We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, and close to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Motor Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Byron Motor Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Byron Motor Lodge Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   Corner Lawson & Butler Streets, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
Maroochydore, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Clean, and close to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our last stop on our 2 1/2 week road trip with my Mum. We had a look at some of the caravan parks and found them too expensive. we weren't expecting too much as the price was very low. we found the reception people very friendly and the room spotlessly clean. spacious and very comfortable. And to actually have a stand alone shower was excellent as having to get into bath to have showers is a bit harder on the older generation. I definitely recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side would be quieter we stayed on the north corner near the main drag and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

After driving until late in the day we were desperate for accommodation. We came to this family run motel at night. All was locked up - rang the bell and the owners very kindly came to reception for us. The bed was very comfortable (had a great nights sleep)and the room spacious and very clean. We were impressed with the cleaniness of the rooms and the owners were great with their personal knowledge of the local areas. We originally intended to stay just one night - but ended up staying three because it was such a great place to stay, and an excellent position - just walked out the gate to all shops etc. Thank you Liz,Gerry and staff - we loved our stay and we will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent a very restful and relaxing night at this Motel. We were wary welcomed at the reception and shown to our room. We found the room to be well furnished and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were The BEST since leaving home! The room was spotless and I observed how thorough they were being cleaned after the long weekend. I recommend this Motel for all the above reasons. Well done Gerry & Liz.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Ive worked in hotels all my life,never in motels however if this is what is expected and accepted from motels then its a disgrace! Overpriced and looks nothing like the pictures, ive stayed in more advanced backpackers around the world than this place. maybe because its byron bay that the prices are higher but this place is kidding it self.
Rooms are outdated nothing has been upgraded in the last 20years let alone cleaned. Bathrooms were filthy.. The only reason we stayed in a motel instead of a backpackers was because we could have our own bathroom, I wish we did stay at the backpackers instead would have saved a lot of money and wouldn't have to experienced that bathroom.
Owners or manages were rude and obviously not interested in repeat business.
In a nutshell don't waste your money staying here either pay the extra $100 and stay at a proper hotel or go for the backpackers either way you will receive better value for your money!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I recently stayed overnight at Byron Motor Lodge... I think! The place was nothing like the pictures here. I accept it is a budget hotel but to me it was more like a cross between a backpackers and budget hotel. For example, the bathroom/ toilet had a sliding door that waves in the wind making a constant banging noise. We had the misfortune of staying the night several groups of noisy people were also there - singing, talking and 'partying' in all hours. The next morning management were sympathetic to our concerns and advised we should have let them know, ok, maybe, but given they live there, I was amazed they didn't hear it.
The pluses include: the owners were pleasant, the location was outstanding and the price was reasonable for Byron. The negatives are that the dissonance between how the property is advertised and its reality as a backpacker/ budget hotel. If advertised as such it would not have attracted my custom or my ire.

Room Tip: Find out if there are any party groups are staying there and get a room as far away as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Great value motel. Clean, simple rooms. No complaints for the price. Location is great, a 2 min walk to town centre and beach. Owners friendly and helpful. Would recommend this to those looking for budget, decent accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I'm a seasoned traveler so I stay in lots of inns and hotels. Byron Bay Motor Lodge is owner managed by people that care. The facilities don't have any frills, but they're solid. You can tell in every way that the management cares about guests and the facility. I'd recommend a stay at this hotel to anyone!

Richards Gregory

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Byron Motor Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Motor Lodge Motel

Address: Corner Lawson & Butler Streets, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byron Motor Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious, ground floor motel units are tastefully furnished with queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fans, tea/coffee making facilities and a small fridge. Rooms with kitchenettes are available by request. We can cater for singles, couples and family groups. Our facilities include a swimming pool, BBQ area, guest laundry, parking at your motel door and ample off-street parking for an extra car, boat or trailer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Byron Motor Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Motor Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.