We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joel is a legend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Byron YHA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Byron YHA to your Saves list
Cape Byron YHA
Cnr Byron and Middleton Sts, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Joel is a legend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Had a really nice stay here. Good clean hostel with great staff. Special mention must go to Joel who takes really good care of everyone and does an awesome job on reception organising tours, walks etc. Would definitely recommend, the only thing that I could fault would be the price which was a little steep. Having said that, you get what you pay for and this hostel was fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Jake!!

Thank you for the Review and I hope you enjoyed your trip down to Sydney and the rest. Glad you enjoyed the walking tour as well. We do have quite high prices over summer as i would agree but with Byron being so busy over this time its market driven, glad you thought it was worth it!!

Regards

Joel

P.S you are welcome back any time mate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    39
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
2
22
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Hostel itself is really spacious, the rooms are nice, the whole place is always tidy and it has a pool for those lazy hangover days when you cant drag yourself to the beach :) Never met a staff as nice, helpful and fun to hang with as these guys! Also you have free buggie boards, free bikes and the free lighthouse tour was one of the most unforgettable experiences of this journey! (Saw about 50 dolphins!) We initially wanted to stay in byron for one week but this town and this hostel managed to keep us here for three weeks now... If i had to point out one bad thing it would be the wifi receiption... Hope they can fix that before our next stay :) It has been a wonderful time and i would recommend this place to everyone who plans on coming to this place!

Room Tip: Room 26 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Aylin!

Miss you guys! We are quiet now summer is over so working on a few things like our Wifi :p haha.. Anyway really glad you girls enjoyed your stay and had such nice things to say! You are welcome back anytime :)

Regards

Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The free bike, body boards, and lighthouse tour were nice. It's a good location and it's not too loud at night. Kitchen was good. Biggest downside is how hot it gets on the first floor (no wind or A/C to cool you down, was too hot to sleep most nights).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Yes!

We love being so close to the beach and the Cape! Glad you did too...

Yes its not only the first floor on those summer days. It gets really hot and humid here in summer. Staying cool can be difficult we have alot of travellers who are not used to the heat but even when you are those humid nights are hot!!

We do have some private rooms with aircon but the cost makes it impossible for us to have them in our dorms.

Anyhow thank you very much for the nice review see you next time!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The YHA was really clean and tidy, with really friendly staff (all of them!) who helped us out with various inquiries about days out and had really informative advice from their own experiences. Kitchen was basic but clean, nice pool area, great location, beds were comfortable and it seems like the rooms and hostel was cleaned on a regular basis. They also offered free hiring of body boards and bikes which were great for getting around the area. They also picked us up from the bus stop (just around the corner) in the evening when the bus was late. This is a great hostel and I would highly recommend it when staying in Byron Bay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you!!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Byron and are glad we were able to meet your bus its always difficult to make sure we can provide that service for everyone especially the late buses haha. As I mentioned in a previous response its great to get feedback about our staff as they all try hard to make sure everyone is helped out and gets all the info they need so we will pass that on!!

Thanks again and safe travels!!

Regards

Cape Byron YHA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

So before any of you read this, you might want to remember that this is a hostel and one must have hostel expectations. We were greeted by a great courtesy bus from the greyhound station that drove us to the hostel (like a 3 minute drive so great location, right in the middle of town and 5 minute walk to beach) and were given a top sheet (hurray!!....very rare so far in Australia which is crazy as its so hot and who's going to use a comforter?!) and pillow case.

Our room was clean and the bunk beds stable. The hostel is really nice with a pool in the middle and quite a large common room and dining area upstairs. We didn't use the kitchen facilities but it looked decent enough, The reception staff are incredibly helpful and helped us figure out a walk to the lighthouse for sunrise and a sea kayak tour which was awesome. Always smiling and joking around....oh and laundry facilities are great too!

The only thing I would have to complain about is noise at night. There are signs that say keep the noise to a minimum after 11pm but the outdoor dining area upstairs can be a bit loud as well as the people who (selfishly) slam their doors shut at night. But I'm a light sleeper and noticed others were sleeping alright. Also a fan in the room helped with noise and air circulation

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for you Review!!

We are glad you enjoyed the hostel and all the things you did in Byron. We appreciate the feedback about helpful staff as we pride ourselve in the service we give and being as informative as possible so thanks!!!

Noise is always an issue for any hostel but some times its better than other maybe next time you come it will be a bit better :)

Enjoy the rest of your travels guys and thanks again!!!

Regards from the Team at Cape Byron YHA!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Cape Byron YHA was a great place to stay for us for our 3 days here. The staff is amazing, so friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean. Amazing lounge chairs by the pool to have a nap. Very central to everything!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thanks Guys!! Haha we love that you loved napping by the pool in the loungers, this seems to be one of our most popular activities... Thank you very much for the review and we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip!

Safe travels and we would love to have you back anytime!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We travelled as a pair and loved cape byron! Staff were really helpful and knowledgeable. There was free wifi in the lounge area, and free bikes. Pool was lovely and there was lots of outside seating area where you.could eat and relax.

It was quite expensive but we stayed over the weekend. Only problems no locker in room but could keep valuables behind reception.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobKay2481, Manager at Cape Byron YHA, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you Holly!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and some of the great free things we offer :)

We are working on lockers at the moment and getting quotes to get them installed so hopefully next time you come we will have them in your room!!

See you guys next time we would love to have you back!!!

Regards from the Team at Cape BYron YHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Byron YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Byron YHA

Address: Cnr Byron and Middleton Sts, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make sure you stay in the heart of Byron Bay - backpacker's paradise with superb beaches and scenery and lots of nightlife. Cape Byron YHA is a purpose-built hostel in the centre of town, just 100m to the beach. Relaxed atmosphere with common areas surrounding a large heated pool and BBQ area. Free use of bikes and boogie boards. Cafe, dive centre and seperate TV/reading room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Byron YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Byron YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.