We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayhaven Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bayhaven Lodge to your Saves list
Bayhaven Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   16 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
1 review
“Very central with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My mum and I stayed in Bayhaven Lodge for 5 nights whilst we were visiting Byron Bay for a wedding. Garry and Summer were truly outstanding with their service, no stone was left unturned and we found them more than accommodating. The place was super clean and tidy and even though we were in town for a period of schoolies there was no outside noise that disturbed us at all. We were given fresh towels during our stay and an extra set because Summer knew we had a wedding to go to. Garry suggested tips for eating close by and offered more tips on local yoga and cafes through out our stay. We had a car with us during our stay however it really was not necessary given the central location of Bayhaven Lodge. A walk to the beach is less than 5 mins and you pass shops and restaurants along the way.We would definitely stay here again. Thank you Garry and Summer for having us and making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: The top fllor Superior suite furthest from the entry is much larger than the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    27
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
45
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very much enjoyed our stay at Bayhaven. Was the perfect retreat from the world that my husband and I were after. Room was lovely and clean and very comfortable. We stayed for three nights, we're given fresh towel during that time. We were left to relax unbothered but made feel very welcome to call if we needed anything. Gary the site manager was friendly and helpful, loaded with great knowledge of byron and had great recommendations for places to eat and things to do.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

This lodge is situated on the main road as you come into Byron and is only a 2-3 minute walk from the centre so location wise, it's perfect!!!
The lodge itself was impeccably clean and the decor was very nice and modern.
We stayed in the grand suite for 2 nights over a weekend. The bedroom was small but we had access to the lounge, kitchen area and spa which was fabulous as it was lovely and relaxing. It would have been nice if the spa was working though.
It was lovely and quiet and I would say that this lodge is mainly suited to either couples or friends looking for a quiet place to stay. It's definitely not suitable for party animals. If I was an owner of a property like Bayhaven, party animals would not be welcome because of the way it's exceptionally well maintained.
Gary, the Site Manager was super friendly and customer service was great!!!
The only down side was that the spa was not working (was waiting to be fixed), only 3-4 TV channels were working in the bedroom, went without hot water for a few hours and could have done with some extra towels.
All in all we did have a pleasant stay and rate it 3.5 / 5!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
We would like to thank Mandeep K for the constructive review. We are pleased that you found Bayhaven Lodge close to all that you needed but at the same time relaxing. We would like to highlight however the Swim/Spa is working however one of our spa covers has been sent away to be fixed as it was damaged. In the summer months when the weather is hotter, we have found that most of the guests have wanted to use the swim spa to cool off with an alternative to the beach. The temperature is normally set lower during this period so guest can enjoy the cool water whilst running the jets. I was unaware of the tv problem in the room but the 52 inch tv in the lounge area still works with all channels. I was unaware of the hot water until another guest told me that we had run out at around 930am. Unfortunately this is something that is beyond our control as gas bottles do not have a gauge We do always have 2 x full gas bottles on standby ready to be switched over when this does occur. All rooms are supplied with 2 large bath towels and a mat, this is usually sufficient however we do accommodate as best and quickly as possible if guests need more. We will take all points into consideration and pass on to the owner. We hope to see Mandeep again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We stayed at the Bayhaven Lodge last weekend for my birthday, a total of 4 nights. Our room was lovely, comfortable and impeccably clean. The little garden next to our room was perfect for a drink or two after a long day out. For the first two nights we were woken up by other guests, two girls, who were constantly marching up and down the corridor as well as shouting to one another (it was 3am). Management warned them that noise wasn't tolerated, which was a relief. However, these girls disregarded the warning and made even more noise the following night, clearly inebriated and careless of other guests. The next morning we were told that those two girls had been asked to leave due to their behaviour. We were also told that they were not happy to leave, but I personally thought this was the right thing to do as it is a quiet and intimate lodge, not suited for drunk girls with no respect for others. We were therefore very satisfied with the way management handled the situation, and enjoyed a lovely and quiet night following the incident! I highly recommend this lodge if you are looking for somewhere intimate and quiet to stay with your partner. There are plenty of hostels in Byron if you are looking for somewhere to party.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

A colleague and I spent two nights at Bayhaven Lodge at the same time as the guest below (tinkabell77). We have stayed in Byron a few times for work but this was the first time here. It is a small, very well maintained guesthouse/lodge perfect for single travellers or quiet couples. Great location, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Certainly not suitable for those who like to party until 3am and bring the party back to their room! The rules are there to ensure all guests enjoy their stay, which we would have done if it wasn't for the rude guest below and her friend/s, who kept us awake almost ALL night BOTH nights we stayed. They were loud, drunk and obnoxiously rude to say the least. Management warned them after the first night but they proceeded to do it again the second night. Ignore their review because they were the problem, not management. Management acted swiftly to address the issue in the interest of other paying guests who did respect the house rules. If you want to carry on like an irresponsible teenager don't stay here, go stay in a hostel!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I called an booked direct and spoke to the owner who sounded nice. I didn't however, receive a discount for booking direct or receive an invoice even though he deducted the full amount of $508 for the 3 nights.

The room is smaller than advertised, the shower handle didn't work. The garden room isn't a garden room as the window looks out to a communal small space, then a small garden onto the main busy road. The rules are EXTREME. We had to take our shoes off, and be quiet as a mouse as the walls are paper thin. We also weren't allowed to have guests step onto the property but were given these instructions only after we had a guest quickly use the bathroom. They use the CCTV to see us come and go. We were warned that we would be kicked out.

On the next night, we arrived home and my friend needed to urgently use the bathroom but had to look up two codes to access the room. She was crying in pain to get to the room and made only a slight amount of noise. The next morning, whilst out a breakfast, the cleaner packed up our things and changes the security codes, advised us that we were to leave! They also deducted $200 from our credit card as they stated that the other guest demanded a refund because of the noise. We aren't sure of this as the other guest was never seen or heard.

I have travelled the world and have never experienced such a distasteful stay. The owner and is the rudest, arrogant, lying hospitality person that I have ever met. Be warned!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Loved it in byron and the great accommodation topped it right off. The location was perfect! The rooms are well looked after and new. The staff are really helpful, approachable and were available anytime. Highly recommended. Great stay!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayhaven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayhaven Lodge

Address: 16 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayhaven Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within a very comfortable 150 metre stroll to the heart of town and adjacent to ‘The Wreck,’ one of Byron's most famous surf breaks, Bay Haven Lodge is a fully renovated and modernised traditional whaler's cottage. It is the only one of its kind offering guest accommodation in Byron Bay and a must see for those in search of a relaxing and memorable holiday. Set in a brilliant location, it is the closest B&B to Byron's buzzing town centre and stunning beaches so there's really no need to bring the car! This beautifully appointed property has warmth, character and charm, with a fresh, modern and relaxed feel. We have a range of Suites to cater for everyone’s budget, starting from the more affordable Deluxe Suites and Garden Suites through to the further appointed and spacious Superior Suites, ultimately with our best being the magnificent Grand Suite, all featuring beautiful décor with eye-catching prints by local artists, ensuites with choice of showerheads and tea and coffee making facilities. They also contain all the modern fixtures one would expect, including reverse cycle air conditioning, remote control ceiling fans, dimmable down lighting, large mirrors, 3D compatible LCD screen TVs and DVD players with MP3 connection. The lodge has an expansive north-facing sunroom that has been converted into a communal guest area for Garden and Deluxe Suite guests to enjoy, with comfortable lounge suites and a large shared guest fridge. A fantastic area to simply sit, unwind and enjoy a good book. The wall-to-wall bi-fold doors of the sunroom open onto a tranquil, Balinese-style garden where you can enjoy a BBQ, lounge by the water feature, savour a morning coffee or just relax in peace and soak up the romantic tropical atmosphere. The Garden Suites have the added luxury of their own French doors opening onto the sunroom, offering direct access and views to the gardens. Indulge in a glass of red by the water feature or relax in your own room and gaze at the dimly lit garden. At Bay Haven Lodge we aim to provide a slice of the Bay’s traditional tranquillity in true character of the property itself, with all the wonderful benefits Byron has to offer, literally at your doorstep. Bay Haven’s owner has been a Byron Bay resident for 25 years and can provide great firsthand advice on local tours, culture, scenic sites, markets, activities and eateries. He can also point you in the direction of the best beaches, surf breaks and snorkelling spots, all within a 3 minute stroll from our front door!The Superior SuiteModern suite located in our newly completed extensions, the Superior Suite features square-set ceilings, polished spotted gum floorboards, Ensuite with choice of shower heads, reverse cycle air conditioning, remote controlled ceiling fan, dimmable down lighting, large mirrors, hanging space, 32 inch compatible LCD screen TV, Blu-ray DVD with MP3 connection and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayhaven Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Haven Hotel Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayhaven Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.