We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stopover..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Motel

Save Saved
You added Hibiscus Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hibiscus Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   33 Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 hotels in Byron Bay
Midlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice stopover..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for Xmas day as was only in Byron for this day only and a nice little stay it was,

On checking in bronwyn the lady owner was very polite and gave us a lot of information about the area and even apologised as the room we were allocated was not yet renovated as they were renovating the place and ours was one if the last. On getting in to the room it was big and clean and yes maybe a little dated in parts however it was perfect for us. The shower was hot and the bed massive and comfy so a real bonus.

Location wise it was really good a 2 minute walk to the town centre/ beach so perfect location.

Lots of shops and restaurants close by along with a 24hr mini mart.

If I was staying in Byron again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here as good hosts, good location and very good value for money if on a budget.

Thanks bronwyn and John

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Hibiscus motel. We value the comments guests write as they help us to see if we are on the right track. The motel will continue being renovated at the end of February and this will bring all our rooms up to the next level.
Glad you both enjoyed staying here ,we wish you well with the rest of your travels and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hibiscus Motel was the first stop in our mini drive down the north NSW coast. The motel itself is clean and comfortable, although our toilet was a bit stinky - it looked clean, so not sure whether it was a plumbing problem? Check-in was friendly and helpful, with plenty of maps and suggestions for places to eat and walks/sights to take in. Had a very good night's sleep here too. For a one night stopover, it was ideal.

In terms of the entire range of accommodation in the market, this is probably down the list. But in terms of budget motels, it's spot on.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

It is a intimate, friendly and small motel just 3 min away from the beach. We stayed in a two bedrooms room, with a queen bed and two singles. Everything you need is in the kitchen, including a small fridge, microwave, kettle and cutlery. At a first sight Hibiscus motel could appear a bit scruffy, but it is very clean, as we saw the owners tiding up motel rooms very accurately! Reception area is extremely tiny but and plenty of tourist brochures!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennI
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Booked to stay at the Hibiscus Motel Byron bay after reading about it and was really disappointed.

Nothing much to write home about. A decent Motel , pretty cramped, small toilets, poorly ventilated unless you leave the main window or door open which faces the driveway. Its ok if you have to stay a night on an onward trip. Have to mention though that the staff are very helpful and courteous.

On the upside the location is fantastic within walking distance to the beach, shopping, restaurants etc. You do get to secure park your car right in front of the room and parking is free unlike most other places in Byron where you might have to pay.

Would not stay again though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent one night here during our trip through Australia. It is average motel and good for your money. We only spent a night here so it didn't bother me. I prefer to allocate my money into more important things than a pretty room in which I only sleep. Coming to Byron Bay was important.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a basic Motel from the 1970s and aging fast. The rooms are small and cramped. Maintenance is poor, the taps leak, the bathroom door does not close properly and the noisy aircon/heater vibrates annoyingly.This combined with the street noise will keep you up all night. There is no washing machine or a place to dry your clothes and you have to walk two blocks to the laundry.
In its favour the Motel has a friendly owner who is keen to make your stay comfortable. The location is good and you can walk to most places; Byron is a small place anyways.
You get what you pay for, so if the dollars matter to you then stay here, but, for one night only.
Enjoy Byron from several other worthy places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

The operators of the motel were very friendly and helpful. We (4 friends) were in town for a wedding and wanted a cheap but decent place to crash for the weekend. This place was great for the occasion. Less than 5 minute walk to the beach, the shops and the cafes.

None of us have any complaints at all. Yes it looks like an older style 70's motel and tacky decor... But that's what we were expecting. It's definitely not 5 star resort accommodation, but it is great value and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Hibiscus Motel. The motel often hosts guests who are in Byron Bay for weddings as we are in a very good location, close to popular wedding venues.
The motel is in the process of a face lift and this will be an ongoing process.
We look forward to seeing you again at The Hibiscus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Motel

Address: 33 Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hibiscus Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.