We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne, Byron Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar

St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar
Cnr Fletcher Street and Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
02 6680 7426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 131 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fabulous menu featuring traditional Spanish food; courteous, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable wait staff, great atmosphere, reasonable prices. A great venue for any occasion in one of the best spots in the whole of Australia - Byron Bay.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Melbourne, Byron Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

It really is a little bit of Melbourne in Byron. Sharp and cool atmosphere with great small dish fare..

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    90
    30
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best food in Byron”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

So good we went twice. Best Spanish food we've had with upbeat service and atmosphere. Everything on menu was creative and full of taste!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very happy atmosphere and food was to die for! Yummmm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I am a local, and my parents were visiting so for dinner we decided on the exciting tapas style cuisine they offer, I wasn't expecting a lot but boy my expectations were exceeded! The service was great which doesn't happen a lot now days, and the food, tapas styled was fun and so tasty! And the desert!! Don't go past the desert menu please! I am so happy to have had dinner with my parents here and introduced them to my home, byron, in such a great way!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Once was enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Pros: really nice decor and atmosphere; tasty food

Cons: the waitress asked us if we wanted "sparkling" water when we first sat down... we said "sure." She made it sound like it was included, just like normal water would be, but when we got the bill at the end we'd been charged $7.50 for that ONE bottle of water. Not cool. If you want to charge a fortune for water, tell the customer that up front. :(

Also, be aware that it is a Tapas restaurant (which was clearly advertised), but this means that portions are TINY, and unfortunately at this place, VERY expensive. $24.50 for 6 tiny pieces of beef with a bit of veggies on top, for example.

Overall this place is great if you have either a very small stomach or a very large budget. Otherwise, there are plenty of other places in town where you can twice the amount of food for half the price.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great tapas, great service, expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Arrived at 6:30 and were immediately seated on a Tuesday night with no reservation. Ordered the mushroom flatbread, soft shell crab sliders, and chorizo skewers. I come from a part of the world famous for crab and the soft shell crab sliders are one of the best crab dishes I've ever had. They were also reasonably priced considering the high cost of soft shell crab. The other items were very good but came in very small portions at high cost. In the end it was an expensive night for a small amount of really good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.