We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant holiday park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Sun Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Byron Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
First Sun Holiday Park
Save
You added First Sun Holiday Park to your Saves list
Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“brilliant holiday park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

stayed 4 nights on a powered camp site mon -fri. Excellent location to township and beach. Staff friendly and efficient. Facilities great and very clean. Had wonderful time and was excellent value for money - we will be back :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park. We are glad to see we met all of your expectations and look forward to greeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at first sun for 10 days staff are excellent facilities are great position is close to town,which can be a problem.The music noise is extremely loud from 9 pm till 12 but we got used to it.
Only thing I can say is lock up everything clothes esky and bikes as they have a problem with thieves at night.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property. Unfortunately all camping grounds experience theft at some time or another. We do have night security to try to eliminate this. I do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Right on the beach and close to all the restaurants and bars.
It has several cabins, lodges, in addition to the usual camping spots etc.
This time we stayed on lodge number 4, on our first visit we stayed in lodge number 1.
All lodges are the same, very simple but with everything we needed.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: Any lodge is good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. Our lodges are great for those travelling on a budget. Some have an ensuite and others have shared bathroom facilities. We have also recently erected Hippy Huts which cater for those looking for a bit more comfort but wish to experience the camping atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

park staff were friendly and welcoming on arrival. Amenities were clean with free BBQ facilities if required. This tourist park is convenient to Byron Bay's beach and attractions. Very busy on weekends so book in advance if planning to arrive Thursday onwards. Music from the nearby Beach Hotel at night maybe a put off for some. Enjoyed the stay and would recommend

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. You are correct when you mention we are very busy on weekends especially during the summer months. Advance bookings are encouraged to ensure you get to enjoy our beautiful facilities and convenient location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

camped on non-power site on weekend. What a great park and great location right i. beach and very easy walk jnto town to the huge choixe of restaurants Convenient camp kitchen with all the necessities and lovely clean bathroom amenities which makes it a great stay for back packers

Manager 'Lincoln' was very friendly and hospitable along with his staff.

We'll be back ! thankyou

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our park. Our location is unique and I hope we can welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

if you want to stay absolute beachfront in the middle of byron bay then the first sun if your only option. i stay in byron frequently but usual with friend or in an appartment/hotel. this time we booked a 2 bedroom cabin at the first sun. not cheap and one could get better deal $s wise at a hotel but the location and being detached and self contained is worth every cent! sea views and breezes, beach on doorstep and an easy 2min to the main beach, street, beach hotel etc. cabins are clean, tidy and well appointed

Room Tip: the cabins - they are ocean front and get brilliant morning sun and views. pack an extra beach towel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are glad you decided to stay in our beachfront cabins and were not disappointed. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Couldn't get closer the the shops/cafe's and beach.
No need to use the car to get the beaches, supermarket etc.
But the sites are really cramped. If we had people in the site opposite us when we arrived I am not sure how I would have for our van in. Talking to others it is a common issue here. The price to pay for a great location.
But beware if you have kids. Apart from no playground or any other such facilities (acceptable when this close to the beach) the park does not allow bikes, scooters, skateboards, ball games, but other than this they are family friendly!.

Room Tip: Best location in Byron Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our holiday park. We need to enforce our park rules regarding skateboards, scooters and bikes for the safety of all guests however please be aware there are extensive bike tracks in town for all to enjoy and we encourage guests to take advantage of these.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Sun Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Sun Holiday Park

Address: Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Byron Bay, just metres from the beach and town centre. Located on the beachfront at beautiful Byron Bay, First Sun Holiday Park offers you everything Byron Bay is world renowned for literally metres from your cabin, caravan or tent. Wake to the sound of surf lapping ‘The Wreck’ beach and take a stroll along the golden sands towards Byron Lighthouse. Step into town for a coffee, a night out in one of Byron’s many restaurants, pubs and clubs, or take in Byron’s eclectic shops, street life and markets. At First Sun Holiday Park you need never take your car anywhere because everything is so close at hand. Choose from Self Contained Cabins, Lodges, Powered and Unpowered Caravan Sites and a shady camp area. Our facilities are first class and the views towards The Wreck, Byron Lighthouse, Mt Warning and beyond, are only a few reasons why you should visit us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
First Sun Holiday Park Hotel Byron Bay
1st Sun Holiday Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Sun Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.