We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top spot in Byron” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Motel to your Saves list
Bay Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   12 Bay St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
Hobart, Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“top spot in Byron”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights before Byron Bay Bluesfest. Perfect location for exploring nearby beach, bars and restaurants. Looks ordinary from the outside but the rooms have been done up recently and were above average for this type of accommodation. Loved the king size bed! Sure there is a bit of noise late in the evening but not a worry even for this light sleeper. Good rates and will definitely stay there again when next back in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
17
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Moore Park Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Chose the Bay Motel for two nights as the bus pick up for the wedding I was attending was over the road at the Surf Club. I knew I would be out of the room for most of my stay, so didn't need a luxury resort. When I opened the front door, I was pleasantly surprised. Fresh, renovated rooms, comfortable beds with quality linen, blessed air-conditioning, well stocked kitchenette, and bathroom that was renovated and clean, with hair and body wash amenities. Managers could not be more helpful and friendly. Yes, there is the sound of happy partying at night and if you are a light sleeper, this could be a problems. Parking is tight as big 4WDs make squeezing through a challenge. Heaven to just pop over the road for a surf and next door for a coffee. I would happily stay there again, without doubt. Susie B

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you and we appreciate your kind review. I am happy to hear you had a great stay with us.

I hope you return to the Byron Bay and the Bay Motel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

This is a 1960's style motel that has recently had a makeover. Probably more suited to people passing through for a one nighter than long term stay. The 'balcony' is a walkway with a view of a wall and the noisy birds and bin collectors between 5 and 6.30am are quite bad if you like a relaxing sleep in whilst on holidays. Also it is located right behind the backpackers. Overall the room was fine. Water pressure terrible. Managers are lovely people. Shame our stay was hampered by terrible weather.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We are sorry to hear your holiday was hampered by bad weather and you had some issues with the property.

We hope you return to Byron Bay in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nancye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Across the road from the beach and walking distance to lost of restaurants etc. This is in the busy hub of byron so very convenient.

Small rooms which were clean and tidy. Walls thin so you hear folks in next rooms and others walking past. However, given the rates and location one can overlook this.

Gates closed at night and coming back in, one has to get down from your car to open the gate.

Room Tip: Rooms overlook another building so no real advantage either way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We appreciate you have taken the time to write this review.

Unfortunately the rooms do not have beach views although we are directly accross the road from the beach. But we do pride ourselves on the nicely appointed room and our location, location, location.

Hope you to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Nancye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Rang to book on Thursday for Friday, fully booked but Greg squeezed us in a back room. We asked about parking as we were on motorbikes and he freed up his personal carport for our bikes. Great location straight across from the beach and close to everything. Thanks for the fantastic service.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank your for taking the time to write your review.

We always try to go above and beyond to make our guests feel comfortable, and their belongs secure.

We hope to see you again at the Bay Motel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nancye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Just across from the beach, and a short walk to cafés and shops. The accommodation was very clean and tidy. We would definitely recommend this place.
Our only two complaints are the lady in reception (not sure of her name) but she literally grunted at us when we said we wanted to checkin. Not a very nice welcome. We didn't get one smile from her the whole weekend. The second complaint was the bathroom. It smelt like urine and took allot of airing & sprays of deodorant before it improved.
Having said this, we would stay here again

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for making the time to write this kind review.

We appreciate you feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Perfectly formed accommodation, over the road from the beach and round the corner from the hustle and bustle.

Pros
Large comfy bed
Plenty of space
Light and airy
Huge TV
Decent sized bathroom
Spotlessly clean
Stones throw from the beach and in close proximity of bars and restaurants
Free wifi
Free secured parking
Friendly staff
Very good value for money

Cons (only a few tiny negative points)
Security of room during day time when main gates are open - the motel doors are external with only a modest lock (i.e. not yale). Suggestion would be to put deadlocks on the doors for added security.
No safe

All in all I would whole heartedly recommend this motel.

Mr & Mrs Hough
Ages 31 & 29

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancye A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We appreciate hearing pro's and con's about our property. We will look into you concerns and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Nancye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Motel

Address: 12 Bay St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on beautiful Byron Bay beach, a stay at the centrally located Bay Motel will have you coming back for more. With the white sand of one of the most pristine beaches just 50m away and the surf club directly across the road, the Bay Motel is the perfect location to soak in all that Byron Bay has to offer.Offering double, twin and suites with air conditioning, free satellite TV, microwave and coffee making facilities. Free secure parking is available for all of our guests. Across the road on the beachfront is a park offering barbeque facilities and children’s playground. At the Bay Motel we offer you the best location, friendly service and great value for your holiday dollar. Our goal is to make your stay with us in Byron Bay comfortable, enjoyable and most of all memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.