We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Byron Bay

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Byron Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   13 Marvell Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
AUD15 off room rate
Ranked #12 of 36 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quite nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Friendly reception.
Clean room.
Nice looking exterior to the building.
Wifi was unreliable!

Cant leave a review without mentioning the ants...
We made the mistake of leaving fruit out on top of the fridge. A few hours later upon our return we found lots of ants crawling all over them! Would have been nice to be warned about it as I'm sure its not the first time its happened here. Maybe they should try putting down treatment? May help a little!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_AGH, Manager at Atlantic Byron Bay, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for your recent stay with us and for your feedback.

I’m sorry the WIFI was unreliable while you were here. Since we upgraded our wireless system last year we've had no guests advise of any problems, however if any future guests find this to be the case please advise our reception so that we can investigate the issue immediately – as once you are checked out there is little we can do to rectify the problem.

With regard to the ants, we pride ourselves on our tropical grounds and gardens and in that environment ants will be about, also with the recent rains we've had they may have been on the move. We treat our rooms with natural deterrents (eucalyptus), but will not be leaving poison around our rooms or grounds.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again to Atlantic Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    57
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
94
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Atlantic on Saturday 16th March expecting a premium guest house stay. Nothing guest house at all about our stay. We stayed in their Driftwood accommodation for $235.00 AUS. Ok room but other than a wooden verandah it was like basic motel accommodation, where was the communal lounge or other things you expect in a "guest house"? The worst thing about the room was the airconditioning, it sounded like a motorcar without a muffler, it was so incredibly noisy we eventually had to turn it off as we could not get to sleep! It was the one very small luxury we thought we were getting on a very warm evening. Ok motel accommodation, definitely nothing guesthouse about where we stayed. In fact I have stayed in better motels in premium coastal areas with quiet airconditioning and much lower rates. The other "Ralph Lauren" inspired looking guest house between where we were placed and the reception area looked beautiful, perhaps just luck of the draw?

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_AGH, Manager at Atlantic Byron Bay, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor after your recent stay with us.

Atlantic is a unique property built from its origins of three beach houses and each house is different. We don’t call ourselves a “guesthouse” on our website, but on some online travel agents (& Trip Advisor) we don’t have a choice how our property is categorised. Some of our rooms have a common kitchen / living area while others offer a more private hotel room style option. We find guests preferences vary and generally allocate rooms with length of stay in mind or specific requests from the guests.

Our housekeeping team alerted us to the faulty air-conditioner on the day of your check out and the unit was repaired on the Monday after your stay.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back again to Atlantic Byron Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent three nights at Atlantic in early February of this year. Everything was flawless. From the friendly greeting by management upon arrival (gladly accommodating our early check-in request, offering tips on a nice place to take an afternoon jog, and showing us the property) to the spectacularly clean accommodations, we couldn't have asked for more.

The location, only a three minute walk to the beach or the head of the scenic lighthouse walk (run) trail, was perfectly removed from the busy downtown. An open and airy feeling house with a beautiful little balcony attached to our room (premium ensuite) provided the ideal relaxation point for what little time we weren't out and about. The kitchen / deck area were a welcome treat. A shared and well apportioned kitchen has everything you need from a tools, glassware, and flatware perspective to cook up a great meal. If you choose to go to the grocery, there is ample room in the fridge and pantry; you'll find other guests respectful of your items and overall traffic in the kitchen is low. Just a simple morning passing over coffee or a quick hello in the evening.

Get come coffee nearby at Bay Leaf - amazing! Get a nice long run in, and add a huge crumby muffin to that as a reward.

Enjoy Byron Bay! The Atlantic is the best bang for the buck, and a true pleasure.

Room Tip: Premium ensuite offers a balcony with two chairs, a pleasure to sit in the evening and listen to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just home from a five day stay at Atlantic.
The property was beautifully presented. Really stylish accommodation set in lush tropical gardens, yet right in the middle of town.
My family and I stayed in 2 rooms in The Lodge. The decor was gorgeous and the facilities excellent.
We will definitely stay at Atlantic on our next trip to Byron!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We spent two lovely days @ Atlantic. Right from when we arrived we found the staff very helpful and the rooms extremely well presented and clean. Loved sharing a evening drink with the other guests. Wanted to take the whole place home. Thanks we'll be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My family and I stayed here a couple for a couple of nights and it was so hard not to fall in love with this beautiful little property. The service is not like anything I've ever experienced as staff truly went above and beyond wherever possible to meet our needs.
Perfect location - very close to cafe's and main street and very easy access to every where in town, so park the car, relax and let your legs to all the walking for you. Even though it is in such a convenient location, this place does have that 'little slice of heaven' appeal.
White, bright and fabulous with a touch of nautical nature has ticked all of my boxes.
I cannot wait to stay here again when my family re-visit Byron.
Thanks again to all the staff who made our stay comfortable and perfect!! xx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for two nights to attend a friend's wedding. After seeing the photos on their website, we booked a premium suite ($235/night), believing we were going to stay in a small cottage at a tastefully designed B&B.

When we arrived, we were put into one of the rooms in the 'Coconut Cottage'. It is a TINY room, with a TINY bathroom and a TINY 'private veranda' that looks directly onto Marvel street. Cars and passerby can see directly in our room, and it is very noisy. Everything is very basic, the bed takes up almost the entire room.

For the life of me I could not believe that room is a Premium suite. I checked the facilities and the photos on their website listed under Premium, and none of the photos look anything like this room. I talked to the receptionist, believing they had put me into a standard room by mistake. The receptionist told me that all the premium rooms are like this, and "when it's a modified house you get different room sizes". When I said the room is noisy, she told me "Darling, this is DOWNTOWN Byron Bay, all the rooms are noisy!" But when I said the black cottage inside seemed a lot quieter, she eventually transferred me to one of the Driftwood cottage rooms after making a big deal about checking availability. These cottages are much larger and quieter than Coconut rooms, but the walls are still very thin and you can hear the people next room very clearly.

When we checked out, we asked if we could stay in the common area while waiting for the shuttle. Absolutely not, we could only sit on the tiny outside porch, because other people are going to check in and use that area. Yes of course many people are checking in on a Sunday afternoon!

Overall the impression was that this is an overpriced, glammed up (only at skin deep level) motel who take themselves way too seriously but lack the quality software to back their attitude up.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Byron Bay

Address: 13 Marvell Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Byron Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic is located in the very centre of Byron Bay, on the corner of Middleton and Marvell streets, close to Main Beach, tourist information, cafes and shops. The decor is inspired by boutique Caribbean beach houses and Byron Bay surf culture. High ceilings, chalk-white walls and the quiet garden create a unique atmosphere and refreshing holiday experience. All rooms are Wi-Fi enabled and serviced daily. Atlantic has three houses: Coconut Cottage, The Lodge and Driftwood. Coconut Cottage offers guests a choice of both our stylish premium en-suite rooms and standard en-suite rooms. Guests staying in the recently renovated premium en-suite rooms in Coconut Cottage have access to a fully equipped kitchen, BBQ and outdoor deck area. Alternatively guests can choose to enjoy a drink on the own private verandah. Driftwood guesthouse offers a choice of premium en-suite rooms, the premium studio, standard en-suite rooms in our garden cabin and the American Airstream trailer.The Lodge is the heart of Atlantic. Majestic and bold this modern day plantation house anchors the estate with her calm and beauty. An eclectic mix of art, modern influences blended with mid century accents and coastal dreaming have come together in this spectacular space. The Lodge offers premium en-suite accommodation each with their own verandah and access to the house kitchen/entertaining area and outdoor dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Atlantic Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Byron Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.