We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Bay Ballooning

Byron Bay Ballooning
Old Brunswick Road | Tyagarah Airfield, Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
1300 889 660
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“High”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A cold, early start for this one, but most definately worth it.
The staff on-site were very kind and informative.
Due to weather conditions, we drove for quite a long time to a launch site in the hinterland outside byron. Launching just before sunrise, it was a lovely trip towards the coast, landing in a field not too far away.
The pilot pointed out some interesting features in the landscape, as well as the house of a famous actor! The views over the hinterland were beautiful and the sunrise was a spectacularly warm delight
I was apprehensive of balloon travel to begin with, but the ride was smooth and the operator was confident.
The breakfast at the end was satisfactory and it added a nice touch to the experience

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    6
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A bucket list experience done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

It was a wet looking weekend, and I booked in for the Sunday flight, with my gf.
Friday looked like it would rain all weekend. Lui called about a possible Saturday flight, but we had plans already, then late Saturday, we were notified that Sunday may be good.
So 4 am we were readied, Andy picked us up and we whisked off into starry morning to the airport, where we signed in and then drive to the take off area. Thus was approx 40 mins, then we assisted the balloon inflation and up we went! Sun riding, gentle breeze... What an amazing hour in the sky!
Then on landing we assisted the packing up, and then 20 mind back to the airport...where a lovely breakfast was waiting
Organic sparkling, coffee , muffins, quiches, fruit... V nice after the early wake.
Overall a great day with great friendly team of Thomas, Lui, and Andy.
5-6 hrs of fun.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Another bucket-list item completed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This balloon flight was a 50th birthday gift for my husband. It was more for him than me (I was very apprehensive) but it couldn't have gone smoother. Lui was my first point of contact and he was extremely helpful, even offering to pick my husband and I up from our accommodation as we had no transport. Our driver was very friendly and was also part of the ground crew. Once we were airborne, the flight seemed effortless. Chris's knowledge and expertise made the flight extremely enjoyable with a little sense of humour thrown in. Breakfast at the airfield was very enjoyable with all the passengers quickly becoming old friends. Definitely recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Different perspective”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

It was really nice to see Byron and the surrounding coast and hinterland from a balloon - changes your perspective completely. Thomas and his team were incredibly professional and friendly, and we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Hope to go up again soon!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If only.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked to do the flight with Byron Bay Ballooning but were faced with poor weather conditions for all the days we were in Byron Bay. Lui was in daily contact throughout, updating us on weather conditions and forecasts. Unfortunately, it wasn't to be but we were offered a full refund or credit voucher without hesitation. Many thanks to Lui for trying to get us off the ground and we will be back in Byron Bay at some stage to use BBB's friendly and professional service.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byron Bay Ballooning also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to Byron Bay Ballooning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Bay Ballooning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.