We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hibiscus Motel to your Saves list
Hibiscus Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   33 Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Byron Bay
Currumbin, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The staff are particularly warm and friendly, very helpful. When we had a concern we felt very comfortable approaching the staff. facilities were great too, everything we need, it is close to everything and right near the main strip... we will only every stay here when we go to Byron.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. It is lovely to hear from guests like you - it lets us know that we are heading in the right direction with our accommodation and customer service. We look forward to you coming to see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    23
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
28
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Magor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had not booked any accommodation before arriving in Byron Bay. The first motel was full but sent us to the Hibiscus. We were warmly welcomed by the owner and shown a room before deciding to stay. The room was bright and spotlessly clean.
The Hibiscus is quite central and you can easily walk everywhere from here.
It's an ideal base for a stopover and the owners are a lovely older couple who make you feel very welcome.
The only thing we could have wanted was more pillows for the bed. We used the cushions on the sofa but I'm sure the owners would have supplied more if we had asked..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to review Hibiscus Motel. We were away on leave when you stayed with us, but it sounds as though the couple that looked after Hibiscus Motel for us did a grand job. I will certainly pass on your message to them. I hope you come to stay with us again, so that Mark and I can meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We will always remember our time here in August 2013, because the new owner/manager made us feel so welcome
and all that was needed was in our very comfortable and clean studio unit. Smiling faces and jolly friendship are the
front door to a pleasant stay in the area, you people provide that. We so enjoyed the beaches, lighthouse,shops , and food and the mix of nationalities. If you wish to find the best in the way of information for a nude beach experience where you can drive within 100 metres of the water just ask at the desk, don,t be shy the maps there for
your help at our suggestion,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. We always try to welcome our guests and make them feel comfortable and at home. We love getting to know our guests and hearing their travel stories. Looking forward to you hopefully visiting us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed two nights. The room was clean and spacious and the location is good.

Unfortunately we were unable to log onto use the wireless internet and the owners were not comfortable with re starting their modem as they were unsure what we mean't.
I also made the mistake of asking for a coffee plunger. Apparently nobody uses them and no other motels supply them either.(don't know about that). I will therefore assume no other motels have bedside lamps or tables to eat off either. Or anywhere to hang swim suites,towels etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out to leave a review on TripAdvisor. Hibiscus Motel is certainly well located for the beach, cafes, bars and shops, and even a 'challenging' walk to the lighthouse.
I'm sorry that there were aspects of your stay that were unsatisfactory. We try to ensure our guests have as many 'home comforts' as possible. However we are only a small cosy motel, and nestled in just one street back from the beach, we do not have the space to be able to incorporate all aspects of a larger resort. It is our aim to provide clean, comfortable, friendly accommodation for overnight, or short term stays.
Our internet provider was changed recently, and we experienced some 'teething problems', but now have things running smoothly. As you mentioned, we do not have coffee plungers in the rooms, but we have taken your comments on board and in future will have one or two on hand for those guests that like to use a Plunger. Again, whilst space is at a premium, to give the rooms a more streamline, spacious and modern feel a bench and chairs is provided which can be used for eating. Modern spotlighting is installed in the ceilings above each bed to replace the need for bedside lamps. Whilst we do not have any clothes lines available to dry clothes, we are happy to provide clean, fresh towels daily, or indeed room service daily if requested.
I hope that you choose to visit us again, so that we can make your next stay more pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatswood, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

From the outside it looks like a 1970 motel, but the rooms are generous, well refurbished and has great self catering facilities (fridge, microwave and plates cutlery etc and a normal sized sink)
The new owners/managers where fantastic, so friendly and warm nothing was too much trouble, we had a sick son and they washed his clothes and porta cot sheets for us - will come back and stay for sure

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne T, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure looking after you during your stay with us at Hibiscus Motel. We look forward to you returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this motel for one night and were impressed with the renovated room. The motel is in a great location for the town centre. Only a couple of little niggles - the towels smelled a bit musty, like they'd been left damp for too long. Also the room could do with an information guide about how to use the AC, TV, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at the Hibiscus Motel in 2008 and at that time the beds were really old and smelled funny. The location however is great as it is super central. What's more, it did remind me of the typical 70s motels I used to stay at when I was young.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Motel

Address: 33 Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hibiscus Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.