We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best sushi in byron” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinoko Japanese Restaurant Byron Bay

Kinoko Japanese Restaurant Byron Bay
Feros Arcade | Cnr Lawson and Jonson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales NSW 2481, Australia
(02) 6680 9044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 135 restaurants in Byron Bay
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Mullumbimby, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best sushi in byron”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Kinoko is fresh, authentic, clean, quick, reasonably priced and they look after the locals with discounts on their meals. The food is great, its almost always busy and they're licensed. The only down side is it's a little cramped and all the seats inside are stools and the tables outside are also not very comfortable but the food makes it all worth it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    27
    26
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Addicted to the tempura salmon rolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Every time I go to Byron I have to make the pilgrimage to Kinoko for their tempura salmon rolls. I don't know what the heck they're called and I suspect they made them up to use up salmon offcuts, which they roll in sushi rice and nori and then dip in tempura batter, fry, cut in half and drizzle with Japanese mayo and sauce. They seem to be a signature dish and they are freaking delicious. You can tell they're going to come up when they turn a lot of the dish covers upside down on the train. I always swear I'll only eat one - they're very filling - and end up eating three and moaning about being too full afterwards.

The rest of the sushi train is also very good with an interesting range, and the a la carte dishes are great too, with a bit of a fusion-y edge, often inventive. We had the tuna skewers last time and they were delicious, as was the sashimi salad. They do get very busy at lunch, but they seem to be open most hours of the day with a well-stocked and fresh train at all times.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fresh and tasty sushi with fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

A bustling sushi restaurant in the heart of Byron Bay that lived up to my friend's high recommendation. Friendly staff ensured we were well looked after even when it was extremely busy. Seared tuna salad was a highlight together with the wide variety of fresh sushi on offer. I highly recommend this restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“better sushi here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Better choice of sushi here.Nice and fresh. Seems a bit more authentic than O Sushi. Better service here too. Look forward to another visit, as we had to rush off in time for our movie.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic. My favourite sushi restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Always busy. Patiently wait for the gluten free options to come around on the train, but that gives me time to enjoy the vibe of the place. Miso soup and tea are great. Staff, though busy and rushed during lunchtime, are always friendly and hospitable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinoko Japanese Restaurant Byron Bay also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to Kinoko Japanese Restaurant Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinoko Japanese Restaurant Byron Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.