We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Byron Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Byron Resort to your Saves list
Lord Byron Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   120 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Byron Bay
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for an overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked this because it was one of the few places in Byron providing overnight accommodation (most places have a minimum of 2 nights) which is what we were looking for. We had a motel room and while at nearly $200/night will buy you something quite nice in many places, here it's just a basic, reasonably appointed room. The pluses in the room were: microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle (we only used the kettle but still good to have these if you're staying a few nights), large 32inch plasma TV (again if you're staying a few nights might be nice to have a night in watching movies), large, clean and fairly modern bathroom. The room minuses were: bed was rather lumpy (but often the case in these kinds of places), all the crockery/cutlery was dirty, there was a very strong and slightly off-putting floral smell - carpet deodorizer?

The resort features some good amenities - tennis court, pool, outside spa (tepid not hot), and something called a relaxation room with a heated spa and sauna (although apparently you need to book time in here).

Location: good - it seems quite far from the town center initially but it really isn't - less than a 10min stroll to the main hub.

Service: was pretty poor to be honest, when we arrived the woman on duty just walked up to the counter and said hello (no welcome or anything), as she was processing our room, my partner requested if possible, for us to be placed away from the street side and she just completely ignored him?! When she handed our key and told us where to go, she provided no information on the resorts features and amenities - we found these by ourselves which we thought was a bit odd. As it turned out we did have a quiet room so that was good, but a little more interaction would have been nice! Still I guess you're not paying for the service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordbyron120, Manager at Lord Byron Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thankyou for your review, for overnight accommodation we are very reasonably priced for Byron Bay. With our spa and sauna room we do ask guests to book a time so they can have it to themselves. With the request for a back room we do get asked for this sometimes and allways if we can do comply with the request, I am sure your partner was not ignored the receptionist must not have heard the request.
We have all of our resort features and facilities in the guest welcome book in all rooms.
I apoligize if you thought there was not enough interaction and have taken this advise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    75
    66
    15
    13
See reviews for
26
85
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was clean and spacious but it was the customer service that let them down for us. The apartment was very dark inside -maybe that is just Australia because of the heat but it felt unwelcoming to me. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordbyron120, Manager at Lord Byron Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We apologize if you did not enjoy yoour stay with us and if our staff were not very welcoming we allways do try to make our guests feel more welcome.
The apartments have large glass doors and windows and are very spacious I am not sure why you thought they were dark and have a lot of natural light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel a few times. We find it convenient and handy to cafes and shops. Just a short walk to the beach. Reception friendly and rooms have all you need. Reasonable rates.
The rooms facing the road are rather noisy with the traffic but the rooms facing the pool are much quieter.

Room Tip: See notes above about rooms facing the noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed 2 bedroom apartment. Very spacious. Plenty of crockery and cutlery etc for four adults. Clean and fluffy towels. A little noisy on the Friday night but the Saturday night okay. Five minute walk to shopping centre and restaurants. On check-in, the girl on the front desk was very friendly and helpful. No lift but our apartment was within easy access up two flights of stairs. Bit of exercise. Overall, it suited our needs and the price was right.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varsity Lakes, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed there with a friend for two nights. Everything was OK but I just felt that for the money ($170/night) we could have expected a little more, maybe a brekky. Still, the location is good, the center of Byron Bay as well as the beach are not far away!
I really enjoyed the pool, as well as the tennis court (needs some renovation..)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Motel plenty of parking. Quiet.
2 floors, small balcony overlooking main road & car park.
Fair size bedroom limited storage space, a/c & fan.
Room safe. Microwave, kettle & toaster but hardly any utensils of cutlery.
Tea, coffee & limited toiletries.
Free beach/pool towels provided.
Small pool & sun deck with spa.
Clean, daily maid service.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money. Have always found the rooms to be clean and tidy, staff are friendly. Hotel is close to centre of town.. Only a 5 min walk to anything u need. Have stayed there few times now- highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#9 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#2 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolphins
Dolphins
#10 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
0.8 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
0.3 mi away
Byron Bay Side Central Motel
Byron Bay Side Central Motel
#23 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Byron Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Byron Resort

Address: 120 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Byron Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Byron Resort, located in the heart of Byron Bay. We a offer relaxed and comfortable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lord Byron Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Byron Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Byron Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.