We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge to your Saves list
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Skinners Shoot Rd | Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed here in a camper van and used everything there. Kitchen clean, bathroom clean, showers abit rubbish. $6 meal were vile but what to expect for that price. Great location. Friendly staff. Would stay a

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtsFactoryByronBay, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Les, thanks for your great comments. I will tell the cafe that their meals are vile, and see if they lift their game! Happy travels! From the Arts Factory crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    74
    50
    32
    34
See reviews for
2
54
56
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had booked my room for 7 days and paid half, with an agreement that I will pay for the other half later on. Due to some confusion with the dates, I was in Nimbin when the next instalment on my rent was due at 11am. I explained over the phone that I was in Nimbin and would return at 6pm to pay the rest of the rent...I was on a Nimbin tour so couldnt exactly hurry back!
I returned to find that the reception staff had put all of my possessions in the black bag and dumped it in reception like a piece of trash. I was absolutely disgusted. When I tried to confront the young receptionist, she hid like a stupid child and wouldnt answer my questions. Then I was able to speak to her "Manager" who was equally as rude. She explained that the hostel was "full" but that was rubbish as I had been staying in a half-full dormitory for the last few days plus I had already spoken to them on the phone about being stuck in Nimbin. There was no apology for doing that to my things. I am not a high maintenance person or someone that gets bothered easily but this treatment really upset me and I was LIVID.
I came to Arts Factory as a teenager in 2003, it was a great place - hedonistic, beautiful and hippy. After all these years, I dont know whats happened. This place has changed beyond recognition - Gone is the hedonism and replaced with rude staff, drunk, loud idiots and pure over commercialisation, I guess thats Byron Bay in general though. The Hippy days are over here, wish Id never come back!

Room Tip: Avoid the tents and wigwams - you will sweat like hell and have the worst sleep ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtsFactoryByronBay, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
I am sorry to hear you had such a bad experience at the Arts Factory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Byron bay - Arts factory
Date of stay: 22/04/2013 - 01/04/2013
Dorm: 6 bed mixed / $25 per night
Deposit: Passport or $20
Overall: 8/10

Arts factory was one of my favourite hostels to stay in, but I don't think it is for everyone. They have a very relaxed atmosphere which isn't for everyone. The hostel is based on 5 acres of land with a lake in the middle & surrounded by trees.

The hostel is very relaxed & is mainly younger people. They have great entertainment & a lot of people will stay in the common area is really nice . As a solo traveller I found it very easy to meet people.

The rooms were nice & relatively clean. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm & also a 10 bed wagon (big tent). The kitchen area was okay but not the best. You can also camp for $16/ night & people are always selling tents. The room I stayed in had wooden lockers but only 2 of the lockers in the room worked. There are also bigger lockers at reception that you need to pay for.

It's a 10 minute walk to the beach. They also have a shuttle that takes you to the town centre.

The hostel also sells food which was reasonably priced & good food. They also have really nice coffee !

If you want to relax & meet people than this is a good place to go.

Room Tip: If you want to save money camp, otherwise get a dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtsFactoryByronBay, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Tom, tahnsk for your review, it sounds like you had a pppositive experience, and this is a good thing. Fair call on the lockers, we will have to look at replacing them! Happy travels, best wishes from the Arts Factory team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have rented a Jucy camper van and stayed here with a special offer. We slept in the van on the car park like many others had done. The toilets and showers are very clean and the kitchen is surprisingly clean for the amount of people using it. What we did find was toy had to be in your 20's to stay there (fine since I'm 22) but if you don't drink to excess or smoke various substances you will become annoyed. That isn't the hostels fault that's the people staying there. I managed to poke my head around the door to one of the rooms and found they were only small and very basic. There are no plugs in the rooms so everyone congregates in the public area to charge phones and laptops, getting a plug is hard to come by so power up before you go if you can. I walked around the camping area and it looked like a festival, very cramped but they had cooking facilities which were also nice and the tents by the river looked like a mess i wouldn't stay in one even if you paid me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtsFactoryByronBay, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Dave,

Thanks for your review, overall it is pretty good. The camp ground is a scary plpace, and not for everyone. Glad to hear the kitchen and bathrooms were up to scratch! Best wishes from the Arts Factory crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were older travellers and owing to the high cost in Australia stayed mostly in Hostels. We were at this venue over Xmas (what a mistake). We were charged(already most expensive hostel) in GBP rather than AUD. Our room was a cell. Music was played on Xmas afternoon at extremely high volume, we were scorned when we asked for it to be lowered. Pool allowed glasses and bottles, also other guest jumped from 1st floor accom into pool. No H&S, someone likely to be badly injured here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I'm just being honest. If I'd wanted to camp, I'd have taken a tent and gone solo into the outback. I didn't though, and booking into this place turned out not to be a good idea. I love wildlife but I don't think the wildlife appreciated the screaming, midnight parties that went on every night. The place was dirty (and I mean 'unhygenic' dirty) and some of the staff were indifferent. I'd booked in 2 nights but only stayed for 1. 'Nuff said.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here for one night despite the fact that I had paid for two. Could not stand any longer in the dirty (disgusting) hole of a place. Got bit by bugs all night, the toilets and kitchen were like something from a horror film.

The people were not very friendly and the staff rude (they all look very peace and love but they are actually more fake and trying to portray a certain image image...maybe they think they are too cool)

Overall just makes you feel dirty.

I am not easily turned so negative but this place certainly did it!!!!!

Room Tip: Dont Go!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Address: Skinners Shoot Rd | Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arts Factory Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.