We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hostel would def go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarius Backpackers Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aquarius Backpackers Motel to your Saves list
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
16 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant hostel would def go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hostel organised nightly events and meal deals, I would strongly recomend you do it all, staff were great and location was better. Highly recomended.

Room Tip: some rooms have spa baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    46
    29
    14
    13
See reviews for
2
38
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

As a solo traveler this backpackers was perfect - really sociable, with different activities in the bar every night to get people mingling.
A good 'buy a drink get free dinner' deal - mostly pasta dishes but you can't go wrong with a drink and feed as cheap as $3.
Their haloumi burger is to die for mind you - nom!
Rooms were clean and comfy enough, stayed in the female dorm with a super friendly bunch of girls.
The beach is a stone's throw away, two seconds and you're there or in the centre of Byron Bay.
There's a pool at the hostel, didn't go in though and it didn't look the cleanest - but it is the off season.
The staff - super helpful, thanks Aquarius for exactly the kind of holiday I was looking for.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We found the Aquarius a great spot, well priced not far from the beach and a good spot to hook up with other people at the pool / bar.

My wife and i would stay there again for sure, even bought the t-shirt!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

I have stayed at the Acquarius Backpackers three times in the past, and since my last visit, the hostel has been extended with a new bar area. Unfortunately, since these works, it is evident to me that the owners are just interested in maximising income rather than providing a service to their guests.

Whilst they provide a free meal (when you buy a drink from the bar) they pick and choose when they provide it. On New Years Day the reception was closed, preventing guests using the pool or any of the other facilities.

The staff were generally curt and unhelpful. We paid $45.00 per night for dorm beds, and after a guy checked in on our last day and said he paid $35.00 per night (when we were paying $10 more), the receptionist said that this was would not have been the case, and would not discuss it further.

They will not accept any bookings any earlier than four weeks before your intended stay, and will not release their rates until that time. I assume that they gauge what to charge depending on their likely occupation levels.

Whilst we accept that the accommodation is mainly backpackers dorm rooms, the fact that each dorm has one combined bathroom and toilet serving ten people is not sufficient and leads to queues. Each room would also benefit from an efficient air conditioning system rather than one solitary fan.

Given my recent experience, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed in the double room within the 8 bed dorm room, a little pricey for what you get but it is in Byron Bay! The room is the biggest thing that let this place down, there is no security on the main door to the shared section, one night we had at least two extra people sleeping on the floor. Luckily we were in the lockable double room but from a security aspect anyone can get into the shared dorm section, it also placed a strain on the bathroom (1 per shared room). Kitchen was a little small for the amount of people staying but it was decent. On a night there was a free meal if you bought a drink, the guys working here do a good job putting out some decent food and are generally helpfull, although reception seems to get unbelievably busy during check-in/out and tempers fray! This place is moments from the beach with a great friendly surf rent shop accross the road, great location and good place but security lets it down, I wouldn't feel comfortable leaving my gear in one of the shared dorms!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Thanks to this place we managed to retain fond memories of Byron Bay, despite starting out (thanks to Lonely Planet recommendation) at Main Beach Backpackers - the absolute pits. We enjoyed a one bedroom unit at Aquarius for $120 which was pretty reasonable as it was like a ritzy motel unit from the late '70's - not much maintenance since then but fun all the same.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I loved this hostel, came here as a solo traveller and met so many people, the hostel looks a bit old from the outside but has been renovated within, huge new kitchen, common area, Xbox, pool, TVs. All the rooms have ensuites and the best bit it's own bar, which is how I met so many people, everynight everyone get free dinner so the whole hostel is down at the same time, then there's always something on like trivia, bingo, karaoke eg. Loved it! Cheap drinks too!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquarius Backpackers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers Motel

Address: 16 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Aquarius Backpackers Byron Bay we have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets. From self-contained apartments, budget private rooms and spacious dorm rooms. You should be able to find a room to put your head down and get some rest after a busy day of shopping, surfing and soaking up the unique Byron Bay atmosphere. Free overnight off street parking and free baggage storage (max 12hrs) is available to Aquarius guests. We also have an onsite security guard after hours to help you if any issues should arise or for late check in's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarius Backpackers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.