We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cape Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Cape Beach House to your Saves list
The Cape Beach House
94 Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We spent 5 nights at the Cape Beach House and WE LOVE that place and the great host Katie!!! We're from Germany but we are thinking about a flight back to Byron Bay, only to stay in the Cape Beach... Not cheap, but worth every Dollar... Away from the crowds, 5 minutes to the beach and a homemade Oatmeal from Katie. We missed that since we're back in Berlin! Greetings from Berlin to Katie & the Cape Beach, Johanna & Sven.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
178
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mittagong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We have been lucky enough to stay at The Cape Beach House a couple of times now and it is absolutely perfect! Simplistic Byron Bay beach chic combined with an ideal location to the beach and the town itself make it even more relaxing. Guests appear seemingly like minded and Katie makes you feel instantly at home on arrival and during a delicious brekkie with her famous in house toasted muesli. Yum! I so look forward to being back there again...and soon I hope. A definite Byron Bay must. Makes me want to move there!
xoRosie

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We found this gem when we went to Byron recently after staying at many places nearby over the past 25 years. Cape Beach House is delightful with friendly hosts (and guests!), lovely healthy breakfasts, simple chic rooms, beach'y ambience, great walks to the Lighthouse and restaurants, and only 2 minutes to the beach. We have booked in again for next year.

Room Tip: The front room with the northern sunlight is the best. But all are lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The rooms are fresh and clean - nice and simple. Nothing complicated. The beach is right across the road and you are only 15 minutes walk from the centre of town. This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at the Cape Beach House and we have every intention of returning next year.

Why do we come back? Because the rooms are nice, and the internet is included, and the rates are reasonable....and because Katie makes us a lovely breakfast each morning.

I would not hesitate to recommend it. Enjoy ;)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The Beach House is the best place we have stayed in Byron Bay, having been visitors to this area for 10 years. Wonderful hosts, friendly, relaxing atmosphere, and great amenities. Only minutes walk to Clarkes Beach, cafes and of course the lighthouse walk....perfect! We have booked for next year already.

Room Tip: We love the front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We came across The Cape Beach House totally by accident and I just wish I had more accidents like this. The room was lovely and although it wasn't much to rave about, why would you want to spend loads of time in there when you are made to feel at home in the communal area and you are within skipping distance of the beach? Katie makes the place feel like a home away from home and, as an example, what was supposed to be a quick breakfast on our last day turned into a two hour gossip session with a couple of other people staying. The beach is amazingly close and the town centre is 10 minutes walk away. It's lovely and quiet too at that end of town, so you really do feel like you've had a relaxing time when you leave. I would highly recommend anyone comes here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We found our way to the Cape Beach House and we were blown away by Katie's friendliness and warmth. Th walk to the beach is 2minutes and Katie gave me an excellent recommendation to a local surf company. Th breakfast is fabulous with the muesli being out of this world. I will absolutely stay here again when I next visit :)
Michael & Michael x

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cape Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cape Beach House

Address: 94 Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Cape Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cape Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.