We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, venue lets it down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Petit Snail

The Petit Snail
5 Carlyle St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
+61 2 6685 8526
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 139 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Price range: $20 - $49
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional French Cuisine. All-French staff. Affordable French and Australian wine list. Fully licensed. Gift vouchers available.Vegetarian and gluten-free friendly. We hereby certify that ALL testimonies are genuine, unlike some of our competitors, who need to improve their rating, we have not bought testimonies from any dubious websites..
Brisbane
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great food, venue lets it down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We really enjoyed the food at The Petit Snail and the staff were great. We would certainly go back, but it is let down by its venue - small, and on the evening we went, very hot. I realise this is the risk with partly outdoor spaces, but it did impact on our enjoyment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    27
    18
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Lovely Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Gorgeous food, excellent staff, warm and friendly hostess. The duck was delicious and the snails very tasty. The French white wine I chose was so lovely, I had to ask for them to write down its name. We had a great night just as a couple, but will bring our son with us next time as there is a kid's menu too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hostess problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The food was good, not superb, not fantastic, but my scallops were very nice. My partner had the duck which was also good. Pate was tasty. Our waitress was nice, friendly. Well done to the Chef and staff it is hard work the restaurant business, I know. I am sorry to say the problem we had was the female owner, who at the outset seemed to dislike us. She was short with us when I pointed out to her that there was cigarette smoke wafting through the eating area from someone sitting upwind of the dining area. I wasn't able to make my point, and she got quite defensive. I was pretty shocked, as no reviews I saw mentioned anything similar. She also presented the bill in a rush, and I never actually saw it before she shoved the credit card machine in front of me. Time to go my partner and I thought. They also need a new premises, the dining area is like a cafe, I expected a bit more in terms of decor, paper napkins, cheap aluminium chairs, at $40 a main you need to have an dining experience beyond just the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalow, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Special, delightful, delicious and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

From the moment you arrive at this special, small restaurant you are transported out of Byron Bay and into France. The food is extremely delicious and the atmosphere wonderful , there is a extensive wine list and fine french wine to enjoy with your meals.
The Petit Snail is not a budget restaurant , it is an experience that one must have , it is such fun to visit , because it is a small restaurant, you are treated like part of the family and welcomed so warmly.
Don't miss an opportunity to go to the Petit Snail!
Make it a special night out !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A bit for Paris in Byron”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Its obvious this delightful little French restaurant is run by the owners, as the service is immediately attentive, friendly and professional. A couple of complimentary olives as a small starter usually accompany your first drink. If you are dieting this is probably not the place to go, as butter is the friend of French chefs, but all the meals we've tried there have been delectable. They offer French wine selection, however you can still BYO. Probably one of the best restaurants in Byron, especially for special occasions when you don't want any disappointments.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igor A, Owner at The Petit Snail, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear ByronVIP Travel,

thank you so much for your beautiful testimony. We pride ourselves on our service 'à la Française" and our food is prepared from local, organic and mostly home grown produce in the traditional French style. Although we do of course use butter, and various types of oils, these are NEVER cooked and therefore much less harmful. We do not even have a deep fryer in the kitchen...
As a rule we have not accepted BYO for more that 4 years, but trust the French, rules are meant to be occasionally broken ! And I think that on the night you came you were not aware of the change and this is the reason why you were allowed to BYO ! But as we now keep a wide range of French and Australian wines, BYO is definitely not an option anymore.
Hoping to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Petit Snail also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to The Petit Snail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Petit Snail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.