We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel a must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Bay Side Central Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Byron Bay Side Central Motel to your Saves list
Byron Bay Side Central Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   14 Middleton Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Myself and husband on our honeymoon at byron bay was fabulous !!! Friendly staff, close to high street, and beaches. Stay here its awesome for the price!!!!

Rooms very spacious, clean, no noise, walked everywhere. Underground parking. Very safe

Room Tip: Ask for standard room with washer and dryer!!! A big plus using the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank You your kind review is much appreciated by all of us here at Byron Bay Side Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    18
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
34
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at the Bayside Central for a couple of nights on our way up the east coast. The motel lived up to our expectations with excellent laundry and catering facilities. It was ideally placed for all the local amenities yet it was located in a quiet side street with little traffic.

The apartment was serviced daily and was very clean and spacious. WiFi is provided free of charge, with no restriction on the number of devices. Parking is provided, underground, but care is needed when leaving as you may `bottom out' your car!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank You your kind review is much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a home away from home. Having stayed here regularly for nearly 20 years, I always look forward to staying here. Peter, Marianne and Cameron do whatever they can to make your stay the best it can be. The apartments are ideally located in Byron Bay (you can put your car away during your stay), comfortable and with stylish recent improvements. The tariff is a bargain for Byron and now that there is no overnight parking permitted on the street side, the rooms are very quiet.

Room Tip: I always ask for Room 17. It is spacious, bright with a sunny verandah, has air con and is well-appo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I spent 4 nights here in September and found the whole experience very relaxing. The rooms are not super modern in decor but they are clean and have all the facilities and utensils you'll need. The staff were so friendly and helpful which also added to the experience. I'd recommend getting a room at the back so you can have an evening drink on your balcony in the sun.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank You your kind review is much appreciated by all of us here at Byron Bay Side Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The staff at Byron Bay Side Central Motel are very nice. My partner was quite sick and they were very considerate. Excellent location considering the good price. When we return to Byron we will go back as we were very happy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank You your kind review is much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Rooms are a great size, also handy have the kitchen and washing machine/dryer. Staff were pleasant and helpful at the start however inconsistent with they're rules. Was threatened to be evicted for having more then the registered guests in one room, even when they were staying in another room and even when the night before the other manager dropped by when there was 2 more people in the room then registered and didn't mention anything. Was constantly being yelled at for playing normal music on low volume at noon, noise was told to be kept at the minimum of 1pm. Not pleasant if you're with friends and like to socialise with them. Probably great for families. Not the nicest interior but comfy beds and spacious rooms. Great for families not young adults.

Room Tip: If you want quieter and nicer hotels, you're just gonna have to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
It is important to us that our registered guests enjoy a peaceful and pleasant stay and for this reason we only permit registered guests in our motel units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked this place online at Wotif after checking trip adviser reviews. Upon arrival we greeted by a very friendly man at reception who gave us the run down on the room & was exceptionally helpful about getting around the bay. The room itself was very large with a double bed & single bed & kitchenette as well as washer & dryer in the bathroom. I was impressed with how spacious it was & the level of cleanliness. We were also super impressed at the large balcony attached to our room which we loved & had drinks on every arvo. Location is perfect just a few minutes easy walk to the hustle & bustle of Byron. Guests were all informed if the no noise/no party policy which reassured us we had picked the right place. Free undercover car park that is secure at night was also a bonus. We were in room #17 & was great for the 2 of us & happy with the price of approx $150 per night given the location & quality of the room. Would definitely stay here again!! Thank you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TruePerson, Owner at Byron Bay Side Central Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank You your kind review is much appreciated by all of us here at Byron Bay Side Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Byron Bay Side Central Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay Side Central Motel

Address: 14 Middleton Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Bay Side Central Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byron Bay Side Central Motel Apartments offer great value for money when booking Byron Bay Holiday Accommodation, making it a perfect holiday destination for friends, couples and families. Airport shuttles arrive frequently from Ballina / Brisbane and Gold Coast Domestic and International Airports to Byron Bay Side Central Motel Apartments. Friendly onsite managers will welcome you to the Fully Self contained, Hotel studio apartments providing guests with Free Wi-Fi Internet and undercover Car Parking for guests with cars. Byron Bay Side Central Motel Apartments is located in a very central, convenient and yet quiet location in Byron Bay with Main Beach, Byron Bay lighthouse walk, shops, restaurants, entertainment and coach station only 3 minutes' walk away. All studio apartments have air conditioning,a large open plan lounge, fully equipped kitchen and ensuite bathroom with washing machine & dryer. A private balcony attached to 18 of the 20 apartments ensures a feeling of spaciousness and an enjoyment of the outdoors. One fully equipped disabled apartment. Enjoy beauty, hair treatments & massages within the complex as well as the very popular vegetarian restaurant "'Heart and Halo'' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Byron Bay Side Central Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Bay Side Central Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.