We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An institution in Byron Bay, food is always beautiful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cyprus Tree

The Cyprus Tree
4 Bay Lane | Located Next to the Stairs Under the Tree, Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
+61 2 6680 8202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 139 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Price range: $8 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Byron Bay's Greek Cypriot Influenced Restaurant located in Bay Lane beside the Beach Hotel. Experience a great atmosphere and amazing food in a BYO and Alfresco Dining experience.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An institution in Byron Bay, food is always beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Have been dining here for 20 plus years. Even on a busy night the service is prompt and friendly. The seafood is exceptional, as are the platters. This restaurant is my favorite in Byron.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanKeevers, Manager at The Cyprus Tree, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you Damien!

We really appreciate your comments and we love when you visit. Remember to say hello next time you're here! Thanks again!!!

:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    25
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“My favourite dinner in the bay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

By far this is my favourite meal in byron. Several times a year my friends and I dine at the Cyprus Tree and are never disappointed. A have a particular low carb diet and there is a huge selection that I can chose from, but I usually always go for the platters. They are to die for!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanKeevers, Manager at The Cyprus Tree, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you Kristene,

Thanks for coming the other night! I hope you had a great Birthday! Thanks again for the Review.

:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood and platters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

love this place, the platters, entrees and seafood are so good. I would recommend any seafood dish and both the platters

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanKeevers, Manager at The Cyprus Tree, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you Tahlyn!!

We really appreciate your comments and would love to have you back anytime.

Karli Orexi!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“A little disappointed ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Went early on a Friday night.
Everyone was a little disappointed.
Not much flavour in all meals. Bland would be the best description
The lamb shanks, the sauce, please!
A little on the dry side as was everything. We expected a lot more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendanKeevers, Manager at The Cyprus Tree, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hi There,

Thanks for your feedback, as we discussed we would love to have you back sometime for you to experience an amazing experience in our restaurant. Be sure to contact us if you're back in the bay and we'll compliment you on your visit as we value your feedback.

Your experience is not up to our standard at all and we like all diners to have an amazing dinner. Please consider us next time you are in the Bay area to get the full flavor experience.

thanks, we really do appreciate your feedback! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Had a lovely dinner here of lobster, Australian prawns and lamb skewers. All had a delicious smoky char-grilled flavour and the lobster portion was excellent. Very good value and BYO as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cyprus Tree also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to The Cyprus Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cyprus Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.