We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not eat here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mokha on Lawson

Mokha on Lawson
Ferson Arcade | Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
[02] 6685 7726
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 131 Restaurants in Byron Bay
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A friend and I ordered 5 items, 3 of those had to be sent back as they came to the table uneatable. Staff were also disorganised, struggling to get the right order to the right table. Mokha Cafe is perfect candidate for Gordon Ramsey’s Kitchen Nightmares series. In the meantime if you want a good coffee and nice food don’t stop at Mokha!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Mokha on Lawson, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi Bronan K,
I am really disappointed to here that you had a bad experience at Mokha.
What you have mentioned is not acceptable and I appologise for the bad experience.

I would love to know more information so that I can get to the bottom of what was going on during my weekend off.
If you could please tell me
What time of the day
What you ordered ?
Where you sat in the cafe.?
What the staff member looked like?

Sorry for all the questions but I wish to find out more.

Thank you in advance

Regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    35
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A nice dinner venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place had a nice atmosphere. We all loved the live music being performed in the arcade next to it. We sat inside but there was a nice outside covered area. The decor was nice but the lighting a bit too dark. The staff were nice and provided good quality service.
Four of us ate dinner there one night. Our friend ordered a salad. It looked nice. I ordered a vegetarian risotto. It had way too much feta cheese and was really salty. I didn't enjoy it. Sorry. My husband and another friend shared the paella. They absolutely loved it. It was a good size and had a reasonable amount of seafood in it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great value and fresh food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Good service, fresh food and good value. Well worth a visit. Had lunch here and got complimentary glass of wine.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good breakfast option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I like the relaxed feel of this place & it is slightly elevated from street level which is nice. The eggs breakfast dishes are the pick, although their attempt at a croque monsieur special was below the mark. They need to consult the receipe book on that one! The coffee is good and the service quick & friendly. This is one of the better cafe's in town & worth a try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for late lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was only in Byron Bay for the day, and after walking the beach and doing the light house circuit, I was in the mood for a good meal. Well, lots of places (or at least their kitchens) here seem to shut down between 15:00 and 17:00 but happily Mokha was still cooking. I had the paella (which came with a complimentary glass of wine). It was a good portion with some nice seafood and sausage. Except for a very small brekky, this was my only meal of the day. It was tasty, filling, and satisfying. The rest of the menu looked awesome, I'm sorry I only had the opportunity to dine here the one time.

And as a bonus, they have free wifi! Which is a bit of a rarity in some parts hereabouts.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokha on Lawson also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to Mokha on Lawson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokha on Lawson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.