We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonably cheap for good quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Bay Side Central Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Byron Bay Side Central Motel to your Saves list
Byron Bay Side Central Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   14 Middleton Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Byron Bay
Manly Vale
1 review
“reasonably cheap for good quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed there during schoolies and they were the cheapest we found (apart form backpackers). The whole place was very clean, in a quiet area and only few steps from everything. About 5 min walk to the beach, even less to the center. There was a underground parking which we didn't use as we didn't have a car there. So cant rate that. However, I recommend this place if you don't wanna share in backpackers or unless you're too fancy.

Room Tip: We stayed in room nr. 1. It had a balcony on the street side but still it's very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
37
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here Nov 17-21 (2013) in an upstairs room on the south end. It had a balcony which overlooked the next door neighbours who put on a great show as they were practicing their fire twirling.
This motel is located in a very central part of Byron Bay, with shopping centres, great places to eat, and the beach, which are all, minutes walk away.
The underground parking and the internal laundry were very convenient, and the staff were helpful.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upstairs south side, if you want to overlook a dance / music school for great shows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here early 2013 after reading some decent reviews. However when we arrived i was not impressed. The place is terribly dated, you must carry all your luggage up the stairs, you can only access the car park within certain hours, the room has very little natural light, the tv was missing a cord plug in so did not work, the beds are not comfortable and worst of all I woke up with a coach roach crawling on me under the blankets!!!!! I complained the next day to the reception but they did not care at all! I would not recommend this place to anyone! I certainly will not be returning!

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Our guests regularly remark how clean and spacious our units are and we are very sorry to read your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Myself and husband on our honeymoon at byron bay was fabulous !!! Friendly staff, close to high street, and beaches. Stay here its awesome for the price!!!!

Rooms very spacious, clean, no noise, walked everywhere. Underground parking. Very safe

Room Tip: Ask for standard room with washer and dryer!!! A big plus using the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank You your kind review is much appreciated by all of us here at Byron Bay Side Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at the Bayside Central for a couple of nights on our way up the east coast. The motel lived up to our expectations with excellent laundry and catering facilities. It was ideally placed for all the local amenities yet it was located in a quiet side street with little traffic.

The apartment was serviced daily and was very clean and spacious. WiFi is provided free of charge, with no restriction on the number of devices. Parking is provided, underground, but care is needed when leaving as you may `bottom out' your car!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank You your kind review is much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a home away from home. Having stayed here regularly for nearly 20 years, I always look forward to staying here. Peter, Marianne and Cameron do whatever they can to make your stay the best it can be. The apartments are ideally located in Byron Bay (you can put your car away during your stay), comfortable and with stylish recent improvements. The tariff is a bargain for Byron and now that there is no overnight parking permitted on the street side, the rooms are very quiet.

Room Tip: I always ask for Room 17. It is spacious, bright with a sunny verandah, has air con and is well-appo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I spent 4 nights here in September and found the whole experience very relaxing. The rooms are not super modern in decor but they are clean and have all the facilities and utensils you'll need. The staff were so friendly and helpful which also added to the experience. I'd recommend getting a room at the back so you can have an evening drink on your balcony in the sun.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank You your kind review is much appreciated by all of us here at Byron Bay Side Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Byron Bay Side Central Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay Side Central Motel

Address: 14 Middleton Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Bay Side Central Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay Side Central Motel Apartments offer great value for money when booking Byron Bay Holiday Accommodation, making it a perfect holiday destination for friends, couples and families. Airport shuttles arrive frequently from Ballina / Brisbane and Gold Coast Domestic and International Airports to Byron Bay Side Central Motel Apartments. Friendly onsite managers will welcome you to the Fully Self contained, Hotel studio apartments providing guests with Free Wi-Fi Internet and undercover Car Parking for guests with cars. Byron Bay Side Central Motel Apartments is located in a very central, convenient and yet quiet location in Byron Bay with Main Beach, Byron Bay lighthouse walk, shops, restaurants, entertainment and coach station only 3 minutes' walk away. All studio apartments have air conditioning,a large open plan lounge, fully equipped kitchen and ensuite bathroom with washing machine & dryer. A private balcony attached to 18 of the 20 apartments ensures a feeling of spaciousness and an enjoyment of the outdoors. One fully equipped disabled apartment. Enjoy beauty, hair treatments & massages within the complex as well as the very popular vegetarian restaurant "'Heart and Halo'' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Byron Bay Side Central Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Bay Side Central Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.