We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HANDY TO EVERYTHING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Byron Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Byron Resort to your Saves list
Lord Byron Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   120 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Byron Bay
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“HANDY TO EVERYTHING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a two bedroom apartment as my daughter and granddaughter where with us, the best thing to get if you plan a few days stay, plenty of room, main bedroom has en suit and there is a washing machine and dryer in the main bathroom. Plenty of places to eat or buy your own food just a few doors away at woolworths and cook it back at your apartment. It has everyhitng you need.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordbyron120, Manager at Lord Byron Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thankyou for your review and look forward to seeing back one day again in near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    73
    61
    15
    13
See reviews for
20
83
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The room was spacious and clean with a large bathroom. I really enjoyed having a balcony. The hotel was within walking distance to the beach, national park, and downtown area. The internet was touch and go at times, but overall it was a great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordbyron120, Manager at Lord Byron Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thankyou for your review we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We are very gratefull for the time taken to write your review and look forward to
welcoming you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

It sounds a hell of a lot nicer by it's name than the property suggests. Not exactly a resort. More like my last resort! Sorry bit too harsh again! :)

This property has no elevators so make sure you don't bring heavy luggage. The room we had was tiny, dingy, dirty and generally sub standard.

No room service, shoddy reception, unusable wifi.

There is little to recommend here other than it's not too far a walk to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordbyron120, Manager at Lord Byron Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay at Lord Byron Resort.
Byron Bay does not have any high rise buildings so there is no real need for elevators.
We do not advertise that we offer room service for meals as there are many restaurants offering some great food in very close walking distance of our Resort.
We do offer the Motel rooms to cleaned serviced daily.
We have a three and half star standard rating which we have to keep to this standard.
Our rooms have been recently refurbish and thoughly cleanned.
Depending upon the weather sometimes with rain and storms our wireless internet can be a bit weak but normally the signal is strong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I liked this place, heated swimming pool was well received during April whilst I was there when some days weather wasn't that great. Jacuzzi & steam room werent bad either. Rooms were clean & tidy & town is only a short walk up the road. Would happily stay here again if I'm ever in Byron Bay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordbyron120, Manager at Lord Byron Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thankyou for review, we are happly to hear we made your stay with us at Lord Byron Resort a pleasant one. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

If you have the opportunity to choose a room overlooking the pool, i'd strongly recommend that, as the rooms overlooking the front carpark & road were very small and a bit outdated (from what we briefly experienced of them), and nothing like what you see in the photos. As for the facilities - the heated pool & surrounding tropical garden was a nice highlight, the tennis court was a plus, the bed & pillows were actually quite comfortable, the bathroom & shower was very good, the TV & bar fridge & air-con & ceiling fan were all good, and the instant coffee that they provided surprisingly wasn't undrinkable! As for the staff - they were always helpful and accommodating to our requests, and the cleaning crew were always visible each morning, and appeared to do a good job. As for the motel's location - it was really convenient, not too close to town, but close enough to avoid driving anywhere - only a 5 minute walk if you needed anything from the local supermarket, a 10-15 minute walk to the city centre for restaurants / shopping / etc, or a 20 minute walk to the nearest beach. On one side of the motel is a cafe (who make some lovely gourmet sandwiches), next to that is the local RSL (who have some nice meals at good prices) - on the other side of the motel is the local cinema (2 minutes walk), plus the fantastic Legend Pizza (6 minutes walk). My only real negative aspect about Lord Byron Resort, would be that the room's sound-proofing isn't that great at times - sometimes you can clearly hear people walking around on the tiled floors above you, and you can occasionally hear other people's balcony doors sliding open and closed during the day. Fortunately it was quiet enough at night, although we visited during off-peak season (without many other guests staying), so hard to say if these ambient sounds would be more evident during peak season. The price and value for money wasn't too bad considering, although we since found a few cheaper places (further away from town) that are possibly even larger and nicer. But that said, we would love to come back to Byron Bay, and would probably stay here again, and would definitely recommend it to anyone if you can get a good deal.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are much more modern and larger than rooms overlooking the front carpark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordbyron120, Manager at Lord Byron Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thankyou for your review. We are please you enjoyed your time at Lord Byron Resort and Byron Bay. All our rooms have been refurbished recently. The rooms on the first floor are more suitable for 3 people but all rooms are much the same size and have the same fitting and furniture. We look forward to seeing you back in Byron Bay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

It was the chepeast, cleanist [as dipicted on their website] accomodation available, also no schoolies allowed. Now when we read the reivews some where saying the place was dated others say their room was fine, so we had to take the chance and when we got there, we found out why there were mixed reviews. The staff firstly was ok friendly enough almost as if they didn't want to be there, however start asking them a few Q's and A's and they warm up to you. So we got a room on the top floor, walked in thought OMG very small. Tiles have some spec in grain makes the floor look dirty but it wasn't. Bathroom very dated aliminium shower laminate vanity, we were facing the roadside and you can hear the traffic when the sliding door was closed. Crappy pine table and chair with kettle and toaster on top, very small room, was not happy. So we dediced we'll just go for a dip in the pool, water heated absolutely beautiful, beach towels are provided at reception, cooled down and decided we are going to request another room with a pool side view. Reception did have one available however was on the first floow. Walked in and OMG completely different. A lot more roomier with a couch, a lot more modern decor and fittings. Shower pressure was amazing could stay in it all day. So there you have it some of their room have been renovated others havent. Otherwise i would definately stay there again relatively cheap we got 4 nights for $490 on Wotif. It's bloody local literally a hop, skip and jump away from local shops, resturant and entertainment. Local beach a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordbyron120, Manager at Lord Byron Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thankyou for writing a review We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do undertstand that somethimes there is some street noise. Our roms on the first floor a slightly larger than the second floor that is so they can accommadate extra guests.
All our rooms have been refurbished with new fittings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is a strong 3 star motel. The rooms were clean, fresh and the staff was very helpful and friendly. It's located about a 5 minute walk from the main drag and 15 from the beach. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Byron Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Byron Resort

Address: 120 Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Byron Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Byron Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Byron Resort, located in the heart of Byron Bay. We a offer relaxed and comfortable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lord Byron Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Byron Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Byron Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.