We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but ok rooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Byron Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Byron Resort to your Saves list
Lord Byron Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   120 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced but ok rooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed for a weekend for a friend's wedding. Hotel is in a good location within easy walking distance of everything in Byron. Staff did not offer help up the 2 flights of stairs despite our many bags. When asking for wifi password were treated like criminals wanting to "steal" access. Checked out 6am Monday morning, front desk was unmanned and no details displayed for out of hours check out (you just post the key through a slot in the security door apparently). Rooms were clean and had average furnishings. Not worth the price tag, but then most of Byron is not.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordbyron120, Manager at Lord Byron Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We apologize if you were made feel uncomfortable when asking for the Free Wi Fi password which we do make very accessible to all guests by having it in all rooms and available at reception.
We advertise our office hours and how to contact the duty manager who is always on the premises, when the office unattended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    57
    58
    14
    13
See reviews for
19
72
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed just the one night, but next time we'll stay longer. At $ 129 a night we thought this was very good value. The room was spotless, light & airy with modern fittings. Also the location is ideal for a short stroll to the centre of town. The only slight drawback was carrying heavy suitcases up 2 flights of stairs, as I have a dodgy hip, but that's just me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordbyron120, Manager at Lord Byron Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you again when you travel to Byron Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good basic motel accommodation in a quiet part of town ,room serviced daily, great location - easy walk to main restaurant ,shopping area ,beach ,friendly staff ,nice pool and BBQ area. Easy walk to lighthouse .

Room Tip: Overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked this because it was one of the few places in Byron providing overnight accommodation (most places have a minimum of 2 nights) which is what we were looking for. We had a motel room and while at nearly $200/night will buy you something quite nice in many places, here it's just a basic, reasonably appointed room. The pluses in the room were: microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle (we only used the kettle but still good to have these if you're staying a few nights), large 32inch plasma TV (again if you're staying a few nights might be nice to have a night in watching movies), large, clean and fairly modern bathroom. The room minuses were: bed was rather lumpy (but often the case in these kinds of places), all the crockery/cutlery was dirty, there was a very strong and slightly off-putting floral smell - carpet deodorizer?

The resort features some good amenities - tennis court, pool, outside spa (tepid not hot), and something called a relaxation room with a heated spa and sauna (although apparently you need to book time in here).

Location: good - it seems quite far from the town center initially but it really isn't - less than a 10min stroll to the main hub.

Service: was pretty poor to be honest, when we arrived the woman on duty just walked up to the counter and said hello (no welcome or anything), as she was processing our room, my partner requested if possible, for us to be placed away from the street side and she just completely ignored him?! When she handed our key and told us where to go, she provided no information on the resorts features and amenities - we found these by ourselves which we thought was a bit odd. As it turned out we did have a quiet room so that was good, but a little more interaction would have been nice! Still I guess you're not paying for the service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordbyron120, Manager at Lord Byron Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thankyou for your review, for overnight accommodation we are very reasonably priced for Byron Bay. With our spa and sauna room we do ask guests to book a time so they can have it to themselves. With the request for a back room we do get asked for this sometimes and allways if we can do comply with the request, I am sure your partner was not ignored the receptionist must not have heard the request.
We have all of our resort features and facilities in the guest welcome book in all rooms.
I apoligize if you thought there was not enough interaction and have taken this advise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was clean and spacious but it was the customer service that let them down for us. The apartment was very dark inside -maybe that is just Australia because of the heat but it felt unwelcoming to me. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordbyron120, Manager at Lord Byron Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We apologize if you did not enjoy yoour stay with us and if our staff were not very welcoming we allways do try to make our guests feel more welcome.
The apartments have large glass doors and windows and are very spacious I am not sure why you thought they were dark and have a lot of natural light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel a few times. We find it convenient and handy to cafes and shops. Just a short walk to the beach. Reception friendly and rooms have all you need. Reasonable rates.
The rooms facing the road are rather noisy with the traffic but the rooms facing the pool are much quieter.

Room Tip: See notes above about rooms facing the noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed 2 bedroom apartment. Very spacious. Plenty of crockery and cutlery etc for four adults. Clean and fluffy towels. A little noisy on the Friday night but the Saturday night okay. Five minute walk to shopping centre and restaurants. On check-in, the girl on the front desk was very friendly and helpful. No lift but our apartment was within easy access up two flights of stairs. Bit of exercise. Overall, it suited our needs and the price was right.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Byron Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Byron Resort

Address: 120 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Byron Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Byron Resort, located in the heart of Byron Bay. We a offer relaxed and comfortable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Lord Byron Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Byron Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Byron Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.