We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar

St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar
Cnr Fletcher Street and Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
02 6680 7426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 139 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fabulous menu featuring traditional Spanish food; courteous, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable wait staff, great atmosphere, reasonable prices. A great venue for any occasion in one of the best spots in the whole of Australia - Byron Bay.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had lunch here and I have to say the tapas were the best we've experienced. Better value than other Spanish restaurants we've been to as well. Very relaxed bar/restaurant and could definitely see us staying there for drinks after dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    72
    22
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bondi, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Buzzing bar and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great to see such a selection of wines by the glass and light bites and share plates to match. Sat at the bar when we arrived as they were fully booked. The staff made sure we had everything we wanted and moved us to a table as soon as they could. Food was very tasty and quick to come to the table.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Read great reviews in trip advisor and urban spoon and tried St Elmis tonight. Was not diss appointed, wine, service, atmosphere and most importantly the food was just great. Top night all around, and will definitely make this our regular when in Byron. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We ate here after reading the trip advisor reviews and it definitely did not disappoint :) the food was superb, so much so that we returned for dinner again during our short stay in Byron. Delicious!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant tapas, best dining in Byron!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a meal here on a weeknight in school hols which was hard to book and for good reason. This is excellent tapas - great variety in the menu, innovative dishes, great tastes and good value. The selection of meats and antipastos is a must to include, but we also enjoyed the croquettes, potatoes, and the pork belly! The wine list is truly global to suit the fod, but we stayed on beers with the best list in town (Byron's beer lists are not adventurous). Finishing with the Ximinez was a must! Service was outstanding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Elmo Dining Room and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.