We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities not a great experience ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge to your Saves list
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Skinners Shoot Rd | Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good facilities not a great experience ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place has practically everything you could want, pool, spa, cafe, bar, volleyball, pool table, table tennis, free activities, cheap eats, decent beds and a kitchen... that's kind of where our bad experience began, there are four big double industrial style fridges all of then where packed and most of the doors couldn't close as they were so full but we found some space and had a bit of a shuffle of the whole fridge so the door would close. When we went back the next night to cook found the fridges weren't plugged in as some people decided their iPhones needed the power points more.
We also felt as tho it would be a good Place for large groups or singles but as a couple we felt most people turned a cold shoulder when we tried to get involved in anything.
The girl on the front desk for most of our three days was just rude the whole time, she was obviously working for board but man her attitude was enough to put me off staying there fortunately she didn't check us in or I probably would have gone elsewhere.
We felt most byron bay locals we met were amongst the most judgemental people we have come across in our travels, something that doesn't really work in a tourist destination, crossing roads and having people yelling f*uck off tourists from passing cars isn't what you expect from a sleepy beach town but there you go. The staff in the hostel seemed much more interested in helping their friends then helping the general guests.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi Harvey, thanks for taking the time to write a review. I have some good news - we have extra fridge space in place and have taped off the power points so only the fridges plug in and not re-charge for guests to use! This is since you wrote your review. We do not have any staff in reception working for board, they are fully paid staff, so I will see what is going on there (maybe a student though, sorry to say). I am sorry to hear of your general woe's with Byron Bay at large, and I will pass them on to other operators and groups I am involved with in the community. I do understand what you are saying, as I experienced the same thing while travelling in Europe recently.Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    74
    50
    32
    34
See reviews for
2
54
56
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very cool hostle in a very cool town I would stay here again. We stayed in the covered wagon looking tents on the boardwalk and the accommodation was comfortable. Lots of animals around which are cool to look at, just don't let them steal your lunch. This place has a very laid back hippie type atmosphere. Very very neat place. Has a pool, I only had breakfasts there but the banana pancakes were yummy. A bit of a walk to town but it's not unreasonable and there's shuttles every 10 minutes after 10pm to avoid disrupting the locals.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to write a review Sara! So glad you enjoyed your yummy experience, the wild life and your accommodation! Happy travels :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hostel for about 3 weeks, staying in our campervan in the carpark so can't really comment on the rooms but the communal areas were always clean and tidy. Kitchen was often filthy though. Its a bit far from town but they run a free shuttle bus. Staying in the carpark was pretty expensive for what it was, $15pppn. Wifi was very slow. Nice chilled out atmosphere, friendly helpful staff, especially Jasper and Cockatoo Paul.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Aimeejessicax - I love your review! Yes, it is really bad luck to get hard by s storm, but so glad to hear Craig and Jasper helped you out - big shout out to these staff! You sounded like you really enjoyed the Arts Factory and get what we are about - please come back and spend some time with us! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really chill vibe, definitely lived up to the hype. If your in Byron def worth a visit. Will be back for sure. Great social scene.


Was a bit of a walk to town, but bus eased the pain :). Teepee was wicked.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Jrobz - love your work! Thanks for the review, please come say hi next time you stay! Happy travels :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I think we was really unlucky at the arts factory. Originally we booked in for a small teepee, which was great until a storm hit. We was out in town and arrived home at 2.30 am to everything flooded. Clothes, backpack, electrical, even the mattress was soaked through, we were eventually moved after the second complaint we made. The first time we spoke to the reciptionist we was told it would be sorted out in the morning. So we was in an island retreat room for the next two nights, which was lovely. The next morning Craig couldn't of been more helpful and then hostel clean and dry all our clothes free of charge. Jasper was helpful too when ever we needed help. The bush walk here with cockatoo Paul is great. It's in the grounds of the hostel, he gets you eating plants and flowers, throwing spears and then finishes off in the pub having a beer. The talent show is pretty amazing here, think maybe it's on a Tuesday.
We also booked in for the Pentagon. All girls and lovely bunk beds, probably the first time I've been happy to be on a top bunk. The beds are sturdy and it's right by the lake. The hostel are very strict on their 2 pm check in, travelling around Australia we have 9 times out of 10 been allowed to check in early, so be aware of that if your arrive there early am like we did. The shuttle bus runs into town every hour which is really helpful and every 10 minutes from 10pm till 4 am. Which is very handy when your finished drinkingin town. It can be a really dark creepy walk otherwise. There is a cafe in the hostel with reasonable priced food, Spag bol, curry, salads and the smoothies are amazing. The grounds surrounding the hostel is lovely, lots of nature, spiders, lizards, snakes etc. nothing dangerous just exciting and fun.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Aimeejessicax - I love your review! Yes, it is really bad luck to get hard by s storm, but so glad to hear Craig and Jasper helped you out - big shout out to these staff! You sounded like you really enjoyed the Arts Factory and get what we are about - please come back and spend some time with us! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Really enjoyed my time at the Arts Factory. It is a bit out the way, but the hostel runs a bus at set times throughout the day, and also runs every 10 minutes between 10pm and 4am - this is a really nice touch! All staff I encountered were very helpful and friendly, especially the Scottish girl on reception.

The cafe is good value for money, and the brewery nearby is also great for grabbing dinner when you can't be bothered cooking. I also really liked the idea of hiring the pots and pans from reception and brining them back clean - you know you're going to get clean equipment which is definitely not guaranteed in every hostel.

Overall great experience, a little bit pricey to stay but no more expensive than the other hostels in Byron. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear FJD92, thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with the Arts Factory, we are pleased yoou enjoyed the experience! Happy travels :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

We wanted to stay at the Arts Factory for many reasons - The Inbetweeners 2, the fact people had recommended it, the teepees and huts. This review isn't completely negative, it is a really cool and laid back place, the food is great and Doug, the bus driver is fab! However....

We paid for it in a package but were shocked to find it is around the $36 p/night mark. I wouldn't mind, if it were worth it. The rooms are cramped, there is no room for your bags and the Island Retreat Huts (where we stayed) are pretty far away from toilets - annoying in the mdidle of the night on a barely lit walkway. They are also really damp, a few people had to get their sheets changed.

Secondly, the reception staff are RUDE (minus Ben) - they were very unhelpful on the occasion when I had some clothing stolen, and when we asked them general questions they looked as if you've asked them the hardest question on earth.

Other than this, it is worth staying here a couple of nights for the experience, but then move to a more central, freindly hostel!

Room Tip: The dorm rooms around the pool are more worth your money. Or a less cramped island retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi B S, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. The 8 share island retreats are our cheapest, as they are a bit away from the bathrooms and a bit cramped. You are right in saying the more expensive one's closer to the main hostel are more comfortable. Might I add, our room rates are the same as other hostels in Byron, it is expensive because it is popular. I am glad to hear that overall it wasn't a bad experience. Happy travels :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Address: Skinners Shoot Rd | Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arts Factory Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.