We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day @ Byron Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Beach Motel

Bay Beach Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Beach Motel to your Saves list
Bay Beach Motel
32 Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
Newcastle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely day @ Byron Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Checked into this Motel late in the afternoon got a double room with balcony for $165 which was very good value for money for its location others were wanting $195 - $240 room no14 balcony overlooked library car park receptionist did inform us on check in but it got the evening sun so we chilled out with a drink. The nice lady on reception was really helpful recommending places to eat & go. After we had checked out she let us leave our car in car park while we went out for the day. Room was nice & clean, comfy bed, all the facilities you need hairdryer, iron, fridge etc. great outdoor facilities too not that we used them due to only staying one night but front shallow pool with loungers rear garden & BBQ area. Great location near town & beach. I would have happily stayed longer & would totally recommend you book in here. Thanks bay beach motel happy holidays :-)

Room Tip: Room 14 overlooks library car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
25
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I travel all over the place for business and this is one motel I keep coming back to.
It is clean and really close to town, an easy walk down the street, but far enough away that you don't get the noise from the centre of town.
The construction next door has finished, so no noise from there.
The lady at the front counter is always friendly and helpful.
For this area it is well priced.
I don't have any problems I can think of about staying here!
I just read the other reviews and can't believe some of the whinging about this motel, wow! I totally disagree!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

stayed for one night visiting with three other couples, good clean motel , near the centre of town , good for short stays for couples, pleasant staff, good base to stay a week end, we were lucky to get 4 rooms all of our party were pleased

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Such a great location - the BBM is a short walk from the centre of town, so no need for a taxi, walk to light house across the road from the main beach - a cute little pool great when the beach is windy...

Room Tip: I stayed in the balcony room, although I have stayed in the east side a little smaller but also comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I am very disappointed in this motel. I have tried twice to book a "Standard 2 Night Room" on their site. Each time i go to process the payment i get an error saying I have not met the minimum stay. The room is a "2 night room" and I am booking for 2 nights.

When i called the hotel, I was told by the very rude receptionist that the owners have 'changed their mind', for this period it will be a minimum 5 night stay. This is not stated anywhereon their site, and to make matters worse over the past few days a number of our family and friends have booked the same room for 2 and 3 nights. I was told that they have now changed their policy for this time period, there is nothing she can do for me. I was told to call back in a few days to see if there are any updates.

I am very displeased with the service i have received.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here as a solo traveller for a couple of days in October and was impressed by the location, facilities and friendly staff. The rooms were spacious, nice decor and with all the facilities you would expect of a motel. I recommend as a good value for money option right near the beach and town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have stayed here on Business many times and have always found it great.
The location is perfect, just a few minutes walk from the heart of Byron town, but tucked away from the noise & traffic - with the main beach just across the road. Parking is very secure and you feel very safe at this Motel.
The staff are always helpful & friendly and the rooms are good value when compared to most in Byron Bay (with Byron $$ generally more expensive in relative terms compared to the rest of NSW)
Always clean & tidy and a great place to spend the night

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beach Motel

Address: 32 Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.