We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet rustic B&B with a really delicious breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burns at Byron

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Burns at Byron to your Saves list
Burns at Byron
14 Burns Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Sweet rustic B&B with a really delicious breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This place was so gorgeous, I'd move in in a heartbeat. The hostess was amiable and accommodating, polite and made the stay easy and enjoyable. The rooms are quaint and really pretty. The breakfasts were completely delicious too. Highly recommend it, great value for money. Privacy is always a draw back at staying in a B&B as opposed to a hotel, but that's just a natural draw back for these kinds of properties. Burns can't be faulted. It is a five minute walk to the town centre and the beach but this didn't bother me. If you're a single girl travelling, it might be a bit suss wandering out after dark through the train tracks etc...but then maybe I just like to be cautious. If I stayed alone I'd stay somewhere a little closer to the main centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Münchenbuchsee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed for 4 nights in the Ginger Appartment. We loved it and we would like to have stayed longer there. Our best place and we stayed in Australia for 4 weeks now. Wonderful appartment and great garden with a nice shower and superbe BBQ. The owner Hillary was very friendly and Byron Bay is just a great place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I spent 9 days before, during and after Christmas 2013 in Byron Bay. Initially we thought we would have to stay in two places just to get accommodation but Hilary at Burns at Byron managed to fit us in for a full 8 nights in a beautiful room with share-bathroom. The back deck became our favorite area to laze about, read a book, or let the hours pass by. There are two wonderful day-lounges with cover from the tropical sun.
Breakfast was to die for, Hilary is a chef and her breakfasts were both heavenly and beautifully presented - there was so much of everything - fresh fruit, breads, cereals, yoghurt, tea, coffee, the list goes on. It really set us up every day for another amazing experience in Byron Bay.
As for the location, it's close to town, just a 2 minute walk. It's so close to the Bus stop for travelers, and once settled you just walk across the old railway tracks and you're in the centre of town, close to supermarkets, cafe's, pubs, restaurants... it's all so close and so easy.
The beach is just a few hundred meters up the road and as always Byron seems to have an amazing feeling of freedom, free spirit and love for a good life. DO NOT bypass Byron Bay if you plan to travel down the East coast of Australia!!
Thanks Hilary for all your effort. We will be back again and again - in actual fact we would simply love to buy a place like Burns at Byron, it's pure heaven on earth.
Oh, and the best part is the idyllic outside shower - perfect on a hot summer's day.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Perfect location for everything you'll need in Byron Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary B, Owner at Burns at Byron, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
It was lovely having you both here. Like having family home from away.
Look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed there for 1 week and it was too short. We were so happy in this house.
Thank you so much for this great holidays.
Good location, very nice house. We were two families with kids and it was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here back in September 2013. Stayed in the master room with en suite. This is a really charming B&B. The bed is massive and so comfrortable, the room is huge and really quiet. The outdoor patio and garden are stunning and have a really cool tropical outdoor shower and bath - if you so desire. Was really nice just chilling on the patio pre dinner having a beer with fellow guests. Really nice breakfast spread too. A wonderful and chilled stay. I'd highly recommend this place. It's about 5 mins walk into town- take the short cut across the disused railway track.

Room Tip: We had a sneak peak in some of the other rooms when they were open and they are charming but the mas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a perfect place to stay at Byron. Wonderful heritage house with beautiful furniture. We stayed in the library room with perfect bed and pillows. Hilary is the perfect host and makes you very much at home. Lovely gardens with outside shower / bath. Great breakfast to start the day and wish we were back there now. Will hopefully return next time in australia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just had a week at B on B in the fully self-contained Cottage. It was great, good value and so close to town. Hilary was great and made us feel very welcome. Will happily recommend. Pete & Linda, Melbourne.....Beachy Pub & Wategos Beach are a must

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Burns at Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burns at Byron

Address: 14 Burns Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Holiday Accommodation Burns at Byron B&B/ guesthouse exudes comfort and style. Set amongst stunning tropical gardens it offers four luxuriously appointed bedrooms. The Sari room and Kimono rooms are spacious queen/dbl bedrooms with beautiful furnishings. These two rooms share one and a half bathrooms. There is a clawfoot tub, tiled shower and a huge antique mirror. The Library Ensuite is also a spacious queen/dbl bedroom; this one has an impressive library in it as well as a private bathroom. The Master Ensuite has it all, a four poster King bed, lounge area, French doors leading out to the verandah and a private bath. Ideal for the perfect holiday for families, romantic getaways for couples or simply a bit of quiet relaxation on your own. Burns at Byron is also available for independent weekly/long weekend hire. Services as well as other pampering, have a massage on the deck, or a pedicure in the garden. Burns at Byron offers stylish and relaxed-comfortable holiday accommodations in a beautifully restored, heritage listed-Federation cottage.Your tariff will include a fresh breakfast featuring homemade muesli, juice, local fruits, breads and spreads and all day tea and coffee for you to help yourself to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Burns at Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burns at Byron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.