We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Petit Snail

The Petit Snail
5 Carlyle St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
+61 2 6685 8526
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 139 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Price range: $20 - $49
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional French Cuisine. All-French staff. Affordable French and Australian wine list. Fully licensed. Gift vouchers available.Vegetarian and gluten-free friendly. We hereby certify that ALL testimonies are genuine, unlike some of our competitors, who need to improve their rating, we have not bought testimonies from any dubious websites..
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I'd have to say this was one of the better meals I've had. From the time we walked in until we left we had a GREAT time. Did the Big 3 and it didn't disappoint. Snails, onion soup & duck.

No doubt we'll be back and if anyone loves true authentic French food without all the la de da then this is your spot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    27
    18
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wasnt our Cup of Tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have "Foodie" friends who insisted we went to this restaurant, and they love it! They were there late one night and the owners sat with them and had drinks and had a wonderful time. We probably werent in the right mood for kind of Service provided. We only went once the food and experience here wasnt memorable for us but we are not lovers of French Food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“oh la la!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Best dinning experience ever, the staff were adorable!! the food was amazing and the cute waitor was simply the best part of the meal hehehe! Highly reccomend this restaurant for people who love french cuisine and like to experiment great wines.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Viva La France!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

You cannot beat the warm welcome. The menu included the best of what Aussies would know of French food. Were sorry for other diners who were looking forward to Steak Tartare but I am grateful I received the one order available but there were other delectible delights to tempt you. If you are going to Byron book in advance. If you want Coq au vin, steak tartare tell them so you are not disappointed. The beverage list was sensational. The hospitality is just lovely and the staff and owners are special people. Entrees around $18, mains average $35-$40. Would go back again given the opportunity.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best dining experiences ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great service, excellent food, and a lovely selection of wines.

The owners are friendly, and all of the staff make you feel so welcome.

I strongly recommend the coq au vin; it's delicious!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Petit Snail also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to The Petit Snail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Petit Snail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.