We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Beach Cafe

Byron Beach Cafe
Clarkes Beach, Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
(02) 6685 8400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 139 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Kilcoy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Great location, average service, terrible over priced food!! What a disappointing experience after the other great dining experiences we have had in Byron. I ordered the Bouillabaisse and thought it smelt terrible but didn't want to make a scene so I had four mouthfulls and left the rest lucky because for the next 24 hrs I was extremely ill. Very disappointing as we were staying just down the road and planned on eating at the cafe a lot. Totally unacceptable to serve off food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron B, Owner at Byron Beach Cafe, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We do welcome all feedback from customers on our business, both positive and negative. We genuinely take all these on-board but especially comments like yours which we take very, very seriously indeed.

As the owner, I want to apologise for not replying to you immediately when we became aware of this matter, following your comment being posted on TripAdvisor. Given the seriousness of the concerns raised in your review, we needed to first talk to our staff, Head Chef and seafood supplier in order to investigate this matter further.

After nearly 20 years of running high quality restaurants in Byron Bay, my wife and I take the responsibility for our guest's safety just as seriously as we do their enjoyment of our offering. Our reputation has been built on this supported by our talented, passionate staff and professional leadership team. Together we all work diligently to protect both of these essential aspects of our family's business.

Therefore this is not something we take at all lightly having investing so many years of unwavering commitment and gaining much experience along the way from this endeavour over such a long time.

We were therefore most disturbed to read that you believed your meal was not of an expectable standard or could possibly have contained ‘off’ seafood. My wife Belinda and I take great pride in creating award-winning food for all our guests and we use only the highest quality produce, with 90% of all our food sourced from the Northern Rivers.

However to be cautious to ensure other customers who would have eaten from this same batch of base (stock and vegetable broth before the fresh seafood is cooked then added to order) weren't effected also. Accordingly we have been back through our records and uncovered that we served over 267 Bouillabaisse dishes that week. While we received no other negative customer feedback either directly, online or via our customer feedback forms. We also identified 3 VIP Programme Members who dined that week and all had a Bouillabaisse on their bill. We contacted them and one had eaten it himself and was fine. The other two said their friend had the dish but would check and advise us if they had any problems in taste or reaction. We also spoke to our seafood supplier, who supplies over 80% of all Byron Bay restaurants and again they said they have had no reports of any customer illness.

We only offer these results as testament to our due-diligence in making sure other people weren't affected and we didn't have a serious issue to address. We are not outright rejecting the possibility of your illness being as result of a bad piece of seafood being in the dish which made you sick from only possibly four or so spoonful’s.

In terms of smell, Bouillabaisse does traditionally have a very pungent seafood aroma and this is what makes Bouillabaisse different from all other seafood soups and dishes. Some restaurants make their broth quite mild, however we prepare our dish in the authentic French style using a homemade prawn bisque, which is not to everyone’s taste. We would have loved the opportunity to have discussed your feedback in-person so we could have dealt with your concerns immediately by either replacing your dish or removing the charge from your bill.

We do sincerely apologise to you for your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the location and would like to offer you a personal invitation to dine with us again, free of charge. We are a business who prides itself on professionalism, personal service, great food and a fantastic dining experience. If this is of interest please call us on 02 6685 8445 or email enquiries@byronbeachcafe.com.au.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    73
    31
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holt, Norfolk
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Guys you have the best spot in town. Practically the only cafe with sea views, but you do need to up your game. We went for a breakfast meeting. Table was booked and we had good views of the ocean. The place was full of holiday makers so we locals were outnumbered. I ordered a tea prior to the arrival of my guests and it took 15 minutes to arrive. We ordered and the food arrived about 15/20 minutes later. My guest chose gravalax, but commented on how difficult it was to find the fish. There was plenty of rocket.....but where was the fish?. We ordered two more teas and again had to chase the wait staff. The food was fine but really no better than any cafe in Byron. We asked for ice to cool our water. That finally appeared after a second reminder. So $60 for two breakfasts. Was it worth it? If you havent been before, go for a coffee and cake. For me its a bit production based cuisine. Final comment - I do not want a wait person telling me that each dish we order "is perfect". Or "good choice". How about a bad choice? Is there such a thing?. Its like that hideous New York jewish comment in restaurants after they deliver your food - "enjoy". Well I hope I will, as thats the reason I came in the first place. Ease back guys. Take a look at yourselves and tighten a few things. There were plenty of staff and just 20 patrons do you were not busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor service & overpriced food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Overall disappointing given the price paid and service received. A staff error resulted in our 1 year old's kid's meal not being submitted to the kitchen. Half an hour after ordering we were advised or the error (no apology). Another 15 minutes later our son's meal arrived. Yay. No offer was made to reduce the bill amount, and we were charged $1.50 for a slice of bread for our son once we realized his meal was delayed. On the plus side, the $30 chicken pie was nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron B, Owner at Byron Beach Cafe, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our unreserved apology for the delay you had to experience with your son's meal and for not receiving an apology from the staff on the day. We agree that this is unacceptable. As with any complaint or feedback we receive, please be assured that we take this very seriously and have discussed your feedback with all our staff members. As a long standing and award-winning local business we pride ourselves on always striving to offer a friendly service to all our customers. Whilst we work very closely with our team to provide formal customer service training and dining procedures, we also understand that sometimes things can go wrong. We thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience so we can make every effort to ensure this does not happen again. We are glad that you found the chicken pie nice and we hope the rest of your meal was a success. We would like to offer you a personal invitation to dine with us again, free of charge. If this is of interest please call us on 02 6685 8445 or email enquiries@byronbeachcafe.com.au. We apologise again for any shortcoming in your experience and hope we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great ambience & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a wonderful place for Sunday brunch after a big night out! Started with a glass of French bubbles and that well and truly sorted the hair of the dog issue :)

Wine list is good and the food excellent.

Loved the laid back atmosphere; a great place to go with a few friends, you can hear the the waves crashing on the beach. The experience was memorable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigoldswil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Glorious place for morning coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Loved this busy little café for a morning coffee and snack before heading for the Lighthouse. I was sorry that I had already eaten as the food looked amazing. Will certainly go back when in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byron Beach Cafe also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to Byron Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.