We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aabi's at Byron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aabi's at Byron to your Saves list
Aabi's at Byron
17 Ruskin Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 3481, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My partner and i stayed for 2 nights and had an amazing time.
We have stayed at the other property Aarons prior and thought we would give this one a go.
The spa and pool is very relaxing and the rooms are modern and a lot of thought has been put into the design.
Was well worth it and definitely would come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
60
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights, and loved it.
It's has the most facilities to make your stay easy and enjoyable of all the places I've stayed. As well as the normal things you'd expect (tea and coffee, fridge etc), there was well connected free wifi, a fully equipped inside AND outside kitchen including bbq and proper coffee machine- all free to use. It was really great to have all the benefits of staying at home, or in a apartment.

And all this on top of the very luxurious room and spaceage shower!
Everyone was really friendly and very helpful, all in all, fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the mountains
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have never reviewed any place i have stayed before but after staying here how could i not.
Stayed for a week very comfortably and enjoyed every minute of it.Situated with in an easy walk to town yet in a quiet resedential location. It has Brand new facilities, large room with a king bed, massive bathroom and a pool with a spa to boot. The owners are very friendly and laid back. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: A ground level room overlooking the pool area is the go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempsey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed at Aabis for a 3 day break. Wonderful new place with all the things you need. The kitchen and BBQ area are fully stocked and if you dont want to eat out you can cook using those facilities. The place is close enough to the town centre that you can walk everywhere inclduing the beach. Stayed in an upstairs room which has a verandah which was great for just sitting on during the afternoon and relaxing. Would recommend to anyone who just wants to get away and relax in a beut setting.

Room Tip: an upstairs room is quieter and with a verandah to relax on
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Took a short break to Byron with my girlfriend and stayed at Aabi's based on a friends recommendation. Fantastic little place, just outside of town so easy stroll into Byron but you also get away from all the noise at night. We stayed in an upstairs room which was fantastic, spacious, modern and very comfortable (balcony wasn't bad either). Also, as it's a guest house, a lot cheaper than some of the more up-market hotels in the area.

However, I had a few big issues with this place.

1. Minor one first, we stayed for 4 nights and our room wasn't cleaned once, plus we had to ask for new towels. I know it's a guest house and it does tell you this in the website (I only read this when I got home) but wouldn't hurt to drop in a few more towels every few days.

2. Far bigger issues though, when we checked out, the girl at the desk basically gave out to us about leaving the room in a mess (too much sand... in a beach town!!). I don't expect to be given out to when paying nearly $200 a night plus I don't expect to have to clean my own room before checking out (no one said anything to us about the state of the rooms upon check in). Left a really bad taste in our mouth on what should have been a great trip. Also, called them once we were home and spoke about the issue to give them a chance to respond, guy on the phone had a terrible attitude and went straight on the attack, very disappointing.

Overall, great place, great location but terrible customer service. If they lost the ego's, would be right up there in terms of Byron accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lani W, Manager at Aabi's at Byron, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
Unfortunately our cleaners had to spend an additional hour on top of the usual cleaning time to remove chewing gum, red wine stains and sand from our furniture and furnishings in the room.
Most properties would have charged an excess cleaning fee for this.
We chose however to have a fair and polite conversation with you regarding this matter we are sorry you were disappointed in this response. The rate per night was a special rate of $160.
Management at Aabis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Originally we had booked 2 nights here but we extended our stay for another night. A quiet and relaxing place to stay away from the busy streets. Overall it was great and here are the main reasons...

- Small enough to feel like you were the only people there
- Great modern design and very clean
- Friendly staff
- Great Communal Areas inc. Kitchen (with plates and cutlery), Summer House with BBQ, Swimming pool, Decking Area and Jacuzzi with a Roof (just in case it rains)
- Nicely decorated room with art on the wall from a local photographer
- Large bed and good size Hi Def TV (supports USB Hard drives)
- Secure parking

Some things to consider...

- This is a great place to stay for 2/3 days but any longer and would have been too expensive for us
- No breakfast provided but wasn't an issue for us as we just stocked up at the local supermarket
- Rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis so if you're staying for a week you might want to request for your room to be "freshened up"
- As a result of the above 2 comments, it's not a "hotel" but has more characteristics to a self-contain accommodation (with share facilities)
- No bath only a shower in our room (downstairs) - Didn't bother us though
- It's about 10 - 15 mins walk to the main part of Byron Bay and the beach so not right in the centre of the action. Again this wasn't a problem for us.
- Personally I feel this more suited to couples rather than families

Room Tip: If you want a downstairs room, request for one on the left side of the house. Better view of the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Aabi's for two nights in early February. We booked it last minute and scored a really good deal, about half the usual price. The facilities here are awesome -- the pool and jaccuzzi are resort-like and the shared kitchen/lounge areas, in fact all areas, are really modern and clean. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Stay here!

Room Tip: You can pay a bit more for an upper level room, but I wouldn't bother, both levels are great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aabi's at Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aabi's at Byron

Address: 17 Ruskin Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 3481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aabi's at Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aabi's at Byron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.