedback from guests, which we take very seriously. I would like this guest to know that we are slowly updating the apartments with new paint, curtains and furniture. Unfortunately, they were in one that hasn't been completed yet. As we are so close to the beach, we do get a bit of mould on the curtains and ceilings...they are clean, but a bit stained. We are aware of this and are working toward necessary improvements. The smelly drains happen sometimes, and we have rectified this problem. As for the cleanliness of the dishes, we are working with staff so this doesn't happen again. Unfortunately, we were not aware of this guest dissatisfaction during their visit, and if we had, would have done our very best to improve their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

I recently stayed at the Beachcomber and found the new management very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way suggesting places to see and good restaurants. It's in an excellent location - out the back gate and a short walk to the beach, or out the front and 5 minutes into the center of Byron. The rooms were clean, but a little dated. The grounds/pool area well kept and clean.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Vic, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Beachcomber continues to provide excellent accommodation close to the heart of Byron Bay. This is my 2nd review from 12 months ago and as I had read a poor review on this site in recent months, that in our experience, I can only say everything was as good as ever. Our one bedroom apartment was comfortable, clean, quiet and unobtrusive staff/managers were looking after the rooms, pool and guests as well as ever. See you next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Byron Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Beachcomber Resort

Address: 23 - 25 Shirley St., Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Byron Beachcomber Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Byron Beachcomber Resort apartments in beautiful Byron Bay. We offer 34 spacious apartments suited to families, friendly groups, couples and singles alike. The property boasts a solar heated pool and spa, BBQ area and direct beach access to the pristine bay. It is also only a 5 minute walk to the heart of Byron where you can enjoy the cafes, shops, markets, main beach and all that this fabulous seaside town has to offer. The accommodation offers the best of both worlds as you can enjoy both relaxation and a chance to take in all the action. Make your next Byron Bay getaway a beachside escape at the Beachcomber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Byron Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Beachcomber Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Beachcomber Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.